Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Superthread LXVIII: Honouring Sore Losers from Queensland

afinalsin666

I'm going for Chile, because that's where i get my op juniors from in Fifa 13. And can you blame us turncoats? Way more interesting players in the Maroon.

Jason Maher

I honestly can't even remember anything about the last series we'd won before tonight.

I do know that in 2005 I was unemployed, unhappy, overweight, and not really doing much with my life. Hard to believe how much has gone down in the nine years since.

My recollections:

Game 1 (Lang Park): Queensland get out to a 19-0 lead, then NSW storm home on the back of some inspiring work from Danny Buderus, with 4 tries to get to 20-19. Thurston then kicked the arsiest field goal in history (shocker of a kick hits the shoulder of a NSW player, which deflects it just enough to squeak over the crossbar) to take it to golden point. In golden point, Brett Kimmorley throws a face ball that, had it reached it's intended target (Matt Cooper), probably sets up a runaway try. Instead, Matt Bowen runs out of the line, snags the intercept, and Brett Kimmorley is banished forever (unfairly, in my view).

Game 2 (Homebush): Andrew Johns. Anthony Minichello. Masterclass. Queensland score a couple of late tries to make it look respectable, but it was in reality a one-sided affair.

Game 3 (Lang Park): The first 10 minutes of the game is Queensland attacking our line. At one point, after about 6 sets in a row defending our own line, Anthony Minichello picks up a grubber and makes a break down field. Unfortunately he tries to run around a Queensland chaser and gets bundled into touch, putting Queensland back on the attack. New South Wales refuse to crack, however, and when we eventually get the ball, Andrew Johns simply destroys Queensland. The original big haired cult hero, Matt King, scores a hat trick.

Big Pete

Heh, nice read JM.

Here is how I remember that series...

2005 - Queensland were in firm control of that game at 19-0 but it was hardly convincing. The first try was a flukey try to Ty Williams which Slater 'kneed' forward, there were 3 penalties and one weight of possession try. NSW scored back to back tries but one of them was pretty controversial in it's own right as their appeared to be a forward pass in the build up to Fitzy eventually crossing. At 20-19, it appeared the Maroons were in for a massive choke, but were eventually able to gulp it down through the aforementioned events.

Game 2 - It was a pretty tight contest during the opening 40 minutes with a long range 'intercept' try from Slater giving the Maroons a slight edge. Start of the second half, Queensland come up with a big play to show the Blues the line, setting up a scrum deep in the Blues half but the referees come up with a dubious penalty for the Blues. NSW make the most of this reprieve and Joey continues on with his master-class performance.

Game 3 - Queensland had all the ball in the opening 20, couldn't do anything with it and that was all she wrote. Blues backs were awesome and just out-classed Queensland really. Oh and somewhere in there Kennedy took a silly dive.

Misanthrope

Game 1 (Lang Park): Queensland get out to a 19-0 lead, then NSW storm home on the back of some inspiring work from Danny Buderus, with 4 tries to get to 20-19. Thurston then kicked the arsiest field goal in history (shocker of a kick hits the shoulder of a NSW player, which deflects it just enough to squeak over the crossbar) to take it to golden point. In golden point, Brett Kimmorley throws a face ball that, had it reached it's intended target (Matt Cooper), probably sets up a runaway try. Instead, Matt Bowen runs out of the line, snags the intercept, and Brett Kimmorley is banished forever (unfairly, in my view).

I broke two knuckles punching f**k out of a wall over that. A mate of mine tackled a guy into our bath tub and tore the tap out of the wall, and the police came to answer a noise complaint.

Bloos win Origin and Spain out of the WC, who'd have thought.

Thats a double that would have paid a fortune.

Bulldog Force

Here's an interesting WC stat:

France win in 98, don't progress past the group phase next WC in 02.

Italy win in 06, don't progress past the group phase next WC in 10.

Spain win in 10, don't progess past the group phase next WC in 14.

Misanthrope

Here's an interesting WC stat:

France win in 98, don't progress past the group phase next WC in 02.

Italy win in 06, don't progress past the group phase next WC in 10.

Spain win in 10, don't progess past the group phase next WC in 14.

You'll find the champions curse goes back much farther than that. England followed up their sole World Cup win in similarly dismal fashion.

Red Bear

Wow

I'm absolutely rooted.

Spent most of yesterday studying madly. Had an exam at 6. Went straight to the bar after than to watch the footy. Drove home, kept myself awake and watched the socceroos game.

Thought the first half last night was pretty rubbish, play the ball very slow, refs letting them lie all over each other. Second half was good though, and exciting. We had a bit of good fortune with the refs I think, but Qld had that in game one, so who cares. Haynes defence was vital. Our halves were pretty terrible though.

I thought Gallen and Bird, whilst doing alot of work, weren't at their best. Maybe Gallen got MOTM for his last 8 series or whatever it is, because Hoffman was better on the night. Farah did a good job of annoying the shit out of Qld.

Nice to win again though!

Socceroos game was awesome, attacked and attacked and pressure off the ball was excellent. Although they looked dangerous as soon as they got through our midfield, our defence is dreadful.

Timmy Cahill's goal was a beauty. We didn't take our chances though, they did.

Still, whilst results are still crap couldn't have asked for better than how we've played thus far, shows a change in mentality and a great attitude. A few more class players come through and I think Ange can take them to a good level.

Misanthrope

I know dem feels, Red Bear. I wasn't busy yesterday, but between the Origin beers and the Dutch game, I was up quite late and had trouble drifting off to boot. Managed about 5 hours sleep and now I'm in classes all day.