Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Stadiums with dirt hills

Copa

JF_Bay22_SCG said:
Dumb post to be honest. Suburban grounds in Sydney have always had hills. They are a pleasant confortable place to watch matches. You can stand up the back if you want, or bring a rug and stretch out. You pay your money and stand with you mates where you like.

As we have seen at all seater grounds like Parramatta & Brisbane where you have to buy seat 8 in row x, going to the footy is becoming increasingly a hassle. Organising groups who want to sit together and support their team in unison requires somebody to grab everyone's money beforehand or to just hope your friends get tickets nearby, with hopefully no fans of the opposition sitting near you.

If grounds have seats and it is unreserved, then fine. I haven't got a problem with that. But the beginning of the end of the rugby league supporter culture are grounds like Suncorp & Parra. Not only can you not sit with your mates, but clubs & Ticketek get more from people needing to pre-book tickets.

If grounds become pre-booked at the elite level it will only enforce my decision to stay watching grass roots rugby league on the hill at Henson.

JF
Suncorp must need a hill then. Which stand should be removed to improve the stadium?

Steel Dragon

Copa said:
A grassy field probably.

I can imagine it now.... *harp music into dream sequence*

And the winner of the 2006 Nobel Prize for outstanding achievement in the field of Grassy is Preacher. *record scratch*

I believe Preacher should be awarded some sorta humanitarian award for trying to silence the idots in the world like Copa. :crazy:

JF_Henson_Hill

brooksy19 said:
Yes lets have every ground look and feel exactly the same...

Heck why doesn't every team in Sydney either play at Telstra or SFS..

Welcome to my life as an AFL supporter! :( :oops:

Clubs playing at the same two grounds & only having their colours & team songs to differentiate themselves from their opponents. :crazy: :roll: :oops:

JF

Copa

Steel Dragon said:
I can imagine it now.... *harp music into dream sequence*

And the winner of the 2006 Nobel Prize for outstanding achievement in the field of Grassy is Preacher. *record scratch*

I believe Preacher should be awarded some sorta humanitarian award for trying to silence the idots in the world like Copa. :crazy:
There are a few people here who think hills are the bees neez and world class stadiums need them to prosper. I'm not one of them

The Preacher

Copa said:
Suncorp must need a hill then. Which stand should be removed to improve the stadium?

I believe he is saying that if there are no general ad. areas, it is hard to organise a large group of people to sit together. Unlike Olympic Park, where it is easy to organise because no bastard goes there.:lol:

Copa

The Preacher said:
I believe he is saying that if there are no general ad. areas, it is hard to organise a large group of people to sit together. Unlike Olympic Park, where it is easy to organise because no bastard goes there.:lol:
keep dreaming of hills. :lol:

The Preacher

Copa said:
There are a few people here who think hills are the bees neez and world class stadiums need them to prosper. I'm not one of them

You would never put a hill into the mix of a new stadium, Dropkick. I'm saying if people want to sit on the hill at existing grounds, good luck to them. They don't need galloots like you telling them they are wrong.
My season tickets for both Oki and Win are in the concourse areas, but I have nothing against people sitting on the hill. I did it for years with no problems, except for when dunces like you came along and had to be dealt with accordingly.
The Dragons are about to have their return to Oki Jubilee on Friday week and I'm taking my 8yr old around to the hill to see the start of the game with the Dragons Army. He is extremely exited about this, yet pricks like you don't think this should be allowed to continue, well f**k you and the horse you rode in on. You wouldn't know tradition if it hit you in the head. Now Piss Off.:evil:

The Preacher

Copa said:
so preacher... why don't they put a hill on the new robina stadium?

The way you carry on it should be Ribena Stadium, little boy. Go and have a nappy change, you stink.

Steel Dragon

Copa said:

Who has said 'all stadiums need hills'? Who has said 'only stadiums with hills are any good'?

Ive read that alot of people enjoy standing on the hill and prefer the atmosphere on the hill - but i cant recall anyone saying hills are a must.

The Preacher

Copa said:
keep dreaming of hills. :lol:

Hills don't come into it. General admission can be bays 1 to 6 or whatever. General ad. does not mean hills. Dropkick.
I typed that slowly so you might understand it better.

Copa

The Preacher said:
You would never put a hill into the mix of a new stadium, Dropkick. I'm saying if people want to sit on the hill at existing grounds, good luck to them. They don't need galloots like you telling them they are wrong.
My season tickets for both Oki and Win are in the concourse areas, but I have nothing against people sitting on the hill. I did it for years with no problems, except for when dunces like you came along and had to be dealt with accordingly.
The Dragons are about to have their return to Oki Jubilee on Friday week and I'm taking my 8yr old around to the hill to see the start of the game with the Dragons Army. He is extremely exited about this, yet pricks like you don't think this should be allowed to continue, well f**k you and the horse you rode in on. You wouldn't know tradition if it hit you in the head. Now Piss Off.:evil:

people can sit where they want.

But hills look like dumps and belong in history and (i know money is a factor) don't belong in the future of the elite RL comp.

That is the future of the game. Get over it.

JF_Henson_Hill

Copa said:

There is no need to be facetious mate. :roll:

Suncorp would be a heaps better stadium if they had unreserved seating and actually let people take things inside the place. People at the Kiwis test match were shocked when Supermario & myself were able to get things like giant flags & a drum into the ground. :oops:

I have been to the old Lang Park. I actually really liked the concrete terracing. But to stand on a terrace they would really be rude to charge people more than $25 per ticket. Meanwhile at all-seater Suncorp they can charge $44 for the test match.

Basically all-seater stadiums are little more than methods that sporting clubs/league can get more $$$$ out of the people who go to matches.

Me, I like sport to be as accessible as possible to as many people as possible. I don't want to the situation I experienced in Canada when I lived there where the stadiums are cushy but ticket prices are out of the range of students apprentices & pensioners & were filled with corporates who were curious about the spectacle rather than passionate about barracking and supporting THEIR clubs.

JF

What's the Storm current crowds got to do with a discussion (which a number of you seem to constantly turn into a personal insult flinging contest) about if a modern new stadium is better for "the game" than playing in antiquated local grounds? if anything the fact the Storm can't draw a crowd to a poor run down stadium is a good reason why clubs should be planning how they are going to keep up with the rest of the sporting world.

How anyone can suggest this:
DSCN1046.jpg

presents a better image for the game than grounds like these:
kcsoutheast.jpg

jjbstadium4.jpg

ashburton1.jpg

is beyond me.

ps preacher yes the reds did play at the WACA, yes it was a terrible ground, yes it was one of the reasons they failed to get decent crowds and yes that does support my argument even more!

pps not that its relevant to the discussion but I watch RL every weekend (and have done for the last 27 years, all be it amateur these days after the NRL's great decision to cut the Reds) and have been to NRL, SL, European soccer and NFL stadiums.

Copa

JF_Bay22_SCG said:
There is no need to be facetious mate. :roll:

Suncorp would be a heaps better stadium if they had unreserved seating and actually let people take things inside the place. People at the Kiwis test match were shocked when Supermario & myself were able to get things like giant flags & a drum into the ground. :oops:

I have been to the old Lang Park. I actually really liked the concrete terracing. But to stand on a terrace they would really be rude to charge people more than $25 per ticket. Meanwhile at all-seater Suncorp they can charge $44 for the test match.

Basically all-seater stadiums are little more than methods that sporting clubs/league can get more $$$$ out of the people who go to matches.

Me, I like sport to be as accessible as possible to as many people as possible. I don't want to the situation I experienced in Canada when I lived there where the stadiums are cushy but ticket prices are out of the range of students apprentices & pensioners & were filled with corporates who were curious about the spectacle rather than passionate about barracking and supporting THEIR clubs.

JF
The seats at suncorp that allow you to see the screen of the video ref are interesting... you can see the decisions being made before they hit the big screen.

Agree about allowing things into stadiums.... there needs to be discretion in that instance.. although it is hard to say "yes" to one group and "no" to another.

health and safety are big issues that need to be considered when allowing people to move all over the place or cram into unseated areas.. that'll become increasingly importnat if RL crowds increase.

At St Marys (uk) they tell people they aren't even allowed to stand up except for "exciting moments" - I thought it was amazing that they actually announce this. Didn't decrease the atmosphere though.

The Preacher

Perth Red said:
pps not that its relevant to the discussion but I watch RL every weekend (and have done for the last 27 years, all be it amateur these days after the NRL's great decision to cut the Reds) [/quote/]

Johnny Robot Beserk Sack told you that you weren't swallowing enough and that great mob you bowed to, Newsy, decided they could get their pleasure on the eastern seaboard anyway. The ARL gave birth to you and you spat in their face. You deserve nothing.:D

Steel Dragon

P. Reddy

I think the game has enough image problems away from the field, that the appearance of a stadium is of little concern.

Who is the NRL trying to impress with big fancy stadiums?
If Sharks and Dragons and Eels etc fans enjoy the hill and there is demand enough for it leave the hills. No one has any plans to tear down seating to put in a hill, thats just stupid. But if there is demand for stands by all means upgrade suburban fields.

Is there even demand for the Storm? Not being a smart-ass, but is there a need to expand the stadium? Is it for the storm - or is it to attract other sporting matches to the ground?