Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Squad for 2021

Mario chalmers

I reckon Mbye has been good recently and he doesn't have the poor games DWZ has. DWZ in form though is a beast.

Agree that DWZ is worth his contract when in form. The only teams who will take Mbye are those who have equally shit contracts that we'd have to absorb. It could be these types

DWZ is on 700.
Milford on $1 mill
Ash Taylor on $1mill
Jarrod Wallace $700k
Corey Norman $800k
Jack Bird 900k (but think he only has 1 year left on his deal. Mbye has 2 years)

I'd honestly take on any of those contracts before Mbye's. He's a handy bench utility and should be earning about $300-$400k.

Mario chalmers

Talau although solid has hardly set the world on fire , if he is keen for a swap id stamp the deal immediately .
Disagree. Talau has a big career ahead of him and would be on about half Addo-Carrs next contract.

We should be investing in young players not punting them!

simmo1

Why would we release Talau? JAC is leaving anyway, so why should we offer them any compensation.

In any case, I wouldn't have JAC unless he is playing wing. I don't see the ball playing organisation in defence required for him to play fullback.

Ron's_Mate

Why would we release Talau? JAC is leaving anyway, so why should we offer them any compensation.

In any case, I wouldn't have JAC unless he is playing wing. I don't see the ball playing organisation in defence required for him to play fullback.
100% to all of that.

X 2.

If and it is only an If, Bellamy wants a player, I’d offer him Momo.

The Tigers can have as many private discussions as they want and offer Momo a contract when his time is up down south. He has had an interrupted season down south and because of injury, not much game time, let him learn much more under Bellamy.

X 2.

If and it is only an If, Bellamy wants a player, I’d offer him Momo.

The Tigers can have as many private discussions as they want and offer Momo a contract when his time is up down south. He has had an interrupted season down south and because of injury, not much game time, let him learn much more under Bellamy.

I just think Momo isn't that good. He is the opposite of Mbye. He is completely overrated on here whereas Mbye is underrated.

This isn't stating Mbye is paid correctly. It's just the he cops it no matter how well he plays whereas Momo is ordinary but he is made out to be a gun. I'd prefer Momo in the centres and in our team rather than Mbye but that is only on a contract value basis. Since we are already paying that money Mbye is a far better option.

Shredder

Momo and Mbye are both solid, though unremarkable first graders.

The difference is one is our captain and is being paid at least three times more than the other.

Momo is a great depth player at his wage level and kicks to a moderate degree.

He was a back playing for Wyong and made his 1st grade debut because of injury, (I don’t know but would have been surprised if he was in the Chooks top 25 players) then signed with the Tigers.

His benefit to the Tigers was the fact that he could kick and even then, he got a run in 1st grade not because he was an outstanding back or he was a 80% plus goal kicker but he was capable and as you say say Shredder, solid.

I think most supporters had him in their top team for this year was because we do not have a kicker.

I think most supporters had him in their top team for next year, because he was to return and we thought he’d come back a far better and confident footballer because he was learning in the Storm system, injury hasn’t helped him or us.

It has been reported that Mybe and Madge both agree that Mybe is best staying at the Tigers, I think that that indicates that Madge wants him as his captain and Marshall isn’t in his plans for that role ( and perhaps not in his plans for next year at all.

If thats the case, an off season of goal kick tutoring and practice must be a requirement for Mybe and the Tigers and the 2nd, 3rd and 4th choice kicker.

Momo and Mbye are both solid, though unremarkable first graders.

The difference is one is our captain and is being paid at least three times more than the other.

Momo is a great depth player at his wage level and kicks to a moderate degree.

I basically agree but Mbye is a better player and more versatile. He is massively overpaid though and we need to start paying our best players the most money. If we could give Melbourne Mbye and take back Momo that would be great.

stryker

Talau although solid has hardly set the world on fire , if he is keen for a swap id stamp the deal immediately .
I agree has hasn’t shone yet...BUT...
The Melbourne system is the greatest identifier of talent in world rugby league by a long way. If they want him, we can’t let him go.

There should be no swap for JAC whatsoever so I expect Pascoe to release two of our best to get him.....

Ron's_Mate

What if we kept the same backs that have played the last few rounds, but replaced the forwards with the forward packs from say Panthers or Storm. How do people think our backs would be going behind those packs? I think our problem is 80% our forwards & 20% our backs.

Not sure TBH, but it seems that most tries against us scored out wide, where the backs dont seem to number up?

Ron's_Mate

Not sure TBH, but it seems that most tries against us scored out wide, where the backs dont seem to number up?
Yeah, but the opposition teams are getting down our end through our soft middle. Also those teams roll down so fast and easily that the whole Tigers defensive line is disorganised and has multiple holes in it. A strong forward pack limits that.

WA Tiger

About time..makes a lot of sense. Get the pack rolling forward first right? It’s always been the way. And some starch in defence....I’ve always thought we’ve got a dangerous backline

Fordy20

I agree the issue is the forwards, particularly in defence. While I don't imagine our backs would be doing as well as Panthers or the Storm behind their forward packs, I reckon we'd be going a lot better than what we are now. In our first match against the Knights, their forwards just rolled up the middle. The second match was the same story and then the Roosters did it as well a week later. I don't think adding Stephano or having Musgrove in the side on a regular basis will change the story much next year.

Until that issue get sorted out, I don't think it matters too much who plays in the backline.

Mario chalmers

I agree the issue is the forwards, particularly in defence. While I don't imagine our backs would be doing as well as Panthers or the Storm behind their forward packs, I reckon we'd be going a lot better than what we are now. In our first match against the Knights, their forwards just rolled up the middle. The second match was the same story and then the Roosters did it as well a week later. I don't think adding Stephano or having Musgrove in the side on a regular basis will change the story much next year.

Until that issue get sorted out, I don't think it matters too much who plays in the backline.

Disagree slightly.

In the 4 rounds Benji was left out we averaged 16 points against. Since he has returned we've averaged 34 points against.

In 11 matches this season Benji has
- had 10 try causes
- had 12 line break causes
- missed 32 % of his tackles
- tackled at 75% efficiency

All of his youtube highlights aside, its clear there is alink between us leaking points and Benji being out there.

I think its a good week to play Madden at half. Could not to any worse than Benji

WA Tiger

I don’t think Benji has played behind a dominant forward pack to allow him to fully concentrate on attack since his phase two career began..tackling all day, it’s not why he’s in the team..clean out the forwards esp the ones that have fear in their eyes just before contact, with ball in hand..esp the ones that don’t imagine running through the defender eg Garner Eiso etc and turn just before contact, Garner...Get me a bunch of Blores in defence who want to hurt with pleasure ..let the backs attack, that’s why they are there, not defend all day coz the forwards are making no impression and making zero statement in defence or attack.