Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Team list Tuesday- Week 3: Grand Final Qualifier - Parra v Cowboys discussion thread

Perhaps. You have to earn the right and overcome adversity.

Personally, I hope you guys win. I think it would be great for the game generally for the Eels to get there, even if perhaps we dont. Despite the rivalry I have nothing against your side.
Thanks. I hope we win too.

King-Gutho94

Personally, I hope you guys win. I think it would be great for the game generally for the Eels to get there, even if perhaps we dont. Despite the rivalry I have nothing against your side.
Yeah it will be more hostile then a origin game I feel with the crowd full of 95% feral Queenslanders full of 4 X-Gold or Great northern wanting blue and gold blood.

The NRL won't admit it pubically but I am sure there dream GF is Penrith and Parra.

Similar to a decade ago when the Roosters and Souths were in Top 2 for a few years the NRL hoped it would have gone that way but it didn't.

Interesting stats (happy to be corrected)

we have 2 games of experience of being in a GF qualifier - Paulo / Matterson

Cowboys have 11 games experience:

Mcclean (2), JT (3), Feldt (3) Townsend, Holmes and Hess
They have a lot of origin experience as well.

Riccio thinks we don’t have any superstars so we shouldn’t be expected to go deep in finals. Clown comment.

Does Penrith? They have a side of many great players. On their day Lane,Jnr,Moses,DBrown could all be considered stars.
Even Sivo's form would have to be considered.

84 Baby

Wife and I went to Townsville for our Round 25 game against the Cowboys. We booked our trip at the start of the season so had no idea how the season would unfold, as things turned out we played a weakened side and we’re resoundingly beaten to be expected.

The conditions around weather will not be a factor, perfect for both sides. Your biggest enemy will be the waiting around with not much to do other than wait after your arrival sometime Thursday. Even more daunting will be a very vocal and raucous home crowd, so you ain’t gonna get too many 50-50 calls, quite the opposite. Having experienced the atmosphere I suspect you will finish behind on the penalty count and six again calls, just the way it may be. Not being a prophet of doom just pointing out what you come up against.

Good luck, all the best, I would love a battle of west for the GF but you are going to have to get there the hard way.
If we make the GF, I’ll definitely be going hard every way

Kilkenny

If we make the GF, I’ll definitely be going hard every way
My wife and I stayed at the Mercure, Townsville, I assume the NRL May have a contractual arrangement with the Accor Group so perhaps your team may be staying there as well. The Panthers were staying there and while the facilities are fine, accomodation more than adequate, I suggest a lot of nervous energy is expended doing largely nothing. You can only get so many massages or play so much pool or table tennis in your little bubbLe function room.

King-Gutho94

NRL's dream grand final is always Melb v Roosters
Funny that it's the only grand final matchup I have not given 2 hoots about in 23 years of watching of Rugby league.

In fact in 2018 I fell asleep 2 hours before the game after a big night out the previous night.

And only woke up with 15 mins to go in the match. I certainly wasn't fussed in missing it.

84 Baby

My wife and I stayed at the Mercure, Townsville, I assume the NRL May have a contractual arrangement with the Accor Group so perhaps your team may be staying there as well. The Panthers were staying there and while the facilities are fine, accomodation more than adequate, I suggest a lot of nervous energy is expended doing largely nothing. You can only get so many massages or play so much pool or table tennis in your little bubbLe function room.
I’m sorry… I don’t think you quite understood my post.
You see I was inferring that if we make the grand final, then my phallus would become very erect.
All 2.1 inches!

Well we don't have who would you consider an out and out x-factor superstar in this squad.

Moses is our most important but would you consider him a x-factor or superstar. He is playing the most consistent footy granted.

Gutho is hard working and effort.

Dylan Brown may get there next year he is close just needs to be more consistent. Still goes missing once a month.

I'd consider Moses as superstar, tbh.

He's unlucky that there is a bloke by the name of Nathan Cleary who has a mortgage on the NSW 7 jumper, otherwise he'd be NSW 7.

Mind you - I reckon NSW's most dangerous halves would be

7.Cleary
6. Moses

You're a class act, mate.

Gazzamatta

Andrew Johns stated that Ilias is the best defensive half in the game by a long way.
Thats just wrong. Drown is the best and Mitch is also now an elite defensive half.
Gee that knob pis*es me off with his random BS. Little wonder hes punted everywhere he goes. I see hes now the Newcastle NRLW half coach.

King-Gutho94

Andrew Johns stated that Ilias is the best defensive half in the game by a long way.
Thats just wrong. Drown is the best and Mitch is also now an elite defensive half.
Gee that knob pis*es me off with his random BS. Little wonder hes punted everywhere he goes. I see hes now the Newcastle NRLW half coach.
Come on Illias isn't a once in a generation player though.

Joey has annoited about 20 of them in 15 years of commentary.

I was going to fly up but couldn't get a seat. I only ever fly buisness class.