Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sydney Crowds

LeagueXIII

Interesting stat regarding crowds in Sydney this year:

Day games in Sydney (Sunday):

Played - 15

Total crowds - 280,006

Average - 18,667

Night games in Sydney (Friday, Saturday, Monday):

Played - 45

Total crowds - 595,855

Average - 13,241

Ausguy

no suprise there... many reasons why it is, however th emain ones being Fox and the weather. Not to mention $$$

LeagueXIII

This just reinforces where our "leaders" should be directing our game, that is, pushing towards 20 clubs that will have a positive affect on TV time slots such as a second NZ team, another Qld club and Perth this would take away the need for Sydney clubs to play at night, thus they are playing to their strengths and what their market wants. By all means beam Sydney club games against Perth, Brisbane etc as the away game into Sydney but not vice versa.

Work towards having the split in Sydney as 43/17 in favour of night games (as it currently is) towrds a split of 17/43 in favour of day matches.

STG-MACCA

I'd like to see them trial a twilight Sunday game, 1st game live on Fox @ 2pm (or 2.30pm) then 2nd game live on FTA @ 4pm (or 4.30pm)

Scrap 5.30pm sat game.

For the lounge chair fan Sunday would awesome:

10.30am - Footy Show
11.30am - The Roast
12.30pm - Fox pre game show inc U/20's
2.00pm - NRL game live
4.00pm - NRL game live on FTA

DINGb@T

This would more reflect the teams that play on Sundays. The Roosters, Sharks, etc rarely get Sunday games because Channel 9 arent interested in showing these teams so they end up playing Saturday, Monday, etc. Break the games down into the individual days as well as the number of Sunday games played in Sydney. I think you'll find that taking out Mondays will square up the numbers a bit and then seeing the teams that play on Sunday will show that only the best crowd drawing teams are being shown on Sundays.

Dogs Of War

Id move monday to 3pm saturday....

I love listening to Monday night football. And I know most of my mates do to.

It's one of those matches that you know you will watch/listen to, because you have got home from work, and have nothing better to do.

STG-MACCA

forgot the Sat night game that has moved to Sunday Twilight

So 3rd Sunday game is back on FOX with kickoff at 6pm

Dogs Of War

forgot the Sat night game that has moved to Sunday Twilight

So 3rd Sunday game is back on FOX with kickoff at 6pm

Just have 2 games at 2pm. And you can select which one you watch on Foxtel like Saturday nights. With a replay at 6pm of both if you want to watch the other one. Though Channel 9 would have to play ball with the 3rd match at 4pm and not reveal the scores.

Ausguy

I love listening to Monday night football. And I know most of my mates do to.

It's one of those matches that you know you will watch/listen to, because you have got home from work, and have nothing better to do.

yeah DOW i know what your saying im the same, however i love going to games and i hate seeing my team scheduled on mondays. Plus the turn around for some teams isnt great, just ask the Titans next Friday....

STG-MACCA

Just have 2 games at 2pm. And you can select which one you watch on Foxtel like Saturday nights. With a replay at 6pm of both if you want to watch the other one. Though Channel 9 would have to play ball with the 3rd match at 4pm and not reveal the scores.

Yeah either way, I'd still be happy.

I love Monday night format on FOX, great way to present a game with pre game show, game, then wrap up - still don't like many of the personalities, but I watch with interest each week.

The premier league has a great format, with 4, 5 or 6 games all kicking off simultaneously, and they are day games.

LeagueXIII

25% of Sydney games are during the day. The league should be at least attempting or heaven forbid planning to address the balance, at least 65-70% day matches in Sydney.

LeagueXIII

This would more reflect the teams that play on Sundays. The Roosters, Sharks, etc rarely get Sunday games because Channel 9 arent interested in showing these teams so they end up playing Saturday, Monday, etc. Break the games down into the individual days as well as the number of Sunday games played in Sydney. I think you'll find that taking out Mondays will square up the numbers a bit and then seeing the teams that play on Sunday will show that only the best crowd drawing teams are being shown on Sundays.

Grounds of Sydney day games:

4 - Brookvale

3 - ANZ

2 - SFS

1 - Kogarah

1 - Cronulla

1 - Penrith

1 - SCG

1 - Parramatta

1 - Campbelltown

10 matches involving all Sydney clubs and 5 with an out of town team.
67% of Sunday games are all Sydney matches.

Of the night games, 29 involve all Sydney clubs and 16 an out of town team.
65% of night games are all Sydney matches.

stormtragic

anz stadium for regular season games should only be for sunday afternoon

they never get crowds at night..saturday nightis always terrible for crowds there

1 Eyed TEZZA

Id like to see another Sunday afternoon game. Both at 3pm Kickoff, 4pm on Nine. One game (the NSW game presumably) to be beamed into NSW on 9 at 4. The other to be beamed into Qld at 4pm on 9. Like this

4pm - Nine - NSW - Eels vs Sea Eagles
4pm - Nine - Qld - Titans vs Cowboys
6pm - FOX - NSW - Titans vs Cowboys (replay)
6pm - FOX - Qld - Eels vs Sea Eagles (replay)

For interstate areas, if their respective team isnt playing, they should get the game of higher ranking teams or you could even split them. Victoria and Tassie have one game, WA, NT and SA get the other.

When the Storm or Reds (assuming) are playing, those teams respective states get shown their game. (for obvious reasons). Like this;

4pm - Nine - NSW/Victoria - Storm vs Knights
4pm - Nine - Qld/WA - Reds vs Titans
6pm - FOX - NSW/Victoria - Reds vs Titans (replay)
6pm - FOX - Qld/WA - Storm vs Knights (replay)

Id like to see another Sunday afternoon game. Both at 3pm Kickoff, 4pm on Nine. One game (the NSW game presumably) to be beamed into NSW on 9 at 4. The other to be beamed into Qld at 4pm on 9. Like this

4pm - Nine - NSW - Eels vs Sea Eagles
4pm - Nine - Qld - Titans vs Cowboys
6pm - FOX - NSW - Titans vs Cowboys (replay)
6pm - FOX - Qld - Eels vs Sea Eagles (replay)

For interstate areas, if their respective team isnt playing, they should get the game of higher ranking teams or you could even split them. Victoria and Tassie have one game, WA, NT and SA get the other.

When the Storm or Reds (assuming) are playing, those teams respective states get shown their game. (for obvious reasons). Like this;

4pm - Nine - NSW/Victoria - Storm vs Knights
4pm - Nine - Qld/WA - Reds vs Titans
6pm - FOX - NSW/Victoria - Reds vs Titans (replay)
6pm - FOX - Qld/WA - Storm vs Knights (replay)

i didnt read it, its probably your usual high standard

but i would think the fox guys would be cringing

Interesting stat regarding crowds in Sydney this year:

Day games in Sydney (Sunday):

Played - 15

Total crowds - 280,006

Average - 18,667
:D
Night games in Sydney (Friday, Saturday, Monday):

Played - 45

Total crowds - 595,855

Average - 13,241
:?

To be honest the only game I would move is the 5:30pm Saturday game, to Sunday afternoon.
:thumn
Id move monday to 3pm saturday....
or to Sunday arvo as well :thumn

Sunday arvo footy - multiple games on at once - is where it always was and should be at.