Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Staff and Players Not Payed

The article today said Darius is not fulfilling any off field duties due to the third party agreement falling over. I can partially understand that but refusing to sign jerseys if true is a bit much. This would mostly be penalising kids, junior footy clubs and charities.

Noname36

Paul Gallen is still publicly pleading for the NRL to help them mate and it's now a fact their own club failed them as well. Hence their coach is no longer there. They've been on their own through it all.

Davis may have spent a few months against the shed wall crying his heart out if he was at the Sharks last year.

I don't know the full extent of Cronulla's boardroom dramas so I won't comment on what was worse, but bottom line I think it's utterly disgraceful that we've now resulted to withholding salaries as part of the constant infighting and I know if my employer was treating me or anyone in the company with such a low priority I'd lose all respect and start doing a half-hearted job. Does that make me weak or liken me to Princess Darius?

I've been adamant all year that there was something more serious at play behind the performances this year (in addition to a lot of personnel/injury and some execution/tactical issues of course) and I wouldn't be surprised if this was it. Of course Alex's injury would have contributed significantly, but we obviously have a huge issue stemming from the boardroom. We need to fix that immediately and start from scratch. Nobody is going to come here in the current state of management.

Spot On

Agree again.

So we can accept now that all the players are happy to be unhappy and fail to galvanize as a unit until everything at the club is fixed? Or, for once, we can adopt what was so special about this club in the early years when we had no big names but fought till the end each week for each other and the supporters???

Bit of an old fashioned approach possibly but better than the alternatives.

Noname36

Agree again.

So we can accept now that all the players are happy to be unhappy and fail to galvanize as a unit until everything at the club is fixed? Or, for once, we can adopt what was so special about this club in the early years when we had no big names but fought till the end each week for each other and the supporters???

Bit of an old fashioned approach possibly but better than the alternatives.

Unfortunately I think players at our club have always has a victim mentality. However I think for once it's actually somewhat justified that they feel miffed and not want to put in for the club. I was disgusted the way the players carried on in 2007 and again in 2009 during the various Brian Smith issues. Especially in 2009 when we were headed for the top 4 but they threw it away because they didn't want to play for the coach after he signed with the Roosters.

However I still stand by that this is different. Actually screwing with people's salaries and livelihoods (and from all reports their super) like it's a game isn't on and I'd be absolutely disgusted if the club was supposed to be looking after me did that. I'd love for them to just do it for the fans, but if the club that we've all stood behind and supported through countless changes in playing personnel can't treat us (or the players) with any respect then how can we expect someone that's been there for 2-3 years to? Don't get me wrong, I'd love it but I don't expect it.

I too wish we still had the siege mentality we did during out early years in the comp. in the current state of our club though I think it's an unrealistic dream unfortunately.

Spot On

Makes you wonder why Mullo signed a long term contract only a few short weeks ago if these worries have been around so long?

Noname36

^ I don't know about Mullo but I know for a fact that BJ pretty much re-signed with us because he wanted to stay with Bennett. That's another reason why I think this thing might get a lot worse before it gets better. If Bennett goes we might have a couple of disgruntled players on our hands that are locked into contracts.

For the record I don't think Mullo was ever going anywhere. If the ship goes down completely I reckon Mullo will be the last bloke hanging off the edge. I kinda wish they were all like him. We could probably get away with not paying people for more than an year if they all loved the club the way Mullo seems to. He's put up with a lot of crap here through the years.

Let's hope the devil isn't in the detail on that.

It will be champion. It is Tinkler. The more this drags on the sillier I feel we ever allowed this jerk into our club. Wayne or no Wayne the outcome has been a club divided, players who won't have a dig cos they have banks and creditors on their back wanting payments, the fans are just not caring anymore, and basically our CEO is utterly gutless. He should resign in protest. It is disgusting what has happened and I am sad for everyone involved with our great club. I just want the NRL to get rid of him, help us see Wayne's contract through, and get the boys minds back on the game. Tory Palmer is sickeningly sycophantic individual. can't stand the bastard.

The article today said Darius is not fulfilling any off field duties due to the third party agreement falling over. I can partially understand that but refusing to sign jerseys if true is a bit much. This would mostly be penalising kids, junior footy clubs and charities.

There is a theory Boyd did this to draw attention to HSGs gag on him and the boys. He is apparently so angry about his financial plight he barely talks at training and goes through the motions. He doesn't want to leave the club by all accounts he is dirty on Tinkler. really dirty. If he is under that much pressure I can't say I blame him. He should dig deep though for his own sake if not the team's.

TooheysNew

There is a theory Boyd did this to draw attention to HSGs gag on him and the boys. He is apparently so angry about his financial plight he barely talks at training and goes through the motions. He doesn't want to leave the club by all accounts he is dirty on Tinkler. really dirty. If he is under that much pressure I can't say I blame him. He should dig deep though for his own sake if not the team's.
I don't know where you heard that but it's gibberish.

Alex28

Whilst the NRL is guaranteeing wages, I doubt they are guaranteeing 3rd party payments. Honestly - if I was in his position I'd be doing the bare minimum too. It's $200K we are talking about...

undertaker

It will be champion. It is Tinkler. The more this drags on the sillier I feel we ever allowed this jerk into our club. Wayne or no Wayne the outcome has been a club divided, players who won't have a dig cos they have banks and creditors on their back wanting payments, the fans are just not caring anymore, and basically our CEO is utterly gutless. He should resign in protest. It is disgusting what has happened and I am sad for everyone involved with our great club. I just want the NRL to get rid of him, help us see Wayne's contract through, and get the boys minds back on the game. Tory Palmer is sickeningly sycophantic individual. can't stand the bastard.

I was listening to that Newcastle Herald reporter on Triple M's Sunday show earlier today and he was definitely right about questioning the appointment of Palmer (who had no experience in running a club before suddenly being appointed to be in charge of not only the Knights but also the Jets) and Matt Gidley (although he maybe a nice guy and one of the most talented players our club has produced, is definitely no CEO and the fact he pretty much jumped up the mountain into the position less than a year after finishing his RL career in the UK was a big red flag from a business perspective. It looked like we still struggled to shake off the "jobs for the boys" mentality that has crippled our club for years).

In a nutshell, the point from the reporter that summed up everything: Tinkler et al. thought they could just barge their way into the club with the "move over bastards, we can run a club much better than you can" attitude, and now the administration under the Tinkler era are starting to realise how complicated it is to run a club (let alone making a profit). I can see this whole process of the admin trying to obtain the $10.52 million bank guarantee is going to get very ugly but for the sake of the team, I hope it doesn't drag out to the extent the ASADA scandal has with the Cronulla Sharks. That's the last thing the team needs.

broncos2010

If I was the players I would refuse to play today, they are all people just like us and have their own debts and bills to cover.

Why go out there and risk your health and put in for the club when they cant even meet the simple requirements of paying the players.

No matter who is to blame the players should not have to go through this.

aqua_duck

What I still don't understand is who's Boyd's 3rd party agreement is with and how the club got dragged into it?

aqua_duck

I wouldn't have thought that was allowed as a 3rd party deal. I mean what's stopping Nick Politis paying all his players under City Ford's payroll?

Method

If I was the players I would refuse to play today, they are all people just like us and have their own debts and bills to cover.

Why go out there and risk your health and put in for the club when they cant even meet the simple requirements of paying the players.

No matter who is to blame the players should not have to go through this.

Rumour has it 2 knights players refused to get on the bus today. Doubt this is true however.