Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Superstitions you can do away with for a while

Vin Fizz

I can now wash my 2016 Jersey. It has a 100% record this year for games I attended and wore it. My lucky red undies that are a mere vestige of their former great self might finally waft away. The Sharks rubber wrist band that my now 8 year old daughter bought for me several years ago can retire. I can finally move that bloody BWB Womble that my sis bought back from the UK for me and see if the stylus to the Nintendo DH is under it. My Sharkies tie can be worn more than once a year, The 2016 member sticker can be moved from its place on the bookshelf as can the 58000 beenies and hats that adorn the front room. That's just the superstitions I can think of right now. Spazo munch?

30 Year Sharkie

Never sing the song before the game. Worked a treat this time :cool:

Was going to buy a 2016 jersey, but now my Power's one from the 80s with Sparkles' number on it is a premiership guernsey, i shall now keep wearing it. (Perhaps, BTW, one of you old hands could enlighten me as to which year this was from. It has the Power's logo in red across the middle and "Power's Bitter" across the shoulder, also in red. I was guessing 1984 but can't find a reference)

So that's not really answering the question. Now they are proven to work I shall have to keep them :p

Weird story this. Not so much about superstition as it is Twilight Zone like

July 16 this year I suffer what they call a catastrophic failure of my hip replacment. I'm in Sutho hospital while they work out what to do and finally get a big (8hours) op done on the 25th, A few days after, drug phuqued and with a leg that looks and feels like a cannon hanging off me I'm lying in bed thinking about whether I can get out and mobile for the semis. 2 weeks after that in early August I'm in a private rehab and I'm now thinking I won't even make it to the GF if they make it.

I did NOT doubt for 1 minute from that day on in August that the Sharks would not only make the GF but they would win the comp. Thats when my peace started.

True story.

GF morning
I was sitting on my bed playing my guitar.
I was singing Bob Marleys 3 little birds.
I shit you not ...3 stinking Indian minor birds landed on the grass outside my window.

snout

Have 2 jumpers. A regular LG and a black away one.
Always wear one when watching games. I live in Qld so only get to suncorp or Tits. Rarely get back to NSW.
Have an absloute woeful success record when wearing the LG. But wear it 95% of time.
Started wearing the black...noticed the change and wore all year.

Superstitions: when watching on the box l never leave my seat on the couch after weve scored until halftime or the other mob score.

Weird shit: after the Raiders game l had the strongst premonition we would winthe whole thing. Id say a vision but that sound odd...but more than a feeling. I KNEW.
Without a doubt. My stock statement was we will win it.
I put 300 on us the next day at $4.50. And another 500 at $2.10 after we beat the cows.

shadowboxer

Took a gamble and got my old pair of black, white and blue socks from the drawer I haven't worn since preston was around. And what a gamble it was. Washed and back in the drawer - hope they don't wait another 50 years for an appearance

Eion

Do away with? I've just more now.

I've got my friggen Sharkscast hat that has never seen a loss. Similarly, the dusted off original Aussieduct jersey hasn't seen a loss this century.

(As a side note, fugg you lot with your new swanky Aussieducts, we all know they're not as cool as mine)

My grandfather passed away this year after declining health for several years. He was another good Sharks man who never saw the boys finally hoist up that trophy.

Anyway, the nursing home he was living in got a big reno earlier this year and so he got shifted around a bit in his final weeks. The room he finally passed in was room 67. That's when I pretty much felt that a premiership was destined.

roboshark

in 2014 i nabbed a souths footy out of a claw machine at the Tuggeranong movie theatre. they won the comp
in 2016 i nabbed a sharks footy out of the same claw machine. we won the comp.

ill let you know who wins the comp next time i win a footy and we will all put bets on
Lol. Go for the Sharks one again matr

Surely

finally washed my undies yesterday they were starting to resemble an early Penrith jumper

taipan

I used to be superstitious about bird sh*t landing on you or your car would bring you luck.On Sunday 3rd October 2016 AD my car parked under a tree. I am after the win, now convinced it is true.
The beast must have been a raging albatross , judging by the amount lobbed on my pride and joy from a great height .

Vin Fizz

Might have mentioned it before. Ive had my own premonition. Had a reoccurring dream for nigh on 10 years now that I watched the Western Bulldogs play in a GF and that would be a significant time for me. Don't even follow AFL. For a while i was placing a bet on the WB winning the AFL to try and conjure up the event. No good though. But the moment the WB made the finals this year and then the GF I knew we would be ok. I had no confidence but a very strong message we'd be ok. Never ever dreamt the result though. It always ended with me walking away from the ground before the game ended and looking back very sad. When the storm scored I walked from my seat to behind the stand (I had just kicked my water bottle so I had to chase it anyway) where I stood and listened for the next few minutes. I recalled the dream and it made sense. I got this overwhelming feeling it would be fine and Burrito scored. Still shat my pants at the end though.

GF morning
I was sitting on my bed playing my guitar.
I was singing Bob Marleys 3 little birds.
I shit you not ...3 stinking Indian minor birds landed on the grass outside my window.

If I may digress off the thread topic here Carch I have a funny / weird memory of bird omens. Many years ago we had a cousins reunion at Tea Gardens north of Nelson Bay. A day or so before we left to go down I was listening to the radio up here and they had a real interesting interview with three old indigenous Auntys talking about their culture etc. One of the old girls mentioned that one of their elder ladies passed away recently. She was in a home and "the big black bird" visited her at her open window sill. She (the old lady in the nursing home) told others and the next day she was no more. Obviously the big black bird meant your time had come. Anyhow fast forward to the reunion and I had my brother take his pushy (he lived at Nelsons Bay) as I had just started getting into bike riding (nothing serious just for fun). Anyhow the first full day of the cousins reunion I grab the pushy and decide to go off for a ride.

I set off and it was a fantastic place to ride so I took off up a bitumen road that ran north along the coast. I was in a world of my own and I realised that I had been going for hours and the distance I had ridden out I had to do the same distance back.

There was no one around and hardly a car passed me on the road. It was very isolated

I was about 1/3 of the way back and absolutely buggered so I stopped to have a spell and a swig of the small bottle of water I took with me. Here I am sitting on a big tree trunk in the middle of nowhere sucking on the water and I looked up and just above my head was a f**king big black bird just looking down at me. Just there by himself.

All I could think of was the old Auntys story in the interview and the fact that Big Artie Beetson dropped dead riding a pushy and to make it worse no one from our reunion had any clue where I had ridden too.

Yes I did survive the return trip but it was a bit of a worry .

P.S. I've not seen any big black birds on their own checking me out closely since.

Tucky

Actually watch games live again.
My two sons had this superstition that whenever I watched a match live (either at the ground or on the TV) we had a piss poor winning record, including a trip with the family from Brissie down to Shark Park in 2013 for their 1st vist, only to watch us lose against the Stains. Had a reasonable record v the Donkeys the last few times at Suncorp however.
So to keep them happy, I started watching games on time shift function (only a couple of seconds) using the Foxtel box this year and low and behold we go on a massive winning streak. Attended the only match I could get to this year v the Titans and we have a draw.
Watched the GF using the time shift function and ........

myrrh ken

Can I now stop those tiny feelings of self consciousness and self pity when I tell people I go for the Sharks?

Mine started last year when the indigenous jersey came out.
It really took me as its design was so exceptional and had had great feeling behind it.
I hadn't bought a jersey in a number of years but this one I had to have.
The first game I wore it I met the designer, Darren Dunn, on the way into the ground he explained what the story behind the design was.
We won the game.
Next time I wore it we won again, etc.
Please note: this was only when I was at the actual game.
This year I wore it through the whole streak, we won. I tested the theory and wore my 1967 one, we lost. I wore a t-shirt, we lost.
Went back to the Indigenous for the Roosters game, we won.
Next live game was the Cowboys in the Prelim, of course I couldn't wear anything else.
GF, done.
Undefeated in it when watching live games.
But there was something else that happened last week.....

My best mate that died last year has come to me in a few dreams but that hasn't happened in over a year.
He used to come to Sharks games with me, mostly to finals, and he was a Manly supporter. I used to go with him whenever Manly got through as well.
Anyway he came to me last week and said he wanted to come along to the game as he could never miss this one. He said to wear the t-shirt of him under my jersey. He also said to not tell a soul that I was doing it as we will win if i kept it a secret. Of course I told no-one.
At half time I went for a little wander, quietly I asked him what I could do to make sure we won, he told me not to yell out anymore and just keep quiet and watch, and we will win.
I didn't make a sound until that last tackle......

Card Shark

I go camping every February with about 30 blokes up near where my olds live & where I grew up, beside the river, so I always take my fishing rod.

Caught a large bass 1 arvo that had the other blokes in awe. Cooked it up on the Barbie, wrapped in foil with lemon, onion, tomato etc. Shared it around & it tasted superb.

Later that night, I win this you beaut sharks / reefy wrist band for my efforts in the trivia. Figured it was a lucky omen & wore it for a lot of games last year & it had a remarkable winning record.

Forgot about it this year until just before the semis when we were losing. Went looking for it & whacked it on for the Canberra final.....& the next 2 games. It did the job.