Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Tasmanian Rugby League

elbusto

An operations manager was appointed a few months ago, a local from cricket Tasmania I think, but it's very much a touch football job first, NRL second.
Mate I have been saying this for months.

The simple fact is that those in NRL House could not give a stuff about the game here and it is now dead.

Reports are that the Club Presidents have all resigned, the refs have had enough and the game is gone.

There is nothing to save. So the ops manager whoever that was and whatever she/he intended to do is now a non entity as far as contact football is concerned down here.

The players I have been speaking to are now committed to Union.

It will take years for the so called 'Affiliated States' management to rebuild the game as their names are mud.

And as for the VRL. Don't get me started.

The Affiliated States management desperately needs an overhaul.

insert.pause

Mate I have been saying this for months.

The simple fact is that the lard asses in NRL House could not give a stuff about the game here and it is now dead.

Reports are that the Club Presidents have all resigned, the refs have had enough and the game is gone.

There is nothing to save. So the ops manager whoever that was and whatever she/he intended to do is now a non entity as far as contact football is concerned down here.

The players I have been speaking to are now committed to Union.

It will take years for the so called 'Affiliated States' management to rebuild the game as their names are mud.

And as for the VRL. Don't get me started.

The Affiliated States management desperately needs an overhaul.

Did you ever read the job description for the state op manager? It was over three pages long, no one person could possibly be responsible for all of it. The NRL are content to hand over all responsibility to Touch in Tasmania because the sad truth of it is Tasmania is just not of value to them or is least valued.

Agree, the affiliated States management needs a leadership overhaul, the same guy has been in the job for over a decade with little progress made in that time, not sure how he has held on for so long tbh. I remember a few years ago he publicly praised the NTRL just before the ARL had to bail them out for a quarter of a million in debt.

The VRL care about the VRL.

elbusto

Did you ever read the job description for the state op manager? It was over three pages long, no one person could possibly be responsible for all of it. The NRL are content to hand over all responsibility to Touch in Tasmania because the sad truth of it is Tasmania is just not of value to them or is least valued.

Agree, the affiliated States management needs a leadership overhaul, the same guy has been in the job for over a decade with little progress made in that time, not sure how he has held on for so long tbh. I remember a few years ago he publicly praised the NTRL just before the ARL had to bail them out for a quarter of a million in debt.

The VRL care about the VRL.

You know a lot more than I thought. And you are spot on about certain individuals.

insert.pause

I was surprised the bloke was still there after the commission announced the new development structure a couple of years ago, if the game gets serious about expansion this year there's likely going to be a consultant shadowing him for a while.

elbusto

I was surprised the bloke was still there after the commission announced the new development structure a couple of years ago, if the game gets serious about expansion this year there's likely going to be a consultant shadowing him for a while.
Would not take too long if you ask me. As you probably know I know a lot about what has happened in the Affiliated States. It was extraordinarily frustrating. It was like talking to a wall.

Zigwaa

Feel for you Elbusto.

The game management is poor here in SA but nowhere near the depths of ineptitude you've descibed of Tassie.

They are trying to get a female tackle comp started here, seems obsurd when the Men's and junior comps struggle for numbers and support.

In some good news however, they've started a regular 9's competition in Mount Gambier over summer which has 4 or so teams.

elbusto

Feel for you Elbusto.

The game management is poor here in SA but nowhere near the depths of ineptitude you've descibed of Tassie.

They are trying to get a female tackle comp started here, seems obsurd when the Men's and junior comps struggle for numbers and support.

In some good news however, they've started a regular 9's competition in Mount Gambier over summer which has 4 or so teams.
Those involved in SA management are fine. Its the budget that is the killer.

Meanwhile here in Tassie, I have been contacted by a number of people who are very upset about what has happened to the game down here.

It is pretty obvious Tassie football was horse traded so that Touch got the money for the game manager.

That in itself is not a bad thing. The real problem is the lack of vision shown by those who should know better about how the local comp could have been saved.

As I said, it was like talking to a wall. I got sick of people ringing me and complaining as they all knew what needed to be done but were ignored by the so called administrators located elsewhere.

And I do not understand the games lack of real commitment to States like mine compared with AFLs commitment to QLD and NSW. You cannot win a war fighting in your own territory.

Smith needs to hold a wholesale review of the game in the so called Affiliated States where those who know what needs to be done are given the freedom to explain what has gone wrong without fear of retribution.

elbusto

Just an update - no games last weekend.

A forfeit and one team has disappeared.

This week the authorities have decided a meaningless game between two teams at either end of the state has to happen despite the fact it has no impact on the final outcome of the ladder (three teams).

My advice is that will be a forfeit.

So leading into the finals series one game would have been played since xmas if the forfeit eventuates this weekend.

Happy days!

taipan

Just an update - no games last weekend.

A forfeit and one team has disappeared.

This week the authorities have decided a meaningless game between two teams at either end of the state has to happen despite the fact it has no impact on the final outcome of the ladder (three teams).

My advice is that will be a forfeit.

So leading into the finals series one game would have been played since xmas if the forfeit eventuates this weekend.

Happy days!

Mate.The first thing I would be doing early Feb is firing off an e-mail to Shane Richardson the new head of game strategy and development(that means expansion).If you can't get some decent response from him,then we are in deep sh*t.

insert.pause

Mate.The first thing I would be doing early Feb is firing off an e-mail to Shane Richardson the new head of game strategy and development(that means expansion).If you can't get some decent response from him,then we are in deep sh*t.

he doesn't start until march.

papabear

Those involved in SA management are fine. Its the budget that is the killer.

Meanwhile here in Tassie, I have been contacted by a number of people who are very upset about what has happened to the game down here.

It is pretty obvious Tassie football was horse traded so that Touch got the money for the game manager.

That in itself is not a bad thing. The real problem is the lack of vision shown by those who should know better about how the local comp could have been saved.

As I said, it was like talking to a wall. I got sick of people ringing me and complaining as they all knew what needed to be done but were ignored by the so called administrators located elsewhere.

And I do not understand the games lack of real commitment to States like mine compared with AFLs commitment to QLD and NSW. You cannot win a war fighting in your own territory.

Smith needs to hold a wholesale review of the game in the so called Affiliated States where those who know what needs to be done are given the freedom to explain what has gone wrong without fear of retribution.

I am sure you do understand.

I am not sure that is your best argument. That said I do hope things turn around down there because it is sad that kids don't appear to have much option to play rugby league down there.

elbusto

Last weekend - another forfeit. Another Club folded so I hear. Two left - one trained tonight and the other did not - or at least was not at the ground where they train usually.

Logically there should be a grand final (for what it is worth) next weekend. Nobody I speak to has any idea what is happening though.

How a State League can fall over like this is beyond me.

Actually it isn't as I predicted this months ago.

The damage done to the game down here is immeasurable as nobody will take it seriously again for some years.

I might be wrong but I haven't been too far off the mark so far.

One game played in three weeks since xmas and two Clubs have folded.

elbusto

By the way if Richardson came down to Tassie he would be lucky to see more than 5 people who still care enough to say hello to. It is not us he needs to talk to. He needs to talk to those who allowed it to happen and tell them to talk straight and forget the spin.

elbusto

Hobart Tigers Rugby League Football Club

6 mins · https://www.facebook.com/HobartTigersRL#
Evening Tigers and League Supporters
Although it has not been made official, you all deserve as early notification as possible that the current season has come prematurely to a close. As things currently sit with clubs the competition is simply no longer viable.
As a founding member of both the League and Tigers it is with great disappointment and sadness that I bring you this news. Further information will be officially provided by the current League administration, however ...the competition this year simple cannot go on.
Attention may now be put towards a potential season next year, but before this occurs let's reflect on what has made Tigers the premier league club in Tasmania over the last 5.5 seasons:
- Minor Premiers 3 years
- Grand Finalists 4 years
- Premiers 3 years
- Undefeated this season
- The only remaining founding club of the Tasmanian Rugby League
Let us remember this record has not just happened but has been built on:
- The hard work (and cash) of a small band of dedicated volunteers
- A core group of dedicated and sensational players
I'd like to take this opportunity to personally thank all those that have made this club what it is today and for everyone's efforts. In particular:
- Justin Kearney and Colin Fielea who as founding members of this club have put in years of dedication and work
- Our coaching staff over the years, Colin Fielea, Mick Hunt and Sunia Mafuu
- Our committee and volunteers, with a special mention to the Frosts (Lorraine and Michael) and Michelle Bonner who are there thanklessly week in and out
- Finally to the players that have been there from the start and have made this club what it is today. I have not had the privilege to have played with such a high quality of individuals (true rugby gentlemen) anywhere else. You men are the hart and soul.
Before we sign off we will be holding a massive end of season function. More information on this will follow.
Again thank you all for everything and I hope this is not the last you see of the Mighty Hobart Tigers.
Yours in Rugby
Jeff (Shaft) Altmann
President
Hobart Tigers

https://www.facebook.com/HobartTigersRL

elbusto

That is my Club. Created by pure bloody hard work, personal investment of cash, and endless hours of work. A brilliant Club that played hard but entertaining footy and was successful because we were determined to build a Rugby League Club that set the standard of fitness, toughness, bone rattling defence and sparkling attack.
And we did all of this through adversity.

I apologise if I have been too negative in these posts but to watch it all go down the drain has been dreadful.

I walked away before this season in disgust.

Opportunity after opportunity has been lost through the lack of care of those who should know better.

Absolutely love the guys involved locally. But once it became clear we were not being treated seriously there was no way I was going to waste any more time with it.

As an aside, I was speaking to a Club Captain about the situation locally and he advised me that the a certain local official was not aware of the various contact versions of the game of League for kids. Thought it was touch football. Interesting times ahead. :)

magpie4ever

That is my Club. Created by pure bloody hard work, personal investment of cash, and endless hours of work. A brilliant Club that played hard but entertaining footy and was successful because we were determined to build a Rugby League Club that set the standard of fitness, toughness, bone rattling defence and sparkling attack.
And we did all of this through adversity.

I apologise if I have been too negative in these posts but to watch it all go down the drain has been dreadful.

I walked away before this season in disgust.

Opportunity after opportunity has been lost through the lack of care of those who should know better.

Absolutely love the guys involved locally. But once it became clear we were not being treated seriously there was no way I was going to waste any more time with it.

As an aside, I was speaking to a Club Captain about the situation locally and he advised me that the a certain local official was not aware of the various contact versions of the game of League for kids. Thought it was touch football. Interesting times ahead. :)

Bloody shame, all the best mate.

elbusto