Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Bunker

"Lose in the exact same fashion"

As who? Broncos had already lost when the decision was made.
Cmon you sook
Stick to the subject

Every single footy expert is laughing at it
You, a few other knobs and archer are in denial
It's is a sad joke

Blokes who have spent their entire adult life running and working in the game also reckon it was a try.

I'll go with them

That's a different debate.

It doesn't mean the Bunker is shot - the rules are shot.

I'm not defending last night's decision but it comes down to the stupid rule changes and interpretations they're told to use. Under THOSE - the decision was correct.

That's a different debate.

It doesn't mean the Bunker is shot - the rules are shot.

I'm not defending last night's decision but it comes down to the stupid rule changes and interpretations they're told to use. Under THOSE - the decision was correct.
So you agree they were wrong?

Every legend who has watched and played the game have called it a try.
What does that tell you?

So you agree they were wrong?

Every legend who has watched and played the game have called it a try.
What does that tell you?
For f**k sake.

The point to be made isn't that the Bunker is a "joke" or a "waste of money". It's the rules and interpretations implemented. We'd have the same issues if it was a video referee.

Trying to pin it on the Bunker specifically is clouding the issue - simply put the rules have been over-tinkered.

Danish

Perhaps they should change the rules to say:

When tackled: Grounded

A player in possession is tackled:
(a) when he is held by one or more opposing players and the ball or the hand or arm holding the ball comes into contact with the ground BUT ONLY IF THE CONTACT IS CONSIDERED "ENOUGH"*

* enough shall be defined by the "common sense" of the general populace

please note this requirement for "enough" contact shall not be applied to a foot grazing the touch line, or the ball grazing the grass when attempting to score a try, for some reason...

retch

The ball goes nowhere near the ground...

He's not tackled...

Momentum...

Try...

f0rt4n.jpg

For f**k sake.

The point to be made isn't that the Bunker is a "joke" or a "waste of money". It's the rules and interpretations implemented. We'd have the same issues if it was a video referee.

Trying to pin it on the Bunker specifically is clouding the issue - simply put the rules have been over-tinkered.
For f**k sake you
Over tinkered?
No
It's a try
The point is precisely the bunker you dope .
Archer has to back his men.
How is it not the bunker?
The ref called it a try
Everyone at the game including the players thought it was a try.
Everyone in the world apart from Danish thought it was a try. ( he probably knows it was a try but won't admit it )
Then the bunker look at it and say no try.

Anyone with any knowledge of the game can clearly see it was not double movement .
It's just not.

Had to laugh at Sterlo last night watching the replay.
Probably one of the worst refereeing calls he'd ever seen.

Geeze that video makes it look more of a try
Napa pulls him about a metre into the in goal.

Anyway doesn't do my team any harm.
It was better if the Broncos lost .

Card Shark

The ball grazed the ground in his sweeping movement of forcing his way over.

The double movement rule has never been interpreted that way until the bunker started to over analyse everything.

That video above would be best viewed in normal speed to see how it all happened so quick, without a pause, where he was accused of then reaching out.

Danish

The ball didn't touch the ground. His elbow touched the ground. That constitutes a tackle as per the laws of the game for as long as I can remember.

Should we also view videos of players that may have just grazed the touch line prior to putting the ball down at full speed? Or is that different for some reason?

cant wait for the roosters next double movement try that gets dissalowed .
I'm guessing Danish will be bagging the bunker then.

seanoff

The ball didn't touch the ground. His elbow touched the ground. That constitutes a tackle as per the laws of the game for as long as I can remember.

Should we also view videos of players that may have just grazed the touch line prior to putting the ball down at full speed? Or is that different for some reason?

elbows touch the ground before the line all the time as players are tackled. thats not the rule. you cannot promote the ball after the tackle is completed. elbow on the deck is not a completed tackle. this isnt the NFL, you are not tackeld at the point your elbow touches the ground.

his momentum was never stopped. he was pulled over the line by the defence on top of that. if you interpret the rule as you suggest the scoring in the NRL will drop by about hlaf. .

Danish

Maybe I will. And if I do I'll be wrong due to blind bias.

You don't have to go back too far though. Demi Casty was denied a fair try in the 2014 semi against Penrith. No arm touched the ground. No momentum stopped. Held not called. Just a guy reaching out and putting the ball down to then be penalised. As I recall most of this forum and the channel 9 peanut gallery thought it was hilarious because he was French

Maybe I will. And if I do I'll be wrong due to blind bias.

You don't have to go back too far though. Demi Casty was denied a fair try in the 2014 semi against Penrith. No arm touched the ground. No momentum stopped. Held not called. Just a guy reaching out and putting the ball down to then be penalised. As I recall most of this forum and the channel 9 peanut gallery thought it was hilarious because he was French
Oh you will