Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Thankyou!

DRAGONZ_RULE

Now that the season is over, I'd just like to say a big thankyou to certain people.

In no particular order:

Cooper-Man (Pete)
Thanks for doing so much of the organising for the Army this year. Coordinating bus trips to Canberra (which I unfortunately pulled out of late in the piece due to bloody university!), coordinating media engagements and getting our good name out there. You are a legend, and although I didn't actually get to introduce myself to you in person this year, I saw you around a bit.

OurRedV (Stel)
Pretty much exactly what I just said about Peter. You two are the Dynamic Duo, and without you guys, we would be far less organised and an inefficient bunch! The two of you are our 'unofficial Generals' .. both of whom definitely turn up to more than 1 game a month ;-) ;-)

The Major (Ray)
Finally got to meet you when you sat right behind Tom Cleary and I at the Tigers Prelim Final. Bringing the jersey to games is a massive effort, and it is things exactly like that which make our Army stand head and shoulders above any other fanatical supporter group in the NRL.

Macca + SaintTPP (Paul + Mandy)
You two are simply awesome. Can't think of the right adjectives to describe exactly how much .. the scarves were out of this world (from memory Pete helped with that too?), the donations to the Luke Priddis + Joanne Mackay Foundations brought a tear to my eye, and the tireless effort you both put in for us all is appreciated so much by myself, and I am sure by everyone else in the Army.

St. Linnane (Matt)
Linnane - I didn't know you were that involved in the Army until you bit the bullet and ended up being the major party involved in organising the 300 Grand Final tickets .. a stunning effort. It was a shame I couldn't be a part of that (although a blessing given my girlfriend supports the Roosters!), but it left me speechless nonetheless. Legend.

There are heaps of others who do their bit, but unless I've made a glaring oversight, I think I've got all the main people!

THANKYOU SO MUCH FOR EVERYTHING IN 2010, I LOVE YOU ALL!!!

And now, it's time for a Dragon Army get-together and celebration in the off-season!!!

The Major

Cheers big fella! Mighty nice of you to share your kind words. Ask any of us and we'll say its a selfless thing we do with our individual roles in making the Dragon Army the phenomenon it is. I know i for one, dont do anything expecting any gratitude. What i love to see in return is the feedback from punters who say how fantastic the army looks etc. If one person says it was their first time with the army but definitely not their last, then my work is done. Its a collective effort that no one individual can take credit for. Sitting with all of us watching a game of footy should be more then that, its an experience. A way of life. Where we are at now is just early days stuff. Over the next few years the juggernaut will build to something out of this world. Stay tuned!
A big thanks to everyone who has helped me out at the matches setting and packing up the big flags, jersey etc. Special mention to those champions especially staying back after the final buzzers during the final series as everyone else rocks on and partied out in the breezeways below the stands. Potsie especially. Cooperman Pete. John Apter. Dougie, Scuba Steve, Tixy to name a few.
And the biggest thanks i would love to save for everyone in the army thats been so accomodating to my little princesses who come to the games with me. Little Natasja, 9, and Danielle, 7 love every moment they spend with the army and have now almost got everyones name down pat. Not once have they ever felt uncomfortable right in the thick of the army, even at its craziest. Them and Scuba Steve's tribe are the future of the army and its reassuring your mental bunch of boofheads are making them feel safe and allowing them the opportunity to take away all the great memories as do we all.
Kudos to you all!

Cooper-Man

D_R, Your post is really moving and much appreciated mate. Like Ray said, its a selfless thing we do and i know for sure everyone named does it for the love of the team and the people they stand shoulder to shoulder with week in week out.

I can tell you 100% my closest friends in life are people I have met on the hill. I have seriously got the BEST mates in the world and I met them ALL ON THE HILL. That is my reward and seeing them on the hill or in the stands week in week out is what i live for. If i name them I would seriously have the whole hill named and its not just at the footy, these friends come to my home and invite me to theirs and its awesome.

I believe that there is a culture in the army now that will live on forever and that is what we all set out to do.

As Ray said, we have only just begun.

Also..............................................WE WON THE PREMIERSHIP........WOOOOOOOHOOOOOOOOO.

YEHHHBOYYYD

I definately agree with DRAGONZ_RULE, you guys do such a great job and we can't thank you enough. I hope that i can be part of the organisation crew next year as im willing to help out with anything.

P.S. Pete doesn't invite me to his house, i just rock up there and annoy the sh*t outta him. :p

YEHHHBOYYYD

1 thing i forgot to add.

We aren't just the "Dragon Army", we are a family. And just like Pete, a lot of my close friends are people i met on the hill.

Saint Doc

And like a family, there's members you hate having to talk to and be around....

name names!! Haha

I echo the above thoughts. I don't know many of you personally, but I know who most of you are and thank you guys so much. You guys reach people you don't even know!

I only made it in the army for the Anzac clash, the Canberra game, and the two homebush finals. Unfortunately a student budget doesn't allow all the interstate trips you guys do, and my red v sats are in the stand because I go with my mum and Aunty who want seats. But it's such an inclusive group, I still rock up in my army scarf, with my large butchers stripe flag. I still know where to sit etc and feel very much a part of it! And that's a credit to the people mentioned above for creating an environment where it doesn't matter if your name is known...as long as ur prepared to pull the massive jersey over your head, cheer your lungs out and wear your colours proudly, you're one of us.

It's a great feeling!

The Major

Also dont forget, if you get a chance somewhere along the line, give ol mate GST Mark (and Maxine) a big old pat on the back and a big congrats. Think about all the hard yards that he has put in to finally see it all worthwhile on Sunday when we finally won the big one. For those who know Mark & Max, you'll know what they've been through this year and down the track also. Dickson and I stood with Mark along the fence during the lap of honour and i've never seen a happier man in my life. I remember patting him on the shoulder and send something along the lines of, "lap it up big fella. This is for you!"
A very special moment to be able to share it with GST.

silverex

I have never personally met any of you in the Army and I've never stood on the hill at Kogarah or at the 'Gong. I'm one of the 'older' generation and my wife and I have our season tickets sitting in the SWUG at Kogarah, though for a couple of years we sat on the concourse just below the hill and the Army.

However, mainly because of this Forum, I do feel as if I know you guys and girls just a bit. Seeing how you put so much time and effort into organising everything from bus trips to flags to scarves to Grand Final tickets is simply amazing!

And to see and hear you all at the games makes me proud to be a fellow supporter. I might not be with you in person but I definitely am in spirit. We wear the same jersey to the games and we share the same passion.

So, I don't care if this sounds like a 'suck up' but well done and congratulations to all you people who organise and take part in the Army. You should all be proud of your achievements.

Actually, last night on 'Talkin' Sport' a guy named Miguel phoned in. He is an Eels supporter but works 'on the ground' at ANZ Stadium. The purpose of his phone call was to give praise to the Dragons supporters at the GF. He said he was near the Army and the noise just blew him away and there are no other supporters like us. So, what you guys do does make an impact.

big pat

Now that the season is over, I'd just like to say a big thankyou to certain people.

In no particular order:

Cooper-Man (Pete)
Thanks for doing so much of the organising for the Army this year. Coordinating bus trips to Canberra (which I unfortunately pulled out of late in the piece due to bloody university!), coordinating media engagements and getting our good name out there. You are a legend, and although I didn't actually get to introduce myself to you in person this year, I saw you around a bit.

OurRedV (Stel)
Pretty much exactly what I just said about Peter. You two are the Dynamic Duo, and without you guys, we would be far less organised and an inefficient bunch! The two of you are our 'unofficial Generals' .. both of whom definitely turn up to more than 1 game a month ;-) ;-)

The Major (Ray)
Finally got to meet you when you sat right behind Tom Cleary and I at the Tigers Prelim Final. Bringing the jersey to games is a massive effort, and it is things exactly like that which make our Army stand head and shoulders above any other fanatical supporter group in the NRL.

Macca + SaintTPP (Paul + Mandy)
You two are simply awesome. Can't think of the right adjectives to describe exactly how much .. the scarves were out of this world (from memory Pete helped with that too?), the donations to the Luke Priddis + Joanne Mackay Foundations brought a tear to my eye, and the tireless effort you both put in for us all is appreciated so much by myself, and I am sure by everyone else in the Army.

St. Linnane (Matt)
Linnane - I didn't know you were that involved in the Army until you bit the bullet and ended up being the major party involved in organising the 300 Grand Final tickets .. a stunning effort. It was a shame I couldn't be a part of that (although a blessing given my girlfriend supports the Roosters!), but it left me speechless nonetheless. Legend.

There are heaps of others who do their bit, but unless I've made a glaring oversight, I think I've got all the main people!

THANKYOU SO MUCH FOR EVERYTHING IN 2010, I LOVE YOU ALL!!!

And now, it's time for a Dragon Army get-together and celebration in the off-season!!!

very well said mate, all these people you have mention, deserve the highest praise that can bestowed upon them, they are a true inspiration to all dragon supporters, the time and effort they put on can never measured, if they ever bring back the honours list, i would knight you all into the realm of st george, except amanda she would be a dame, i know my kids look up to you,a big thank you from the big fella for all you have done, and as major said mark and maxine(gst) legends in they're own right, this might be a bit corny, god bless st george and all who support them.

Also dont forget, if you get a chance somewhere along the line, give ol mate GST Mark (and Maxine) a big old pat on the back and a big congrats. Think about all the hard yards that he has put in to finally see it all worthwhile on Sunday when we finally won the big one. For those who know Mark & Max, you'll know what they've been through this year and down the track also. Dickson and I stood with Mark along the fence during the lap of honour and i've never seen a happier man in my life. I remember patting him on the shoulder and send something along the lines of, "lap it up big fella. This is for you!"
A very special moment to be able to share it with GST.

A great post Ray. I personally, have known Mark and Maxine for nearly 15 years and I have to say that Mark is the most dedicated St George supporter that I have ever met. I have been fortunate enough to have had a number of interstate trips over the years with both Mark and Maxine and they deserve this recognition.

The Major

what about the general? lol

Ok, ok i'll let you in on something really REALLY funny that happened recently. Remember this, Pete?
I sent out a stack of messages last week to people inviting them to the champagne brekky i put on and to be at the Taj by a certain time etc. My response back from "the General"....

"Where's the Taj?"

Hahahaahahahahahahaha!!

C'mon champ! You're the general! Have been following the Dragons for 15 years and you seriously dont know where or what the Taj is!? I first thought it was a gee up but this fella was fair dinkum. He said he had no idea that the Leagues Club was more famously known as the Taj.
Lol! Sorry Simon. I love you like a brother but couldnt help sharing a giggle at your expense ol mate!

DragonLady

Thanks to all you guys, I may not sit with you all at home games (the need for seating and a clear line for my camera is a must), but away games hell yea! Enjoy the off season and dream of 2011.

Gas Panic!

Well done to all DR listed and to all of those who turn up every other week.

We all loathe the idea of an 'organised' army yet you guys have done just enough to make everyone feel welcome and feel a part of it, whether they travel far and wide or only show up on the odd occasion.

I'm just spewing I didn't have faith in the scarf idea .. they turned out to be awesome!

Rocket

A big thanks from me too. This year I was fortunate enough to get to a lot more games than I normally do. But no matter whether it was here in Canberra, on the Gold Coast, in Sydney or at our home grounds, the Army was always represented and brought something special to the game that no other team's supporters do.

The line "Everywhere we go" from the chant isn't just an idle statement. It is who you are and what you do.

Then there was the finals series, everything from the GF ticket group buy, the best banners, the big jersey, the loudest chants.

For this now ageing Dragons fan who like most has gone through over three decades of waiting for the Big One, you made my year that extra bit special and made feel proud to support this mighty team.