Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The fattest man

Engine

What impact do you think the fat man will have on the Newcastle Knights?

On one hand, he seems like a hard ass to deal with and a big bully. But, he is a stern man and likes things done with honesty. I like his sacking of the Newcastle Jets coach because he had a truly dishonest employee. He had the courage of his convictions to sack him.

Will the fat man succeed or fail?

Southernsaint

I think he will meddle in Bennet's affairs and will cause Benny to depart before the end of the season...

To me it seems like he is a rich bully in the Murdoch/Packer mould. He will get some things done. He will piss off many people. He will not necessarily leave the club in better shape when he hands on the controls.

He needs to balance the toughness with some silk. Politis gets this right IMHO - the original wealthy club dictator (if you discount Packer and the Manly years) who has the patience and people skills that Naifan doesnt have.

I am not confident he will bring a premiership to Newcastle.

Stinkler

The Fat Man likes things done his way. If you piss him off, he will sack you.
He's done it for years with the Patinack Farm horse stable. Any horse trainer will tell you he's difficult to work for.

The way in which he went about buying the Knights was shonky.
The way he went about signing Kade Snowden was ethically diabolical.

The Fat Man's sacking of Branko Culina at the Jets was apparently made with very little consultation. As for Jason Culina's contract, the FFA won't cancel it, but the Fat Man will pay him out so he's never seen again in Newcastle.

The Fat Man has too much money, giving him too much power.
Too much power in the hands of a Fat Man with too few social morals is dangerous.

Good luck Knights.

CliffyIsGod

Too bad the fat man won't be around past abotu 50 years old. His heart is going to give up on him.

otori

The NBA has a ton of rich and arrogant owners who do things their way and win premierships. Mark Cuban is a great example of a rich and out there bloke who hired a good coach to assemble a winning team. People on LU are surprisingly brutal towards Tinkler so far though it's not really coming from Sharks fans which is strange

Jason Maher

What is it with Australians spelling the word "arse" as "ass"? When did we become the 51st state of Seppoland?

SwampyMarc

perhaps Bennett took up the 4 year offer with the knowledge that if he pisses off the fat man enough he'll get his 4 year payout and get marched early!

PaddyBoy

Don't know enough yet about the Culina debarcle. He was signed on the advice of his father and his injury was far worse than first thought.

The way he bought the club was a bit iffy, but the cheap tickets was a good initiative.

Hooch

Surely they did their due diligence on J Culina. I would sack the CEO over the coach, the coach shouldn't have been involved in negotiations due to the conflict of interest.

Tinkler is a dickswinger and I reckon there is huge potential for him and Bennet to clash heads.

Wait for a some losses and a bit of pressure and then we will see...

Seems like Culina signed his son and then when the club found out he was a crock they wanted rid and that became an issue with his dad, so they got rid of both. I don't think Tinkler actually had a say in it himself. Maybe he rubber stamped it, but it was not actually his call.

Stinkler

Seems like Culina signed his son and then when the club found out he was a crock they wanted rid and that became an issue with his dad, so they got rid of both. I don't think Tinkler actually had a say in it himself. Maybe he rubber stamped it, but it was not actually his call.

Nah mate.
Word is that Tinkler made the decision based on very little advice from the Jets football advisory board.

Hooch

Tinkler and his right hand man Palmer sacked B Culina in person, the muppet who purportedly runs the Jets was nowhere, you would think he would get the chop too at some point.

so as to avoid confusion with Inglis, Rose and Vautin, i've changed the thread title just slightly to make things a bit cleare (I hope lol)