Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

the fight at the leagues club..

Acka

Totally agree that there should have been more at the ground. We were surprised because we thought celebrations would have continued on after the players left but with nothing happening everyone obviously just headed for the club.

I actually thought the idea was to keep everyone at the ground to alleviate crowding at the club. If this was the case then further entertainment and more food/drink venues should have been a no brainer.

You do bring up a valid point. But there probably would've been a million complaints from the local residents if the club/council decided to do that.

gorilla

When oki finished everyone went to the club. That lack of planning caused the overflow. The ground should have had entertainment that went longer. Don't know who was organizing that, council or the club?

Should have been the club, Club leases it from LG, although it was a State Govt initiative ....

I was disappointed all the pubs/club closed as per usual Sunday. I just assumed there'd be special trading hours in place.

RSA culture has become far too overbearing.

Punk in Drublic

I reckon.

We tried the Royal at Carlton, then the Leagues club, then Allawah Hotel, then the Meridian, then the Ritz before finally figuring out that Club Central in Hurstville was the only place open in the whole area.

Tyler Durden

It's curious that the police would make such a statement about an autopsy before it's completed and when the matter is clearly one for the coroner. Sound suss.

the coroner issued a preliminary report that stated that there were no injuries caused to the head of the deceased by a baton. the deceased had bruises on his legs which was consistent with the use of a baton.

with all the reports flying around that the police used the baton to strike the deceased in the head,they asked the coroner if they could make the premliminary findings public so as to get some facts out in the open. the coroner agreed to that request.

a fair call really. if the police did not do anything wrong in the way that they used the baton, then get the truth out there.

The Nick

the coroner issued a preliminary report that stated that there were no injuries caused to the head of the deceased by a baton. the deceased had bruises on his legs which was consistent with the use of a baton.

with all the reports flying around that the police used the baton to strike the deceased in the head,they asked the coroner if they could make the premliminary findings public so as to get some facts out in the open. the coroner agreed to that request.

a fair call really. if the police did not do anything wrong in the way that they used the baton, then get the truth out there.

I absolutely hate police batons. I can't fathom an appropriate way for a police officer to use these? They're a brutal form of crowd control IMO.

On another note, are the staff at the Leagues club usually such jerks? The old mate on the TAB refused to cash my winning ticket for picking Darius Boyd for the CC Medal, trying to tell me that it had expired? (This was only the day after the GF) WTF is the go with that??

Deacon

He prolly didn't understand the tab many don't in hospitality so he prolly took the easy option and just used that as an excuse to cover himself

saint-colesy

I was right there just after it happened, saw the cops frantically trying to bring this bloke back with CPR and a defibrillator plus some other sh*t. I was told there that the bloke that died was tasered, its since come out in the papers that he wasnt but everyone i spoke to at the club who witnessed it said he was. They also said he was belted with a baton and kicked on the ground.

There was people crying and yelling at the cops. The Indian security guard was almost white with fear when he told people there was nothing to see, several blokes jumped in and abused the sh*t out of him.

The cops and employees there were trying to get everyone to leave but the dumbest part was we couldnt, i was stuck in a row of pokies for about 25 minutes before they let us out to go to the toilet.

Really put a damper on the night regardless of how or why it happened. I had time for 2 beers before they shut the club down after we had plans to be there all night.

The Dodger

the guy was tasered three times.

thats not including the belting he copped with the batons while lying defenselessly on the floor.

i know who the guys is, twin brothers steve and stephen.
they were well known with the police too...

Rexxy

Colsey why were people being asked to move?

What was the mood like? Were the police being threatening in any way?

I've been in the club when it's more packed and everything is fine. The fans are happy but maybe management were overly provocative?

I wasnt there so can only ask questions.

Also did anyone witness the assault in the official by three men over at the ground?

saint-colesy

I have no idea mate. They were just being difficult the whole night, there was no where to go. A coppa even told me to play a pokie whilst i wait...

They had the whole outdoor smoking/pokie area guarded off and the security guards were telling people there was nothing to see. To which some bloke replied "what do you mean there is nothing to see you merkins, you've killed one of us on the best night of our lives" They said nothing after that. You could see them threw the glass performing cpr and it wasnt pretty.

The cops inside the club just stood there and said nothing like an english guard. To me it was like they knew they'd done wrong. The mood was sickening, a woman was bawling her eyes out. She looked like she'd seen a ghost and was shaking in fear. A few other blokes were demanding to make statements but the cops didnt want to know anything about it. This went on for the best part of half an hour. Reception women were flipping out as well.

There was two security guards who were absolutely f**ked up. Their shirts were red with blood and they looked to be in Disney Land, one looked to have had serious damage to his eye. When they shut the place down one of them then had a neckbrace on.

saint-colesy

The blokes on the door were also being f**k wits. I walked in with 3 leagues club members and one other guest. They let my mate in but refused me entry as he didnt think i knew the person i was going in with. he then let about another ten members in before he grabbed a young girl and asked if she'd sign me in before allowing me to go in.

Was just stupid and unnecessary.

Acka

He prolly didn't understand the tab many don't in hospitality so he prolly took the easy option and just used that as an excuse to cover himself

Most people in hospitality have only got their RSA (Responsible Service Of Alcohol)certificate. Not too many have their RCG (Responsible Conduct Of Gaming) certificate.

big pat

Most people in hospitality have only got their RSA (Responsible Service Of Alcohol)certificate. Not too many have their RCG (Responsible Conduct Of Gaming) certificate.

or you could be like me a member of NAGG, not a good gambler, btw that tab at saints is one of the worst tabs i've been in.

Rexxy

Wow. I feel sick. This is a club I am a member of.

My club. Zippo was there too.

Zip what did you see?

Deacon

Many still hold a RCG certificate yet dont understand how to work either a tab or keno terminal

saint-colesy

Wow. I feel sick. This is a club I am a member of.

My club. Zippo was there too.

Zip what did you see?

Imagine what it was like being there mate. Me and my mate were yahooin and cheerin through the pokie room until we got stopped by police charging through, went to see what was going on and you know what happens after that.