Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Stadiums with dirt hills

Copa

The Preacher said:
This prick needs serious help. I know a lot of people in Melbourne and none show the symptoms of stupidity that this clown does.
How long has this condition existed ????
You're the one that prefers a dirt hill in a stadium rather than a stadium like this:

preacher, Which side should they remove to improve the stadium with a hill? :lol:

Steel Dragon

Copa said:
So Preacher, what do you think about the fancy chook raffles?? Very nostalgic isn't it?

The raffle guys may get enough experience to be promoted (in true rugby league style) to club admin, or even run a whole club, after running a fancy chook raffle. You've been to heaps of games so you'd know that is possible.

There are junior clubs and such that sill run raffles inside the grounds. I'm not sure what your point is exactly. Sure theyve progressed past frozen chickens, but it seems you havent evolved past the frozen chicken stage.

Copa

The Preacher said:
At the moment it is all dirt you moron.
When they build it which side should be a hill instead of covered seating?... you've been to heaps of games.. you know these things. Why haven't they put in an exposed hill??

Steel Dragon

Copa said:
When they build it which side should be a hill instead of covered seating?... you've been to heaps of games.. you know these things. Why haven't they put in an exposed hill??

Because you can make more money with stadium seating - and anyone building a modern stadium would be silly to ignore the extra income available when hosting premier matches.

But from what I can tell, I dont think it will be Storm fans packing out the stadium.

Copa

Steel Dragon said:
Because you can make more money with stadium seating - and anyone building a modern stadium would be silly to ignore the extra income available when hosting premier matches.

But from what I can tell, I dont think it will be Storm fans packing out the stadium.
Bingo. Don't tell preacher that. The future is all hills for him..

Storm may pack it out in the distant future... but it is a very long way to travel to Robina

The Preacher

Steel Dragon said:
Remember at the Logies when Reg Regan interviewed Rove? He said he was a fan, despite not knowing any of the players

Good, solid supporter that Rove. Gets in for kids price.

The Preacher

Come back Copa, don't disappear now, I'm just starting to enjoy your stupidity and realise how the dillusional operate.
I hope he hasn't gone back to Nth America or Europe, we need him here.
I've just contacted a few people for you Copa and have arranged an interview for you to assume the position of CEO of the Heritage Society.
I also know why you've adopted league as your sport, you like the dropkick soooo much you've decided to be one. :)

Copa

The Preacher said:
Come back Copa, don't disappear now, I'm just starting to enjoy your stupidity and realise how the dillusional operate.
I hope he hasn't gone back to Nth America or Europe, we need him here.
I've just contacted a few people for you Copa and have arranged an interview for you to assume the position of CEO of the Heritage Society.
I also know why you've adopted league as your sport, you like the dropkick soooo much you've decided to be one. :)
This man deserves a nobel prize.

JF_Henson_Hill

Copa said:
Was watching a certain game last night (won't mention any names) but i have to say stadiums with big grass hills (esp those with hills along the length of the field) look like dumps.

Who wants to pay money and then sit on the bloody grass??

And this is suppose to be a high level pro-sport... but some fans get to sit in the bloody dirt to watch a game.

Dumb post to be honest. Suburban grounds in Sydney have always had hills. They are a pleasant confortable place to watch matches. You can stand up the back if you want, or bring a rug and stretch out. You pay your money and stand with you mates where you like.

As we have seen at all seater grounds like Parramatta & Brisbane where you have to buy seat 8 in row x, going to the footy is becoming increasingly a hassle. Organising groups who want to sit together and support their team in unison requires somebody to grab everyone's money beforehand or to just hope your friends get tickets nearby, with hopefully no fans of the opposition sitting near you.

If grounds have seats and it is unreserved, then fine. I haven't got a problem with that. But the beginning of the end of the rugby league supporter culture are grounds like Suncorp & Parra. Not only can you not sit with your mates, but clubs & Ticketek get more from people needing to pre-book tickets.

If grounds become pre-booked at the elite level it will only enforce my decision to stay watching grass roots rugby league on the hill at Henson.

JF