Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Superthread XLIV - honouring Raider_69

Sick of the shoulder charge sooking.

The rule is not going anywhere, ever. The rule was not brought in because people like it. It was brought it because it is an absolute necessity of the times.

The same players whineging about it now would be the first ones lining up 20 years from now to cash in for their millions at the first sign of brain problems.

Rugby League is so much bigger than one low% stupid type of tackle.

I read the first line which confirmed that you have never played league, or that you tried it once & got smashed, cried like a baby for a week & never tried it again.

The rest of your post thus is irrelevant & completely ignored.

f**k off you softcock dickhead.

BunniesMan

There is no link between shoulder charges and brain damage you ignorant jizz breathed cum guzzler

FMD you make us all dumber with every post you make
All 16 club doctors came out in public and unanimously warned the NRL of the danger of shoulder charges. That is 16 people that know a lot more than both you and I.

That was the end of the shoulder charge forever.
Saw Adam Reynolds future as a rep player tonight. He has none...
Well done. Judging someone on their first ever rep game that also happens to be the first game of the season is so smart. I'm sure he has no chance of ever playing better than tonight. By your logic Benji has no rep future because he was awful tonight.

Benji is over rated. NZ wouldn't pick him if they had quality depth in the halves.

Joker's Wild

All 16 club doctors came out in public and unanimously warned the NRL of the danger of shoulder charges. That is 16 people that know a lot more than both you and I.

That was the end of the shoulder charge forever.

Well done. Judging someone on their first ever rep game that also happens to be the first game of the season is so smart. I'm sure he has no chance of ever playing better than tonight. By your logic Benji has no rep future because he was awful tonight.

Bullshit, the shoulder charge has had no more links to brain damage than regular tackles have

Go and watch soccer you mincing little gerble

Dragon2010

I'm not being dumb. But can someone explain the exact reason of the banning of the shoulder-charge? I remember the NRL's reason but that was the piss-weak media excuse. Was there anything else to it?

BDR

It's not justifiable IMO. The reason given is that it was unsafe due to contact with the head. Somehow it was overlooked that there is already a rule against contact with the head and there was no need to create another one.

If there is a reduction in the level of concussions this year that you can attribute to this rule I will eat my words, but I doubt it will happen.

Didgi

Yep. Can't wait for the WCC.

Although I saw a bit of the Wigan v Warrington game today.

Didgi might know, have the ESL stopped using steeden balls.

And why did one of the Wigan players not have a number on his jersey.

I think they've changed to some local pommy company, as an extended sponsorship thing along with a few of the clubs. I remember reading about it somewhere.

Black footy boots > coloured football boots.

Incorrect. Coloured footy boots are far easier to sell.

The halfback (forget his name, Matty someone?) copped a nasty cut and bled his way through the two number 7 shirts. Had to wear a blank for the rest of the game. Pretty sure they are still using Steedens, the pre-game montage featured it prominently. Might have been footage from last season though.

Terrific game btw, I follow Warrington, and the derby vs Wigan is always a great game.

Didn't watch the game, was catching up on much needed sleep, but the Wigan halfback would be Matty Smith. On that note, how do you reckon he went? I don't rate him that highly, though many do. Personally I see a wave of young halves with more natural talent than him coming through.

Can't justify getting up at 4am to watch Wakefield and the Robins either, though now I've got a taste of footy I'm a lot more into it.

BDR

Didn't watch the game, was catching up on much needed sleep, but the Wigan halfback would be Matty Smith. On that note, how do you reckon he went? I don't rate him that highly, though many do. Personally I see a wave of young halves with more natural talent than him coming through.

Can't justify getting up at 4am to watch Wakefield and the Robins either, though now I've got a taste of footy I'm a lot more into it.

Yeah he didn't go too bad, wasn't outstanding (Wigan looked lost at times IMO) but wasn't glaringly bad. Kicked a decent field goal late in the game, that was his major contribution.

Jason Maher

If someone can show me footage of Trevor Gillmeister laying a shoulder charge, I might begin to give a toss about the rule change. As far as I'm concerned, shoulder charges are for players who can't tackle.

thorson1987

The halfback (forget his name, Matty someone?) copped a nasty cut and bled his way through the two number 7 shirts. Had to wear a blank for the rest of the game. Pretty sure they are still using Steedens, the pre-game montage featured it prominently. Might have been footage from last season though.

Terrific game btw, I follow Warrington, and the derby vs Wigan is always a great game.

Cheers mate. Well that explains tha bandages around his head aswell. That didn't even occur to me.