Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Teddy

The unknown

I don’t but it’s a fact of life. It’s not right but these kids have had people feeding their egos and slapping their backs since u10s so by the time they hit grade they think their the centre of the universe.

Oops quoted wrong person. Was meant to be for @Tiger05

Well get used to hearing it cause it'll be the norm in the not too distant future. Ponga. Batemen. Matterson. Arrow

are all chasing the $$$

I'll ask you this.

If another company in your profession offered you a 50% pay rise would you take it or stay loyal to the one you are working at? I assume you have a family to look after aswell

chanticleer

356e6547572b5c3f6c2ecf2b9e020f9a

What could've been for us, oh well.
Theres no Oh well.. the damn Roosters is what happened.. theyve poached the best players from other clubs for many years..

Their record in signing already established superstar talent or highly sought after juniors ahead of every other club is second to none..

The list of names is so long but Politis just signs the best players year after year..
Early 2000s they took Finch who was highly rated from Canberra
Then they pillaged the Bulldogs taking Anasta Omeley Mason Myles over a 2 year period
Then they took Carney from Canberra and he won the Dally M with them in his first year
For 2011 they take highlt sought after forward JWH from Manly
For the 2013 premiership they added Maloney SBW and Jennings and Oddonell
Then they add Ferguson once he had his problems with Canberra
Take premiership winning half Keary from Souths in 2016
For the 2018 premiership In one off season they add Tedesco and Cronk basically the Australian Fullback and halfback in one go.. Tedesco was offered alot more by our club to stay
For 2019 add State of Origin forward Crighton

Now that Cronks retiring they have signed 3 of the best junior halves in the game.. this year for 2020 they signed both Shane Flanagans son Kyle Flanagan and Ben Walkers son Sam Walker
- both of which are highly sought after on the market both halves and they also re-signed Adrian Lams son whos killing the lower grades..

Sam Walker especially had all the rugby league and rugby union world chasing his signature but he signs for the Roosters..

No other club has that type of record to signing players.. Basically its the Roosters on top and the rest of the ubs fight amongst themselves for the scraps..

I don’t but it’s a fact of life. It’s not right but these kids have had people feeding their egos and slapping their backs since u10s so by the time they hit grade they think their the centre of the universe.

At last we seem to be getting somewhere. There is something really off with the way players act now.

Theres no Oh well.. the damn Roosters is what happened.. theyve poached the best players from other clubs for many years..

Their record in signing already established superstar talent or highly sought after juniors ahead of every other club is second to none..

The list of names is so long but Politis just signs the best players year after year..
Early 2000s they took Finch who was highly rated from Canberra
Then they pillaged the Bulldogs taking Anasta Omeley Mason Myles over a 2 year period
Then they took Carney from Canberra and he won the Dally M with them in his first year
For 2011 they take highlt sought after forward JWH from Manly
For the 2013 premiership they added Maloney SBW and Jennings and Oddonell
Then they add Ferguson once he had his problems with Canberra
Take premiership winning half Keary from Souths in 2016
For the 2018 premiership In one off season they add Tedesco and Cronk basically the Australian Fullback and halfback in one go.. Tedesco was offered alot more by our club to stay
For 2019 add State of Origin forward Crighton

Now that Cronks retiring they have signed 3 of the best junior halves in the game.. this year for 2020 they signed both Shane Flanagans son Kyle Flanagan and Ben Walkers son Sam Walker
- both of which are highly sought after on the market both halves and they also re-signed Adrian Lams son whos killing the lower grades..

Sam Walker especially had all the rugby league and rugby union world chasing his signature but he signs for the Roosters..

No other club has that type of record to signing players.. Basically its the Roosters on top and the rest of the ubs fight amongst themselves for the scraps..

It doesn't seem right does it. I get players will move for more money within reason. It just doesn't make sense how a club can do this if there is a salary cap in place.

WA Tiger

"You guys want to carry that hate around we good with that ...u can carry it for us coz we free ."

Reads like shit now and will still read like shit in the morning :thinking:
.. From your viewpoint of course you wouldn’t You look at that photo of him and all you see is frustration revenge hate resentment ...These emotions will hurt only you forever and deeply and over time if that’s how you react to every person that doesn’t stick to your outdated rules if they ever did apply in reality - then that’s more hurt and frustration for you no one else ....and even worse he doesn’t care ..For the sake of my happiness /freedom from all that and my health I would at least try to look at things from his point of view.. ....I look at the Tedesco photo and I’m inspired that he has ended up where he has ..on the verge of 2 consecutive premierships the best player in the world if not close and being mentored by his childhood hero in Mini.....These are all manufactured attractions to a club that started with a good coach and before that an effective CEO ..They didn’t just fall out of the sky..and where he came from had a shit work environment that was other people’s fault not his ..He’s not signing up at a club to agree to be responsible for the bad decisions made by the top brass at that club ...I can’t even understand how u can think that’s fair ....That could only happen in a dictatorship ..It’s the clubs responsibility to get there backyard in order not his .....Its everyone’s right to choose their employment..That he’s really good isn’t a good enough reason for him to stay

WA Tiger

The best players / employees anywhere in the world weather it’s sport or business or even beautiful women have more choices Thats reality ...If you want to keep them you have to make them want to stay..Loyalty is definitely a factor but can’t last forever when things get too bad for too long with no end in sight ..and when other golden opportunities are flying by ...The biggest companies and most effective companies all had set backs but they didn’t forever dwell on or blame people or things that happend they use them to do it better in future We can get there we have been there before...

WA Tiger

like Tiger M says ..Don’t worry about all that let’s just get in the 8 first and with the right management and coaching the rest will come ...get real

WA Tiger

Having said that ...GO THE RAIDERS..I don’t think I could handle Tadesco or the Roosters winning a second Premiership...I’m expecting the Raiders to win

super_coach

Great article in the smh written by Malcolm Knox on the Chooks and the salary cap. He is a real jurno and not like most of the league writers. Anyway he said what the Chooks are doing might be technically legal but is killing the game. He said basically the NRL are the ones to blame for not stopping all the lop holes and grey areas of the cap.

It’s great, two people have now come out and pointed the finger at the Chooks in a week..Singo and Knox, the NRL only act on anything when pressured. Let’s hope more people come out and say it’s a rort

Great article in the smh written by Malcolm Knox on the Chooks and the salary cap. He is a real jurno and not like most of the league writers. Anyway he said what the Chooks are doing might be technically legal but is killing the game. He said basically the NRL are the ones to blame for not stopping all the lop holes and grey areas of the cap.

It’s great, two people have now come out and pointed the finger at the Chooks in a week..Singo and Knox, the NRL only act on anything when pressured. Let’s hope more people come out and say it’s a rort
IMO it is a big blight on the game but so too is Todd Greenberg. This week he came out and said that he’s studied all clubs salary cap (surprised that he’d be able to that and not independent auditors) and said “The Roosters just do it better.”

simmo05

IMO it is a big blight on the game but so too is Todd Greenberg. This week he came out and said that he’s studied all clubs salary cap (surprised that he’d be able to that and not independent auditors) and said “The Roosters just do it better.”
He thinks we are all stupid. Of course they are cap compliant. Its all the other shit that singo alluded to thats the issue

stryker

Should just reduce the comp to 10 teams and abolish the cap. Keep the players happy.

macnaz

He thinks we are all stupid. Of course they are cap compliant. Its all the other shit that singo alluded to thats the issue
I was happy to believe all the BS about the Eastern Suburbs business men rallying behind the Rorters paying big 3rd payments... BUT the NRL themselves released the 3rd party payment figures showing they had roughly 200k's worth.... SO HOW THE f**k DO THEY DO IT ?
oh Well Cronk has retired , they have another Million at least in the cap for next year.
By the way I predicted like most they will go back to back this year and see NO reason why they cant make it 3, 4 and so on.

I was happy to believe all the BS about the Eastern Suburbs business men rallying behind the Rorters paying big 3rd payments... BUT the NRL themselves released the 3rd party payment figures showing they had roughly 200k's worth.... SO HOW THE f**k DO THEY DO IT ?
oh Well Cronk has retired , they have another Million at least in the cap for next year.
By the way I predicted like most they will go back to back this year and see NO reason why they cant make it 3, 4 and so on.
We'll get em next year, mac.

Perth Tiger

in an article on the NRL site they were talking about losing players and when talking about Friend said how he had 'business interests' in the area. It mustn't be a 3rd party sponsor if they have 'business dealings' instead.

macnaz

in an article on the NRL site they were talking about losing players and when talking about Friend said how he had 'business interests' in the area. It mustn't be a 3rd party sponsor if they have 'business dealings' instead.
There is lots of ways around it... family funds, education ,healthcare overseas car yard directorships etc etc.
I really dont get WHO is benefiting as far as the game goes..
As I've always said they bring low crowds,low juniors, low memberships, low TV ratings, low merchandise sales..
So what and why are the NRL up their arse so hard?
Either
1. Players have to have loopholes to make as much money as possible
Or
2. NRL officials are on the take and making money to turn a blind eye and not apply pressure to change the rules.
It's that simple really... either one or the other and I'm pretty sure I know which one.

macnaz

It's no coincidence when Roosters and Salary cap stories appear in the public media they DIE very quickly.. where there is smoke at Weststigers there are media petrol tankers feeding the flames... if it happens in the East there are firebombing planes all over it.
Tedesco 3rd party payment story . Disappeared.
Betting agency story about 3 clubs and salary cap stories... and 1 was massive!
All that came out was us and Manly for minor shit .. go figure

There is lots of ways around it... family funds, education ,healthcare overseas car yard directorships etc etc.
I really dont get WHO is benefiting as far as the game goes..
As I've always said they bring low crowds,low juniors, low memberships, low TV ratings, low merchandise sales..
So what and why are the NRL up their arse so hard?
Either
1. Players have to have loopholes to make as much money as possible
Or
2. NRL officials are on the take and making money to turn a blind eye and not apply pressure to change the rules.
It's that simple really... either one or the other and I'm pretty sure I know which one.

The Roosters have been an absolute powerhouse since 1997 and particularly the last 10 years. Honestly can you imagine if teams like us, Parra or the Dogs has made 8 Grand Finals in 19 years? All clubs would be averaging 40k a game. These guys get, what 14k? I mean we average more then them most years!

All I’m going to say is mate it’s handy to know where certain power brokers skeletons are kept. Greenberg was the single worst appointment the game has ever had. We needed someone completely independent. I had hope for Peter V’landys, surely if he could turn racing clean he could do it to the NRL, then I read that he and Politis are lifelong friends :joy: so get ready for another decade of this shit.

macnaz

The game is f**ked then Vic :(
If u are life long buddies with that prick you are clean as whistle...
Hmmm great appointment... was it it by chance or arranged ?