Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Superthread LI. Honouring Bruce the Ultra Moist

Happy Birthday, 9701! Have a top day. Thanks for the link. They referred me to a Sydney based service. It's a mobile place that comes to you and fixes your rims at home. Only surface damage and such though and an overall polish. Which, is good enough for me.

Thanks mate, and no worries. I thought they would be able to help, they were very proffessional when I used them.

Drew-Sta

I am still amazed at how far and fast we have moved. i mean here I am at 45 years old I can remember when B&W tv became colour, when a 14 inch tv was the norm. When the 68cm tv was the next big thing, then rear projection then plasma then lcd then led all in around 30 years

The rate of change in technology is staggering. The change in mobile phones alone in 10 years (Nokia 3210 to iPhone 4S) is simply mind blowing. I don't think we recognise the shift nor its impact on society and human reaction yet.

I get the sense there will be a lot of looking back and 'And this did this, and this did this...' by historians.

Sure, progress is good, but we don't even consider the barriers or whether they existed until we've actually broken them in terms of their cause and effect.

Truly mate growing up through the 70's and 80's I can absolutely positively guarantee it was more fun being a kid then. Sure kids these days have flash toys but they just don't live life anymore it's all indoors on pc's phones tablets gaming systems etc.

I just miss seeing kids playing in parks. I loved playing footy in the park or climbing trees. These days, there's games that simulate it and kids are too precious to go out and get their hands dirty or graze their knee.

What you're saying 9701 is that we at least had a brief glorious childhood before becoming sad f**ks who spend their lives on the internet and watching TV.

I don't own a TV for this very reason. I do watch too many downloaded TV shows, sure, but its just as easy to not now. When I lived at mum and dads, it was an addiction.

I had an awesome and glorious childhood tbh, which had a lot to do with the street we lived in. Things kind of went downhill when a friend showed me mmorpgs though... :sarcasm:

The original Warcraft and Civilization were my downfall. I was in the grip of digital addiction unti about 2006 or 2007.

Also watching The Bible mini series.

Helps that I have no idea about what is supposed to happen in it.

What is that, BTW?

Yeah im watching it. Drew seems normal, not sure how anyone believes this insane story

Because I am normal :)

People will believe what they want to believe.

Me personally, the Norse gods will kick all of their arses.

Just as people won't believe what they don't want to believe.

Cool talking fire tree. Maybe i should of dropped some acid before watching this

Exodus 3, I think. The Theophany of God.

I like the whole my god is the one and only god (or in Hinduisms case our 8 gods) which comes from mainly the extremists of each religion.

I don't mind if you believe in something, just don't try to push it onto me.

I learnt that from a young age when I was forced to do scripture in a government school.

I agree this is quite a dangerous point. If you're willing to kill to prove your God is the only God, then its an issue.

I personally believe there is only one God, and while I'm happy to accept people won't believe or accept that, I stick to it. I don't, however, enforce that belief or kill to prove it. Happy to discuss it and won't deny I proselytize, but how you do it is as important as why.

When do you get back?

Love waking up at stupid o'clock with no covers and sweating profusely :?

Why the sweating..?

I like the part where they portray the genocidal maniac who killed 2.5 million people as the good guy.

Exodus 12. Yes, one of those parts of the bible that Western society struggles with. Personally, I struggle with it too, although I am aware of my cultural lens the meaning behind it all.

I will suggest most Christians don't understand it properly to explain it, nor is it something easily explained.

Off to meet the delightful people of Western Sydney today, this should be entertaining...

Where to this time? Cambo? Penrith?

BDR

Need to take a car to the wreckers. No idea if or what paperwork needs doing. I imagine something with rego? :-k

The rate of change in technology is staggering. The change in mobile phones alone in 10 years (Nokia 3210 to iPhone 4S) is simply mind blowing. I don't think we recognise the shift nor its impact on society and human reaction yet.

I get the sense there will be a lot of looking back and 'And this did this, and this did this...' by historians.

Sure, progress is good, but we don't even consider the barriers or whether they existed until we've actually broken them in terms of their cause and effect.

I just miss seeing kids playing in parks. I loved playing footy in the park or climbing trees. These days, there's games that simulate it and kids are too precious to go out and get their hands dirty or graze their knee.

I don't own a TV for this very reason. I do watch too many downloaded TV shows, sure, but its just as easy to not now. When I lived at mum and dads, it was an addiction.

The original Warcraft and Civilization were my downfall. I was in the grip of digital addiction unti about 2006 or 2007.

What is that, BTW?

Because I am normal :)

Just as people won't believe what they don't want to believe.

Exodus 3, I think. The Theophany of God.

I agree this is quite a dangerous point. If you're willing to kill to prove your God is the only God, then its an issue.

I personally believe there is only one God, and while I'm happy to accept people won't believe or accept that, I stick to it. I don't, however, enforce that belief or kill to prove it. Happy to discuss it and won't deny I proselytize, but how you do it is as important as why.

When do you get back?

Why the sweating..?

Exodus 12. Yes, one of those parts of the bible that Western society struggles with. Personally, I struggle with it too, although I am aware of my cultural lens the meaning behind it all.

I will suggest most Christians don't understand it properly to explain it, nor is it something easily explained.

Where to this time? Cambo? Penrith?

Wetherill Park, Canley Vale, Smithfield, you know the exciting parts...

Skinner

Need to take a car to the wreckers. No idea if or what paperwork needs doing. I imagine something with rego? :-k

Take the plates off and the wreckers should have the relevant paperwork that RMS need to complete everything.

Drew-Sta

Take the plates off and the wreckers should have the relevant paperwork that RMS need to complete everything.

Was just going to same the same as Skinner.

Def take the plates, or expect to get some speeding tickets sent your way.

Also, advise the RTA when you take the plates back so they can make sure the VIN numbers are viewed as not yours anymore.

Wetherill Park, Canley Vale, Smithfield, you know the exciting parts...

Illustrious parts of Sydney right there... :sarcasm:

thorson1987

Drew, The Bible is a miniseries created by Mark Burnett (the guy who created survivor) and his wife.

Being the religious type I'm sure you would enjoy it.

From all reports it is pretty much the book (old and New Testament) on video.

Rhino_NQ

Drew, The Bible is a miniseries created by Mark Burnett (the guy who created survivor) and his wife.

Being the religious type I'm sure you would enjoy it.

From all reports it is pretty much the book (old and New Testament) on video.

Haven't looked to much into the news but no burnt effigies in the streets just from the very mention of god in entertainment? (not necessarily a negative one either, just a mention). Wait that's those other spastics