Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

TEAM V STORM

True EEL

i could try and make a hero out of myself and tell everyone the things i have been personally told and where i heard it......but i'm sorry i can't

call me a liar who is making up innuendo if you like, but i know what i was told and i believe it

True EEL

Suitman said:
What really, really, really irks me is........

If any club has a reason to be where we are, it is the Bulldogs.
And look where they are.

Geez that sh*ts me.

very true suity, very true.....and exactly my point

the Bulldogs have had every reason to fall apart and implode as a club and particularly on the football field - but they haven't they are le3ading the comp for god's sake

why?

in my opinion they have a very good coach who was a very good player, a tough, hard player who did the little things right........

and this is not a personal attack on BS, but it may be worth considering that he wasn't a great success at playing the game either you know?????

about 17 first garde games between Souths and St George unless someone can clarify those figures for me????

and in my mind, to be a first grade coach who is supposed to be a supercoach for 20 years and not have a premiership is not a successful coaching career either......

food for thought perhaps????

True EEL said:
and this is not a personal attack on BS, but it may be worth considering that he wasn't a great success at playing the game either you know?????

about 17 first garde games between Souths and St George unless someone can clarify those figures for me????

His coaching career isn't great but as for playing careers the best coaches have not exactly had huge careers. Gould, Sheens, Gibson and Bennett all played first grade football and with some fair success but nowhere near what Meninga, Cronin, Hilditch, Langmack and Lamb enjoyed. Who carries a better coaching record out of them?

I just think Smith tries to hard and is to analytical in his approach.

True EEL

as i said it wasn't a personal attack on Smith, my arguement against him never is directly personal, just at his coaching abilities

and you're right, most of those guys you mentioned who were good coaches didn't have outstanding careers, but most, particularly someone like Gould were still better players or had better careers than Smithy

and some great players don't make great coaches as some you mentioned, although I thought the Crow did a reasonable job at Parra considering some of the lack of talent at the time.....would have been interesting to see how he could have gone over the last 8 years at parra????

but then again you look at good players who have beocme good coaches, especially in the modern era, Stuart, Hagan, Brown, Bellamy and to a lesser extent Elliot and some others

and you are right about the analytical side of Smith, which is part of my arguement, he over complicates a simple game and over analyses everything and everything hinges on statistics and analytical decisions with him, rather than sometimes just letting them play a bit of footy.....past players have said as much....and recently, like Jason Smith among others

Elliot and Bellamy had chequered careers - the played some good games but were much better divvy players and funnily enough much of Elliott's short career was played under Smith.

True EEL

and some of Elliot's coaching career.......and Daniel Anderson's???

see any pattern there.....???????

all 3 sides, Parr, Canberra and Warriors have been underachieveing after recent good sucess which did not yield a premiership (Warriors),

players walking out, (Ali Laui'titi at Warriors and the exosous now at Canberra)

players being played out of position (Stacey Jones put to 5/8 at Warriors by Anderson and too many to name at Parra),

inability recruit good players (Canberra), outspoken tactically-driven coaches (Elliot especially as well as BS)

and eventually a sacking (Anderson)????

me thinks me sees a pattern forming from Smithy's teachings????????

Anderson and Langmack were sacked to. They both forced out players.

Tension apparently exists between Lockyer and Bennett.

Yes, there does seem to be similar problems that have occured under Smith proteges but whether or not its just a co-incidence remains to be seen. Few know what is happening inside these clubs to comment. Much of what is happening at Canberra can be laid at the feet of the administration from all accounts. Interested to see that you put up the information regarding Jason Smith's comment about Brian Smiths coaching style - but even more interesting is that he will be playing under a similar style at Canberra.

I do know that players have left because of Smith but patterns exist at every club. Not every player at every club is going to get along with the coach - same as not everyone on here believes that Smith is good/bad for the club. Players leave and players have also come back. Unless we are present at training, meetings and in the sheds at half time we can only speculate as to the reasons or base them on what we hear.

you are so full of yourself, true eel.

it's simple, either you spill the beans or you are full of crap. everyone here knows the "I promised I wouldn't tell" line holds about as much water as a leaky bucket.

Don't make the call if you can't back it up. I'm sorry to say this, mate, but everything you have said, relating to every player you have mentioned, is either purely untrue or not substantiated.

If you can produce something to back yourself up ie. a source, then I will apologise unreservedly. But until then, you got nothing, mate, sorry to say.

Utey

Yes HJ has hit the nail. I reckon you are full of shit. You either tell the source or you dont say anything. Its just common sense

I think he has already broken the trust by saying that he knows something in the first place, best keep quiet about all unless you're willing to reveal all I say.

Guys - I have asked TE to remain mum on this until something more concrete comes to hand. At the moment he holds the information he has as very strong however it is until confirmed speculation at this stage. He has formed an opinion Brian which right or wrong he is entitled too. Lets just leave it at that for now.

And no I do not know the source of his information.

True EEL

i haven't broken any trust

and i hold firm on the fact that i know whats going on.........I got the information from a resident of small country town in north-west NSW

does that clarify it for anyone, those with the cranial capacity to put 2 and 2 together and get 4???

i could tell you things that would make your head spin about what is going on behind the scenes to claim Jamie between several clubs......

all i did was repeat what has been already said in the Media after it came out a while ago in the paper with the infamous "letter" to Parra (Hadley)

i haven't broken any trust with anyone and as i said i don't really give a rats whether any of you believe me or not, because i know its true.....but i'm not prepared to say anything else because i don't want to implicate my source or break his trust

and HJ......your obviously the biggest goose going if your 100% behind Brian Smith apart from your outrageously try hard image

and everything i have said about other players isn't unsubstantiated......you just have to listen to and read the reports without your blue and gold "rose" coloured "i love Brian Smith" glasses