Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

News Taylan May assault charge

some11

Wow turns out the Mays are massive pieces of shit.

Shocking! why penrith fans keep carrying water for them is beyond me.

betcats

Oh but he could’ve hit his head! Oh it was a cowardly unprovoked attack from behind! Won’t somebody protect the children! Lol all the what ifs and other attempts to make this out to be serious fall flat on anyone who isn’t a bleeding heart LU poster with a hard on for the panthers. He pulled a guy to the ground, judge gave him a stern talking to and a slap on the wrist which is a fair punishment for a very minor incident. Having him miss finals games for that would’ve been a complete joke.

some11

"In proposing the timing of the match suspension, the NRL considered a number of factors including when the incident took place, the date at which the proceedings were finalised and the impact of a match suspension at this time of year."

What. The. Actual. ****.
Cannot be suspended, because reasons

Get in the bin abdo.

myrrh ken

Oh but he could’ve hit his head! Oh it was a cowardly unprovoked attack from behind! Won’t somebody protect the children! Lol all the what ifs and other attempts to make this out to be serious fall flat on anyone who isn’t a bleeding heart LU poster with a hard on for the panthers. He pulled a guy to the ground, judge gave him a stern talking to and a slap on the wrist which is a fair punishment for a very minor incident. Having him miss finals games for that would’ve been a complete joke.

Oh fiddle dee dee? Not a FINALS game for the Precious Panthers! Quelle horror. Whatever shall we do? Better get another leg up from the NRL

Didn't happen on the field. I'm a bit puzzled in why he will be suspended if there was no conviction.

Just hope that whoever wins this year's GF, celebrate in a private function room.

Nor did a number of things players have been fined and/or suspended for such as:

- Mitchell Pearce for his actions with the dog;
- James Tedesco's comments at a pub about squid games;
- The Bulldogs infamous Mad Monday celebrations.

At the very least you could argue he brought the game in to disrepute by his actions, which is what was applied to all of the above incidents (let alone many others). None of them had suspensions which started after they then got to play a few more games, or fines they could pay months later - they were immediate.

The postponement of the suspension just sucks; I can’t for the life of me understand what the NRL is doing (particularly considering this has been on their radar for almost a year). If they had of come out straight away last week when the decision came down and given him two weeks, Penrith fans would have grumbled he is missing a final while all other fans would have grumbled he was missing a game he had already not been selected for. And everyone would have been equally unhappy; which seems to be the level of the NRL’s ambition.

I dare say its the postponement of the suspension that is what many people have an issue with. The NRL could not hand out any punishment until after his court case had concluded as it could be seen as being prejudicial to his case. I mentioned a few prior example where player were judged of doing incorrect things off field yet they didn't get a delayed commencement of that sentence like May has. Sorry but it makes no sense at all.

I wonder if it had been say a Roosters player, or a Storm player (for example) who wound up with this type of a delayed suspension until after the finals if you'd be so sanguine about it?

Iamback

I dare say its the postponement of the suspension that is what many people have an issue with. The NRL could not hand out any punishment until after his court case had concluded as it could be seen as being prejudicial to his case. I mentioned a few prior example where player were judged of doing incorrect things off field yet they didn't get a delayed commencement of that sentence like May has. Sorry but it makes no sense at all.

I wonder if it had been say a Roosters player, or a Storm player (for example) who wound up with this type of a delayed suspension until after the finals if you'd be so sanguine about it?

I would be fine with it.

We can talk about What if's but the court case was put on hold due to covid, then brought forward

With no Conviction recorded the argument could be made that shouldn't be a suspension, As his lawyer has already claimed, Do you want that being played out on the eve of the finals?

myrrh ken

With no Conviction recorded the argument could be made that shouldn't be a suspension, As his lawyer has already claimed, Do you want that being played out on the eve of the finals?

Yes. The fact that its the eve of the finals should not matter, that's just luck.

Give him 2 weeks if they think finals games are worth the same. Or 1 week off if they think finals are worth double. Or no weeks if they don't think it warrants anything.

This decision just reflects the fact that they think footy is more important than being a merkin in society.

I can only assume that the judge has information we aren't privy to to record no conviction. It wasn't a great look on the video and if he had copped a sanction I wouldn't have a problem with it. From what we do know the pudgy f**ker that got collared was being an A grade wanker. Play stupid games, get stupid prizes. It was a dumb thing for Taylan to do, but imo hardly the crime of the century. He is lucky that old mate didn't crack his head on the floor and cop a serious injury, but he didn't so you can't punish someone for what might have happened.

The NRL have f**ked things up the way they have handled it, but does anyone seriously expect them not to?
Not necessarily

Judges can choose not to record a conviction purely because it is a first offence and/or they feel a criminal conviction would have an adverse effect on the person going forward. It happens all the time with low range DUI cases.

The issue here is the fact that the NRL have deemed a punishment is warranted but have delayed it until 2023 so as to not have an adverse effect on the Panthers finals chances which is absolutely ridiculous.

How this was given the tick of approval at the NRL is beyond me. They could have just not punished him or given him 1 week and no one would have cared.

soc123_au

Nor did a number of things players have been fined and/or suspended for such as:

At the very least you could argue he brought the game in to disrepute by his actions, which is what was applied to all of the above incidents (let alone many others). None of them had suspensions which started after they then got to play a few more games, or fines they could pay months later - they were immediate.
Remind me again how many weeks Teddy got for his racial vilification. Before you mention the fine, Taylan got one too, I'd wager that based on earnings Taylan has copped more than Teddy did. When you consider fans have been given life bans for racial shit using Teddy as an example isn't the best idea in this case.

What happened to those blokes that went to a BBQ last year?

Remind me again how many weeks Teddy got for his racial vilification. Before you mention the fine, Taylan got one too, I'd wager that based on earnings Taylan has copped more than Teddy did. When you consider fans have been given life bans for racial shit using Teddy as an example isn't the best idea in this case.

Good to see you can't read as I said before citing those example -

"Nor did a number of things players have been fined and/or suspended for such as:"

Hence the remainder of your comments about Tedesco are a non-sequitur.

soc123_au

Not necessarily

Judges can choose not to record a conviction purely because it is a first offence and/or they feel a criminal conviction would have an adverse effect on the person going forward. It happens all the time with low range DUI cases.

The issue here is the fact that the NRL have deemed a punishment is warranted but have delayed it until 2023 so as to not have an adverse effect on the Panthers finals chances which is absolutely ridiculous.

How this was given the tick of approval at the NRL is beyond me. They could have just not punished him or given him 1 week and no one would have cared.
Fair enough on the not recording a conviction part. I figured it must mean that the judge didn't consider it particularly serious.

I agree with all your other points, it's peak stupidity from the NRL. Sadly that is the norm more often than not, this level of stupid isn't a new thing or is it something that has been designed to benefit Penrith. (I know most don't have an issue with Taylan or Penrith, but some of the mouth breathers are buying into to conspiracy theories)