Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Tallis appointed as News Ltd rep on NRL board

Ghoulies

Southernsaint said:
Misty Bee said:
Comparing Tallis to Richard Branson :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Tallis would lose a game of mastermind to Sam Backo!

:lol: :lol: :lol:

puppet.jpg

That doesn't look like Rupert...

DIEHARD

----
If I was out there and some idiot had a sign saying my mum was a rig, I would consider it pig. The intention is still the same. Rig or pig, the intention is obvious.

His mother was on the Footy Show a few weeks earlier and some heartless idiots though it would be funny.

I would have done exactly what Tallis did. Go Tallis! This is Australia don't take any bullshit! Stick up for yourself and your family!

Chook

No one can argue that Tallis doesn't have a burning passion for our game, and a burning passion is something that is needed on our board of directors if our game is to progress. For far too many years our governing board has made decisions based on what is good for profit, not necessarily what is good for the game. A passion for the game should go a long way to reversing that trend.

I don't think Gordie would have taken the job had it come with a "you'll do as we say" clause from Ho's Limited, I just can't see Tallis accepting that.

Personally I think Gordie being a part of the board is a good thing and I'm hoping to see many a good decision come from it. Time will tell.

Chook.

taipan

Generalissimo Stalin said:
taipan said:
Generalissimo Stalin said:
A basically educated ex footballer on a board of mangement as the news rep - obviously the board has little power in the running of the game in that case with the game solely managed from new york.

What a load of c..p Richard Branson,Gerry Harvey as examples had a basic education,but knew their ability ie promotion /selling.Tallis knows the needs of players ,what the fan feels and is more in tune with the grassroots of rugby league than the other members of the board. He is not there to give financial advice but offer his honest opion on matters of eg a 16th team/.player burnout/ junior development/expansion.Its a little thing called commonsense coupled with experience in the sport on which the board he operates from.
A good move IMO.The TV deals in oz,the radio deals in oz,the sponsorship deals in oz,the decision on number of teams in Oz,are decided by the NRL board not by New York.
The main concern of New York/News Ltd is that they get the usual financial reports as to the game making money,and repaying the debt of the SL years,which it is clearly doing.

tallis equal to richard branson and or gerry harvey - :roll:

Do you mean news ltd is paying the debt of the sl years?? - they are taking millions out of the game to pay for they say the debt they incurred as a result of super league.

Fittlers got more business sense that tallis and if you were to put a footballer on a board you would put him on it - his latest business venture is the resort/estate on the central coast which he is a third partner in with ricky stuart and the bloke from wizard home loans.

I would rather see Ron Coote on the board to replace the other ex Rooster John Brass

geez where did I say he was the equal of Branson(please read carefully my post ditto Misty Bee) ,I said Tallis plainly had a basic education ike those 2 guys,thats all.branson statred off with a record stre,he was financed,Gerry Harvey started off by driving 2nd hand frigs around in a ute flogging them.
The NRL is repaying the debt over the SL debacle as part of the joining together deal.I dont like it as much as the next person,but it happened.Once the debt is repaid the NRL will have even moremoney to slosh around.
Fittler :D good on him,mate I know blokes in property development that can barely string a sentence together,they have the money,they get accountants to do the dealings,they sub contract out to tradesmen with the assistance of people in the building industry. Fittler has the assistance of the bloke from Wizard Bouris BTW,so Fittler aint doing it on his own.
Agree there are many outside who would be better qualified,and they may have been asked and knocked it back.Do you know ? I doubt it.
There are housewives who have appeared on TV making millions getting into property development,by borrowing and buying /renting etc.
Money makes money and you dont have to be a brain surgeon judging by some who have made it.
I would like to see a Mark Coyne,or a Brian Johnston however appears the board wanted someone like Tallis who is well known in Qld.
Did it occur to you that Tallis played for a team part owned by News Ltd,and they would have a fair idea of his capabilities off the field.With his charity,and development work as an example.
All this SL/News is over, the game is trying to rebuild .If they put Santa Clauss on the board ,you make out he was the axe murderer.

taipan said:
All this SL/News is over, the game is trying to rebuild .If they put Santa Clauss on the board ,you make out he was the axe murderer.

it is a shame some people cant let go what happened some 10 yrs ago.

Misty Bee

If I was out there and some idiot had a sign saying my mum was a rig, I would consider it pig. The intention is still the same. Rig or pig, the intention is obvious.

I'm not condoning the banner at all. IMHO, it was probably the second most offensive thnig that happened that night. Behind Gordon's utterly moronic behaviour.

Would you wait 2 hours to defend your mum and family? Shows Tallis true mentality. As I said before, that could have been handled a HELL of a lot better. He chose the worst of many, many options. And because of it, every RL fan in the world has heard that insult about Tallis' mum. Tallis gave that insult voice. That's neither smart, brave, or Australian.

BTW, if 'rig' and 'pig' are the same, next time I lob into my local truck dealer I wonder weather I'll wind up with a 5 year lease on a ham sandwich.

Re Fittler, I know he's not the next Rhodes scholar, but if he's in bed with people of better business acumen, who are looking after him, then that's a pretty good business achievement. Plenty of explayers have pissed a lot of good $ up against the wall because of poor business skills. I know of 2 immortals that, sadly, have experienced that.

But the claims made about Tallis are rediculous. Tallis, who would stand up for what is right in Rugby League, when he couldn't even under contract! Tallis is a NEWS puppet -end of story.

As was said on another thread on this matter - was he interviewed for the position? Was it advertised? Who did he beat for the job? (Unless the applicants were John Elias, Darrell Trindall and John Hopoate). Hell, even Wayne Bennet reckon's he's thick!!!

If Gordon Tallis represents the most intelligent option out of the pool of ex-players to entrist the future of our game upon, then the game has no future.

Southernsaint

DIEHARD said:

His mother was on the Footy Show a few weeks earlier and some heartless idiots though it would be funny.

I would have done exactly what Tallis did. Go Tallis! This is Australia don't take any bullsh*t! Stick up for yourself and your family!

Pig = Rig?? Comprehension ain't a stong suit in Cane-Toad-Land is it??

Did Gordie's Mum tell him anything 'bout honouring written contracts??

:lol: :lol: :lol:

Grantwhy

Southernsaint said:

I remember seeing a picture of that sign at the time.

Very neat lettering (in NSW Blue I believe).

Well, all except the "\" on the "R" in "Rig". That looked like it was done in quite a rush, and a slightly different shade of blue as well.

;-)

Southernsaint

Grantwhy said:
Southernsaint said:

Well, all except the "\" on the "R" in "Rig". That looked like it was done in quite a rush, and a slightly different shade of blue as well.

;-)

'Tis your Queensland opinion. Unfortunately ( :lol: ) we'll never know. Just like who shot JFK, the Bermuda Triangle & the dissapearance of Harold Holt, it will remain one of life's mysteries.

Call Mulder & Scully :lol:

Misty Bee

Of course, Grantwhy. Everyone who has ever taken a banner to the footy knows to take a can of paint so you can change it while you are there, just in case you upset someone. :roll:

DIEHARD

----
Grantwhy said:
Southernsaint said:

;-)

Exactly.

Moggles

1. Gordan Tallis will be part of the NRL board - Get over it.

2. The ARL/Super League war is over and has been for near on ten years.. Please get over that as well.

3. Wether the sign said Rig or Pig and Gordies reaction to it has no baring on how worthy he is of being on the NRL board. Needless to say I am pretty sure the atmosphere of playing in a State of Origin game and sitting in a board room are completely different.

Moggles said:

2. The ARL/Super League war is over and has been for near on ten years.. Please get over that as well.

3. Wether the sign said Rig or Pig and Gordies reaction to it has no baring on how worthy he is of being on the NRL board. Needless to say I am pretty sure the atmosphere of playing in a State of Origin game and sitting in a board room are completely different.

well said.
Cant wait for the season to start, off season topics have been like being at the dentist and having your molars pulled out.

Misty Bee

Hmmm, I wonder why we have discussion boards......?

Relevence? The Boxer rebellion finished around a century ago - and I'm sure we all have gotten over that. Please stick to the topic.

Beg to differ. It was a big insight in to how he reacts under pressure. The response certainly wasn't a thought out response, something that's definitely required in the corporate world. Hot heads acting crudely is not what we need in the NRL engine room.

Mark Latham was dogged politically because of an incident in a cab which, like the Tallis incident, most people could also have done in the heat of the moment. sadly, most people don't get to appear in front of millions on TV as part of your occupation, as our sportsmen and politicians do. Conduct is everything. Brad Fittler sleeping a heavy night of grog off in front of a cop shop - front page news. Mark Gasnier phoning a chick for a sexual offer - front page news. Gordie and Wendall involved in a spitting incident at a nightclub - front page news.

Most of these incidents are repeated by Joe Average on a daily basis without problem. Those with high public profiles have to take extra care, because that is what is demanded. On many occasions, Tallis failed that. The point? Not all fail, and wind up with tainted careers like Tallis.

Tallis offers nothing to the position, except a very strong relationship with News boffins. And if for a moment those boffins thought Tallis would, (or could) think and act independently of News Ltd directives, he would not have been hired.