Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Final Winter

McLovin

Probably not. Judging by the previews, it looks like an absolute cheesefest..

LESStar58

It's a rugby league movie.... of course I'm going to see it.

I'm looking forward to the day Scorcese or Oliver Stone do a sports drama a la "Any Given Sunday".... ;-)

Nuke

I saw the movie on Friday night with a few teammates here in Perth.

I quite liked it. I prefer it over 'Footy Legends' basically because the footy scenes are life-like, the hits are thunderous (using sound and visual effects), and they make you feel like you're almost out on the field wth them. The footy scenes from 'Footy Legends' are unexciting, and you know who's going to win based on the 'rise above turmoil' storyline.

2 True Blues

Not really an accurate account of the jets by any means though yeah ?? More a story based around the jets ?? Is there any accuarte history in it at all NB, or is it all fiction ??

roopy

MC84 said:
Probably not. Judging by the previews, it looks like an absolute cheesefest..
I saw it today - and from the previews i expected it to be high drama by average actors - and there was a few moments of that in it - but mostly it was pretty good.

The best part was the depictions of on field violence in the opening 10 minutes or so that looked real - and they put in a lot of footage from the 80s, especially in the closing credits, that was worth looking at.

Lot's of cameos that were funny - like the Newtown board having Max Krilich, Phil Sigsworth, Tom Raudonikus and a few other old players - and Thomas Kennenly manning the gate at Henson Park was funny.

I went to a session where pensioners got in cheap - and it was funny seeing the old blokes love it and the old chooks clucking about preferring the tennis and saying 'it isn't like that now is it?'.

langpark

I saw it today, thought it was great. Without giving anything away, I thought it might have ended a bit prematurely, but nevertheless. Thought matt johns was pretty good, so was the main character.

The footage at the end during the credits was great, and i'm sure would have brought a tear to the eye of those who lived through that era. Almost brought a tear to my eye.

newman

Review from the movie show which I agree with pretty much.

I’ve always wondered why people would want to “bring back the biff” to rugby league. But watching The Final Winter helped me see that it’s not the on-field slugfests people miss but rather the passion they represent.

The film is set in the early 1980s. The Angels are on the radio, no-one thinks twice about driving with a beer in hand, and performance enhancing drugs mean a cigarette at half time.

We meet Newtown Jets star player Grub Henderson during a ferocious game against St George, whose golden boy, by the way, is his younger brother Trent.

Grub lashes out at Trent on the field, costing Newtown a spot in the finals and possibly ending his career. It leads to a week in which he realises that he’s a dinosaur in a game that’s being sold out.

I can’t say I went into this with high hopes. Directors Brian Andrews and Jane Forrest are both first timers. Star Matthew Nable wrote it to be his debut film performance. Matthew Johns, best known as Reg Regan, has a major role. But The Final Winter’s performances are authentic.

Nable, as actor and writer, walks a fine line with Grub to make him both a true believing hero and a self-pitying thug in need of a check up from the neck up.

There’s fine work from Raelee Hill as Grub’s long suffering wife, John Jarrett as the heartless new CEO, and Nathaniel Dean as the type of player who’ll be the future of the game.

The footy scenes are stylish but bracing – you feel every thump – but the focus is on the well-drawn characters.

The Final Winter gets misty-eyed on occasion and restates its case once too often, but it’s also an entertaining insight into one man’s obsession at the end of an era.

It doesn’t knock The Club off its perch as the best Australian movie about sport, but it’s in same the ball park.

As a movie of two halves that gives 110 percent, this gets 3 1/2 stars. The Final Winter is in cinemas now

Once Dead

I saw it........it was a very solid movie........the quality of the film, visually was great and you could tell from the haircuts to the carpark filled with old cars that they did their very best to get that genuine feel, and they did a brilliant job as far as a I'm concerned.

Southernsaint

I enjoyed it and thought it was very well made for the budget they had.

There were some classic lines that had our cinema (Tight Arse Tuesday - 70% pensioners) laughing their heads off, particularly the line about playing for the Roosters!!

2 True Blues

newtownbluebags said:
more the depiction of an era 2TB

Well if they captured that mate, thay have suceeded without a doubt where memory banks sometime unfotunately fail. I hope it went well cause this is the last season those NRL money farkers have to worry about Wests, Jets, and Norths mate. FFS !!!!

Bring on the Cairns Cunnies and the Auburn Alligaters in 2008, f**k me and spare me . :hitit: