Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Spring 2018

Leber

I don’t get how these pommy blokes come over here and run a 2 mile race when they haven’t raced in months.

Totally different to what we do. But it obviously works for them

ebbedfred

I'm pretty sure Locky is Biff Tannen from Back to the Future 2...

View attachment 24703
Always been curious, the back of the almanac says it contains in-depth coverage of all major sporting events from 1950 to 2000 including football, baseball, hockey, golf, tennis, horse racing, polo, bowling, surfing, boxing, slamball, rodeo, rugby etc. It actually lists 23 sports with "and more" at the end.

The writing in the book must be VERY small.

coolsteve

Earlier in the year. I take a few in early markets hope I fluke 1. Literally have fluked it once so going by that record it’s no hope!
So let me get this straight. Not only do you find $21 winners in the last race of the day to save your bacon, you pick some obscure $30 shot in England in January who in 10 months later happens to be the shortest price Melbourne cup favourite in many a year ... dang you good

AusKnightRKO

Marmelo, Magic Circle, Youngstar, Avilius First 4 with the Roughie being Red Cardinal if it finds it American 2 mile form.

Also the Japanese horse is interesting, as the japanese staying form was the bench mark for a while there, yet this horse basically given no hope so far.

Sphagnum

I reckon scamper will run a race in the oaks. Very lightly raced but looks like it will enjoy the open stretches and longer trip. Notice it was nommed and either balloted out r scratched from several races over the last few weeks (Norman Robinson, Donkey valley vase, wakeful)

Went for an easy kill on some Goat track over 2000m instead and won easily.

A lot of the others suspect at the trip or had tough preps.

I reckon scamper will run a race in the oaks. Very lightly raced but looks like it will enjoy the open stretches and longer trip. Notice it was nommed and either balloted out r scratched from several races over the last few weeks (Norman Robinson, Donkey valley vase, wakeful)

Went for an easy kill on some Goat track over 2000m instead and won easily.

A lot of the others suspect at the trip or had tough preps.
Zapurler is another nice chance at a price., impressive win the other day with the blinkers on and the horse it beat walked in yesterday over 2400.

I dont want to do a Locky but I’m getting 21-1.

lockyno1

So let me get this straight. Not only do you find $21 winners in the last race of the day to save your bacon, you pick some obscure $30 shot in England in January who in 10 months later happens to be the shortest price Melbourne cup favourite in many a year ... dang you good

Trust me I haven't tipped at $20-1 pop in the last for weeks although I should have had that last one on Saturday (Divine Quality- always back the thing except last week)! You have to take a couple early in April/May and hope for the best. Literally have jagged it once. It's a bit of fun that's all.

lockyno1

The Jap horse showed zero in the CC, not even a top 10 hope IMO.

If the rain comes and that is an if, it's possibly the best wet tracker in the race. The more rain the more it hurts some horses. There is a few I like at huge odds if it's in the soft range at least.

lockyno1

Win bets

Yucatan (early markets)
Finchie (over the odds at $26)
Cross Counter (odds boosted $12)
Marmelo ($16)

Tri

9,22,23 standout
9,22,23, 24, 1,13, 5 4,14, 10

Sphagnum

Just doing some in depth form analysis of these European donkeys and I reckon quite a few are very suspect at this distance (including the spruik favourite)

Magic circle, muntahaa and a prince of Arran all look like they'll stay no worries.(worried about whether arran can back up though.

Magic circle laps it up and has a great turn of foot. Wouldn't be surprised if there is a big go for it tomorrow.

I rate Youngstar very highly. Question mark about the trip but she gonna be a wfa force over the next could of season. On class alone I have her right up there if she sticks.

Putting a line through all the internationals who I don't think will run it and all the other Aus and NZ horses to try and narrow it down to about 5.

So far have magic circle, muntahaa, youngstar and finche (liked the Geelong cup run). Will wait for the weather to find the fifth.