Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The 2007 Predictions Thread.

OVP

1. 2007 will be the closest year on record, even Souths have a chance (You DONT need to be Einstein to work this out ... the NRL Salary Crap is getting more and more ludicrous ... even the truly CRAP teams can now compete with the ones who push the boundaries. Is that a good thing ? Lets not give a sh*te about our club, but HEY, were up there now thanx to the NRL). Meh, its getting even MORE boring than when Saints won 11 in a row. Bring back the good days ffs... every team on its own merit. Oh well ... we'll get yet another new premier this year zzzz

2. The Dogs and Dragons will struggle a bit more than most people think. The Dragons without Bailey is a scary prospect for them imo. Bailey is a massive loss for the Dragons, but wont be a huge gain for the Gold Coast. The Dogs without Asotasi and Myles will be interesting indeed.

3. The Gold Coast will either finish second last or LAST.

4. The Roosters will surprise big time ... we are on the way back baby ... soooo many talented youngsters, and we finally bought a little bit of experience to help them out this year :)

5. God knows whats going to go on with Eels or Knights next year. To see how both go will definitely be an eye-opener :)

6. The Top 8 will be vastly different to this years top 8.

7. How will Brisbane go without the man-mountain ... Webcke ? Interesting, but i think they might struggle a bit up front. Their backs are damn good though. Still, you'd need to be a VERY brave soul to say they will miss the top 8. LOL most likely is the minor premiership imo ;-)

8. Souths will do well, but will still find themselves behind their most hated club, Easts (i've got sh*tloads of cash riding on this :lol:)

9. My dark horse Team are Penrith

10. I Dont really have any more predicitions ... DO YOU ?

Roosters will finish above souths on the ladder. I have money riding on this also.

thickos

Raiders to not win the spoon.

Where we will finish however, I have no idea... :crazy: just aiming to be competitive. A top 8 finish would be a fantastic bonus.

Ray Hadley will blame any Newcastle woe on Brian Smith, particularly if Johns decides to head to England.

1. Melbourne
2. Brisbane
3. Dragons
4. Manly
5. Knights
6. Eels
7. Warriors
8. Tigers (Injury Free Marshall)
9. Souths
10. Bulldogs
11. Roosters
12. Canberra
13. Penrith
14. Cowboys
15. Titans
16. Sharks

Origin: Queensland 2-1
Anzac Test: Australia 23-16
Grand Final: Warriors V Broncos
Dally M: Darren Lockyer

Wicks

OVP said:
The Dragons without Bailey is a scary prospect

True Another three props fall out of the trees in Wollongong

Rabbitohs2005 said:
2. Brisbane
7. Warriors

It is not possible if they are in positions 2 and 7

Inferno

That will really come back and bite you on the ass if we do win it. Personally I'm not writing anyone off.

My only prediction for the Sharks is that we will surprise most punters, and won't end up in the bottom 5.

ledzep

Sharks, Eels and Titans to finish in the bottom five
Raiders, Roosters, Warriors to make the top 8
QLD to win Origin 3-0

1.Storm
2.Broncos
3.Eagles
4.Bulldogs
5.Eels
6.Dragons
7.Warriors
8.Knights
9.Tigers
10.Roosters
11.Rabbitohs
12.Cowboys
13.Titans
14.Panthers
15.Raiders
16.Sharks

although regarding the top 10 teams, i think they will do well, i think their will be many teams contending next season

The Preacher

Inferno said:
That will really come back and bite you on the ass if we do win it. Personally I'm not writing anyone off.

My only prediction for the Sharks is that we will surprise most punters, and won't end up in the bottom 5.

Being fair dinkum, Inferno, as much as the unknowing put sh!t on Sticky, it's the best move your club has made in years, making him coach. As long as the powers to be leave him alone and your players are willing to give 100% you've got yourselves a coach that not only knows the game, but loves it as well. I've never known a bloke to hate losing, as a coach and player, as much as Sticky does. And a top bloke as well. ;-)

miccle

Wicks said:
It is not possible if they are in positions 2 and 7
Um, yeah it is. 2004 - Dogs finished 2nd, Cowboys 7th. If the Cows had beaten the Roosters in the Major Semi (controversially went down by 3 points) then they would have faced the dogs in the decider.

I'll go through every club:

Brisbane- big loss with Shane Webcke retiring, no doubt they'll be up there in the top 4, as long their youngsters go one step better. Guys like Hannant and Thaiday lead from the front with Civoniceva.

Bulldogs- like the Broncos, I still reckon they'll be there, but have lost their key forward in Asotasi. Theyve still got a good forward pack with O'Meley, Mason, SBW, Ryan and Maitua, as long as they still injury free they'll be right.

Canberra- if theyre injury free for most of the season, they might sneak into the 8. Guys like Tongue, Withers and Carney are the key, and up front Weyman, Tilse and Miller (who's had a bad luck with injuries). There's huge wraps on Michael Dobson who's had a bit success in the ESL and might step up. It'll be hard to replace the likes of Schifcoske and Croker. I dont know about their backs

Cronulla- whats Ricky's game plan? how will he go with Kimmorely who's struggled in the last 2 years? I think their forward pack is ok, with the likes of Ross, Stapleton, Gallen and Thompson as long as it stays injury free, but I think they'll struggle, unless Kimmorely peforms.

Gold Coast- new team, might struggle early on and get their confidence during the season. I think a top 8 is a big ask, their backs look pretty good, but apart from Luke Bailey, their forward pack looks questionable. Their doesnt appear to much depth there.

Manly- will be missing Kennedy heaps, they need someone to lead them from the front, hitting the line well, plenty of yards. Theyre planning to put Matai there who IMO is a pretty good centre. It'll be interesting to see how they go, but I think they'll go backwards but not by much.

Melbourne- Its hard to stay on top two years in a row, Bellamy's a good coach and will learn from the GF loss, but the key players are White, Kaufusi, Crocker, Hoffman. If their forward pack stays the same throughout the year, theyre definately in the top 8, even top 4 if new 5/8 Russell Aitken has a good season

Newcastle- it'll be interesting to see how the Knights go under Smith. He has a different coaching style, but one that doesnt revolve mainly on the halfback. As we say every year if Johns is playing well and so is Newcastle. Sargent will be a good buy for Newcastle.

North Qld- They'll go one step better, especially with Thurston and Jason Smith in the halves. The other thing is that they need guys like Scott, Tronc and also Carl Webb to have a good year. Webb didnt have his best season in 06, and needs to turn it around.

Parramatta- Im hoping a top 8 spot at least, especially if Hagan's the coach. Im not exactly sure what his game plan is, but hope its to improve the backs. As long the halves click, they'll do well. Especially out wide with Tahu and Smith. Hopefully Moi Moi and Cayless will play most of the year. And the impact off bench, with the loss of Widders, someone like Mateo or Lowrie are likely to take that role.

Penrith- dont be surprised if we see the Panthers upset a lot of teams, especially with Matt Elliot at coach. He's known to get the best out of his players, and Penrith dont have a bad squad. The only concern is the forward pack and the 5/8. It'll be interesting to see who Elliott brings on with Campbell missing. Also a regular goal kicker, a number of times in matches the two points were important.

Dragons- if they put Gasnier at 5/8, theyre gonna be sh*tt. He's not a 5/8, they should move Hornby to 5/8, leave Gasnier in the centres and put either MacDougall or Morris at fullback. Woolford wont be a bad buy, he's a good dummy half runner and makes plenty of tackles. They will miss Luke Bailey, and need someone to lead the forward pack.

Souths- everyone is hoping they'll either make the 8 or avoid the bottom of the table. I think they will do either. They've got a good squad with Asotasi and Kidwell in the forwards and Widders off the bench. I also think Taylor is a pretty good coach and has a good coaching style, look what he did with Parramatta. Im concerned about the backs, theyve never had a real good halves combo in ages, but I think the likes of Jeremy Smith and Joe Williams will do a good job. Out wide is the problem

Roosters- I dont know about Anderson as coach since he's now brought his old players Beattie and Nutley, how desperate can they get. Its one thing they were missing last season was the forwards, but I dont know if Nutley and Beattie are gonna be much better. Myles might be. The other thing is the half and 5/8, it struggled in 2006 and needs to be a lot better. Maybe Josh Lewis and Mitchell Pearce. If the forwards and halves dont do well, they will struggle and finish below Souths.

Warriors- top 8 without doubt, they just missed out and wouldve made it if they werent deducted 2 points. If they keep their same side all year theyre bound to beat nearly any team. Also McKinnon will be a good replacement for Webb who was the Warriors best in 06, and Rovelli have proven to be the best halfback for the Warriors.

Wests Tigers- good side on paper, but must stay injury free especially Marshall. Will do well if him and Morris are the halves for most of the year, but their props need to step up now that Skandalis have left. Plenty of depth, but Im not sure about a top 8 spot.

1. Inglis will star again
2. NSW to Win SoO
3. Peachey fullback of the year in the Dally Ms
4. Titans will make the top 8
5. Newcastle to have an ordinary season
6. Sharks to have an ordinary season
7. Illawarra to have an ordinary season
8. Melbourne Minor Premiers 2 years running
9. Warriors to have off field dramas
10. Roosters linked to Brett Kimmorley all fuggen year (and please take him!)

Souths will continue to be plagued by problems in the halves with at least five different combinations used during the year.

smeghead

1. New South Wales to win Origin 3 - 0
2. Canberra will make the 8
3. If Fit Benji to win Dally M player of the year
4. Inglis to suffer a form slump (his selfish play in the tri Nations final was more than a tad worrying)
5. All teams bar the Sharks, Titans and Panthers to be in the running come finals time
6. Gold Coast to make a tidy first year profit
7. Cowboys to win Minor Premiership.
8. Danny Weidler to continue his Jedi training
9. Channels 7 and 10 to jump on League as often as possible. Particularily that cockholster David Koch

Bob

Rabbitohs2005 said:
1. Melbourne
2. Brisbane
3. Dragons
4. Manly
5. Knights
6. Eels
7. Warriors
8. Tigers (Injury Free Marshall)
9. Souths
10. Penrith
11. Roosters
12. Canberra
13. Penrith
14. Cowboys
15. Titans
16. Sharks

Origin: Queensland 2-1
Anzac Test: Australia 23-16
Dally M: Darren Lockyer
If were fielding 2 teams I,m sure one of them will finish higher.:lol:

Focal Point

Timmah to make up banners at the end of the 2007 season stating "41 years and won sweet f**k all" to dedicate to everyone's favourite perpetual bunch of losers - the sharks!:lol: