Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

STORM - Players about to hit Point Break

Pete Cash

I was at the Canberra game and the niggle was more from the Canberra players getting frustrated and I suspect more frustrated because of the betten by an 'over the cap' team. At Parra, White and Moi Moi targetted each over all night - Moi Moi walked off with a laugh as he took the free interchange. Haynes and Slater were also at each other all night - Haynes started it and Billy didn't let it go. If there is any danger of Storm getting in the biff is that the have no reason to back down - but then both Haynes and Slater had SOO selection on the line at last nights game and it didn't seem to make a difference.

The players were expecting a hostile crowd at Parra - but maybe more than 7,000 hostiles ;-)

I have never seen a more niggly game than what Adam Blair took to Canberra.

Once origin is over we will see the true character of the Melbourne players & club.

beave

Actually Johnsy, I would have said 'the Storm have made their bed, the NRL just pissed in it'........................

beave

I was at the Canberra game and the niggle was more from the Canberra players getting frustrated and I suspect more frustrated because of the betten by an 'over the cap' team. At Parra, White and Moi Moi targetted each over all night - Moi Moi walked off with a laugh as he took the free interchange. Haynes and Slater were also at each other all night - Haynes started it and Billy didn't let it go. If there is any danger of Storm getting in the biff is that the have no reason to back down - but then both Haynes and Slater had SOO selection on the line at last nights game and it didn't seem to make a difference.

The players were expecting a hostile crowd at Parra - but maybe more than 7,000 hostiles ;-)

anyone else have a laugh at this incomprehensible sh*t?

Actually Johnsy, I would have said 'the Storm have made their bed, the NRL just pissed in it'........................

I like it Beave, maybe they just laid a steaming cable in the bed to keep them warm at night.

Actually melbourne have laid a steaming hot cable in their bed, obviously not toilet trained, and the NRL decided to leave it there.

donkeywong

I went to the Parra v Storm game tonight, as an independant observer invited to a box, no dramas, expecting a great game. Yeah, I got plenty of entertainment, actually really enjoyed the match.

However something I'm seeing when I watch the Storm is concerning me. I saw a bit of it in the Canberra vs Storm match and it looked to be really bubbling over tonight, that along with the heap of many dumb low percentage plays that the Storm were experimenting with.

The Parramatta crowd (all 7000 of them) were absolutely giving it to the Storm players, massive united crowd calls of CHEATS CHEATS (which fans are entitled to do), the fans were also hanging over the fence going bananas at the Melbourne bench, the pointing and berating of one fingered salutes at Bellamy in his glass coaching box. And you could see the Storm players were soaking it in big time. It's affecting them.

I've just got home, started watching the replay and you can hear it in Cameron Smiths voice, "Mate we've got nothing to play for, we can't win anything this year", and that's just it. It is starting to get dangerous. What is going to happen when the Origin Series is finished? How much crazy retaliation are the Storm players going to dish out then?

I've tried to imagine going to work every day knowing I was working for an absolutely wasted year. What my state of mind would be by the half way point... this could get really bad. I'm not sure the NRL are fully aware of the consequences of their decision making.

I reckon the Storm players are beginning to get close to breaking point, and that's my point. Yeah it's all fun playing touch footy at training because the seasons over. But when the players are in the game, in a real grinding arm wrestle and it hits the 50th minute and BANG the reality hits them... this is for nothing. The emotion could get really crazy. Adam Blair and Brett White are big enough and loose enough to cause some real carnage.

It's gripping viewing, I can't wait to see how this all plays out.

donkeywong

Great insight thanks for the read mate!!will be very interesting,we ,,the boys were only talking yesterday about exactly what you just posted.

Mickyd39

haha.. the players dont give a stuff about what is said about them..
specially not from the bogan Parra fans..

You must be a sooky little twat to think sledging, upsets players..
specially professional sports athletes..

Simoidiot i have a question for you, "Are your parents brother and sister or first cousins?"

The reason i ask, is because some of the stuff you come out with is the rantings of a person that has some serve mental issues as a result of inbreeding.

Please do everyone a favour and pick up your banjo and head back under the rock from where you came.

Squeal like a pig, BOY.

simostorm

Simoidiot i have a question for you, "Are your parents brother and sister or first cousins?"

The reason i ask, is because some of the stuff you come out with is the rantings of a person that has some serve mental issues as a result of inbreeding.

Please do everyone a favour and pick up your banjo and head back under the rock from where you came.

Squeal like a pig, BOY.

:lol::lol::lol: Your one of the Bogan Parra fans that im talking about.

wavell_cowboy

Was jarryd hayne not the one who headbutted slater after licking his ear out in the tackle. Everyone is starting to get ridiculous about this whole storm situation. The nrl punish the players by making them play for no points, then the sydney media want build all the supporters to go to parramatta and get stuck into the storm players with signs and insults. And expect the players just to take it? What more can you expect from NSW i guess.

matt

Was jarryd hayne not the one who headbutted slater after licking his ear out in the tackle. Everyone is starting to get ridiculous about this whole storm situation. The nrl punish the players by making them play for no points, then the sydney media want build all the supporters to go to parramatta and get stuck into the storm players with signs and insults. And expect the players just to take it? What more can you expect from NSW i guess.

And the major share holder in your club would be?

But you guys get the crowds whilst being puss even with da man Thurston.

Storm needed some help to get a remote interest yeh?

Oh thats right who has got a 50% share in the NRL?

Simple solution to this issue. If the Storm players are dumb enough to become loose cannons when they have "nothing to play for", then the refs simply send them off for indiscretions, the judiciary suspends them, and the Storm have to promote juniors in the place of their established stars.

Funnily enough, that's very similar to what would have happened anyway if the cheating merkins had have stuck to the salary cap in the first place :lol:.

simostorm

Great comeback:roll:

You still didn't answer the question.

Admit it, you are originally from Tassie.

haha.. comeback to what? that explosive diareahea that frothed out of you mouth.. thats was grade school garbage.. if your gunna play with the big boys get something better to sledge then that tassie rubbish.