Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

the fight at the leagues club..

This will get more coverage than our win

Still, horrible thing to happen. f**king Cops, all a bunch of heroes.

In an escalating environment after a nasty glassing incident with hysterical people about and others wanting to go on with it what should the police of done Einstein? Turned the other cheek? Perhaps pulled some guns and fire a few shots off Yankee style?

Goose

Nevan_

In an escalating environment after a nasty glassing incident with hysterical people about and others wanting to go on with it what should the police of done Einstein? Turned the other cheek? Perhaps pulled some guns and fire a few shots off Yankee style?

Goose

They could have started with not smashing his head in with a baton after spraying him with Capsicum Spray.

Nevan_

I have no doubt that the guy was being a fool. Was it necessary to use that amount of force on a guy that (allegedly) wouldn't move after being told to though? I don't think so.

Nevan_

Unless your actually a cop ur a an idiot!!! U have no idea mate.. Ppl can fight thru the spray no worries!0

I know that :roll:

Even if he did fight, which we don't know, that doesn't give them the right to bash his head with a Baton.

Apparently a security guard was hit with a Police baton too.

Nev ..

I don't wish to get into the argument because this incident has cost a life.

But in the good old days when the Police arrived or were around everyone would quickly and quietly disperse ... get out of the way ... leave the scene. Those that hung around were looking for trouble.

In these days the superheroes and village idiots have got to get in their faces (the police) and see how far they can push their limits. When the sh!t hits the fan they usually squeal like stuck pigs.

Seen it quite a bit, nothing changes. Just the names and the places.

I wish the boys in blue had a bit more power. There are quite a few gooses out there that are a few floggins short of being good blokes.

bmwpower

i tell you what doesnt work. all these new cops who look like kids and weigh about 60 kg, armed with dangerous weapons.
what they need are big tall coppers who can handle the situation, using force without causing injury.

steela

Police are doing their job, if that means they have to knock someone around a bit that's fine with me, especially violent people who want to knock someone around themselves.

it's sad that someone has died, but blaming the police is flat out wrong

lingard

Funny thing is; take the alcohol out of the equation and none of it would have happened.
My condolences too. Also to the police officers involved. No way they would have wanted this to happen.

Nevan_

Was he being violent though?

They claimed they weren't involved in a fight but had disobeyed a move on order from the police which led to the incident.

DRAGONZ_RULE

Nevan ... if the police were to ever come and tell me to get away, I would just move away. What in the hell is to be gained from trying to stand up to them?? There will only ever be one winner .... unfortunately here there are simply losers all round, because nobody wants to see a life lost.

Also, incredibly harsh of you to say that they bashed his head in .... you reckon they handcuffed the guy, sprayed his eyes, beat his head to a pulp with a baton and then tasered him repeatedly??

First of all, that is so far beyond believability that it does not comprehend ... and secondly, IF that ever happened, I would sure as hell be confident that the police had very good reason to do so.

Saying that police are thugs itching for a fight is incredibly naive and, from the point of view of the law, looking at things from a very one-sided perspective.

A real shame that a life had to be lost here .... but in simple terms, if someone doesn't put themselves into a stupid and compromising position, then nothing will ever happen. Ergo, if a bunch of policeman come over and tell you to move to another room, or leave the building .... you do it, and you do it quietly.

sharknows

Was he being violent though?

Of course not... he was actually sitting in the corner having a quiet game of chess with his elderly mother and the police thought he deserved a knock on the scone with a baton followed by a tazer dessert!!!!

FMD are you for real?

blake1979

I know that :roll:

Even if he did fight, which we don't know, that doesn't give them the right to bash his head with a Baton.

Apparently a security guard was hit with a Police baton too.

Have you ever seen a fight before mate , has every punch you ever seen landed where it was suppose to , same applies to police using Batons , it is aimed for certain areas but you cant always help misjudged or misplaced strikes.

stg666

first things first. my sympathy goes out to the family involved. what a shocking way to end what should have been a great day for them. secondly i am 100% behind all of quigs statement......... peace, love and THE DRAGONS.

Nevan_

I'm not saying the guy is an angel and did nothing wrong. I'm going by what witnesses have said.

Blake - Apparently the cop came in swinging the baton like an idiot and hit a security guard too. Sounds like precision to me.

DR - He wasn't tasered. he was, on the other hand, sprayed and hit with a baton.

I'm not naive, mate. I've just seen what these guys in the blue jumpsuits are like. I remember the time i saw two policemen choke-slam a 15 year old boy because he wanted to know why they asked him for his name. He wasn't aggressive, offensive or rude. He just asked a question. Did anything happen about it even though many eye-witnesses gave statements? No.

All very tragic. Until we know the detail, there's no point speculating or pointing the finger. It is usually the case that something like this could have been avoided, and therein lies the tragedy. But hindsight won't turn back the clock.

We do know that a lot of alcohol was being consumed on the night, and there was a fairly large police presence. Queues were getting longer. Simply too many people.

I managed to get into the club at around 9:30pm after checking out Jubilee Oval. Went back to Jubilee Oval again to meet up with mates. By the time the team celebrations were over, like most people we headed back to the club. But there were just too many people trying to get in. So we headed off for Pizza and beer in Sans Souci. By then it was after midnight, we'd just had a sensational day and night, so it was really time to go anyway.

We hardly paid attention to an ambulance on Rocky Point Road speeding towards Kogarah.

Winmar

Sky News just reported that a rugby league fan had died during the celebrations. They didn't sensationalise it, which was good.

Some people can't handle their grog, but it's a shame that it had to come to this. Imagine how his family must feel.

DRAGONZ_RULE

I'm not saying the guy is an angel and did nothing wrong. I'm going by what witnesses have said.

DR - He wasn't tasered. he was, on the other hand, sprayed and hit with a baton.

I'm not naive, mate. I've just seen what these guys in the blue jumpsuits are like. I remember the time i saw two policemen choke-slam a 15 year old boy because he wanted to know why they asked him for his name. He wasn't aggressive, offensive or rude. He just asked a question. Did anything happen about it even though many eye-witnesses gave statements? No.
Nevan - fair enough re the example you give, and I certainly won't be defending policeman to the hilt. As I said back in one of the first posts of this thread, there are idiots in every bunch. That applies to policemen too, as it does to lawyers, doctors, builders, and any other profession!

Anyway, relying on the eye-witness accounts for the time being won't get any of us far, because a number of the witnesses who have spoken to the media say that the deceased man was in fact tasered repeatedly .. everyone is confused and giving conflicting stories.

Ultimately, it's a very, very sad result coming out of what was a night of exhiliration and one which we have all waited a massive proportion of our lives for (for some, like me, 100% of our lives!). The deceased would have been 4 years old when St George won in 1979 ... so this was really the first Premiership victory he had ever seen too.

In the end, I'll keep on the straight and narrow: if the police tell you to leave, then you should leave, as there is nothing to be gained from opposing them.