Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Good News Thread

mullet

I go to a specialists languages high school and two years ago it was proposed to make leanring a anguage in yr 11 and 12 compulsary yr 7 - 10 was bad enough but thank god it never happened

As for ext english imo its a waste, i did it in yr 11 topped the class but dropped it. 13 units was a waste for me and took to much time after school with classes and work

Maths im tragic. i do general and still only manage to average in the 60's :lol: :lol:

Salmon you'll find legal studies to be painfully boring. HEAPS of work and in a non racist way learning about aboriginals in EVERY topic i did (shelter family and the compulsary ones crime, Human rights and the other i cant remember) wasnt the most exciting thing to do.

Leagl studies HSC is on friday i'll let ya know how it was.

The other subject i do are pd/h/pe :evil: devil subject biggest load os BS, Society and culture was a great subject but the PIP was a bitch, commuity and family studies OMG piss easy

Booyah

Mr Angry said:
Times are a changing. LOL

Religion is a marked subject???????

Not entirely. ;-)

Only Studies of Religion (SOR). At least, thats how it is at my school.

The English wasn't bad yesterday..

Tomorrow will be alot harder though. Damned Modules. :x

We were forced to do crap modules too. 'Witness', The Club (reminds me of another club I know in real life! :lol: ) and Bruce Dawe and poems on consumerism.

Extension subjects (except maybe Maths) are definitely the way to go. I did English Extensions 1 and 2, and History Extension. I found Advanced English harder than both extensions and the same went for History.

SirShire

I did Italian but it was too hard to study for, so I am not choosing it as a HSC course. I will do Indonesian at TAFE though - it is preferrable that applicants for the army know Indonesian or Arabic.

Angry mate, 4 unit maths? Shiiit! Only about 2-3 students in every year group attempt 4 unit. We had a bloke doing it last year that went unreal apparently.

Haha Fiz, I love the logic behind the subject choices :D If thats was the way to go, I would have chose music for years 9 and 10. How was I to know that the ugly old lady would retire, and an incredibly attractive young female would replace her? Curse all my mates who do music!

Thanks Mullet. I am also told that Legal Studies holds little advantages for students who wish to pursue law at Uni. And with regards to Aboriginals, everything revolves around it now. History, English, PDHPE, RE, Geography, Commerce to name a few. Boring. I am sick to death of it.

I am starting with 14 units for year 11. I think I can drop one subject (possibly legal studies) and the extension math unit. I would probably pick up history extension for year 12. I would be very comfortable doing 12 units for HSC. Does anyone know if you can drop a subject in year 12? I know that you are meant to start with at least 12 in year 11 and are recommended to drop it down to 10 in year 12.

The problem with some subjects is that if you get full marks in the English Standard test, your marks get scaled down so that someone who did not go as well in Advanced English will end up with a better course mark. I am just happy that the extension units do not affect your core subject mark, ie if you get 100% for Mathematics and 25% for Ext 1 maths, you get a seperate score for each one and they do not have the effect of raising or lowering the score.

I am longing for the days when I do not have to worry about tests and assignments so I can do more stuff that I want to. School governs kids too much today. Approaching my yearly exams this year, I had over 5 assignments to do at once (which were given out after I completed another batch) as well as having to study.

Bring on a slab of beer and some good football :( I don't know why I am bitching, you poor buggers have got it tough enough for the HSC...

El Coconuto

Yeah, having done the HSC last year as well, there are definately easier schooling systems elsewhere. But in saying that there is no harm giving it your all. My course selection was predominantly based upon literacy skills (ok I lied I picked subjects that I could just ramble on and on in).

Special K

I'm doing :

3 unit english
general maths(I am terrible at maths!)
Legal Studies
Business Studies
Software Design
IPT
Religion (the one who doesn't count but the school makes me do it)

I might drop Software or IP soon. Dunno. I wanna see my report and their major assesments before I make up my mind.

What do you guys think about dropping a subject? Did you do it? It looks right now that I may not be dropping one. Harder work load I guess but I am going ok in all my classes :?

Hulk, I reckon dropping a subject is fine. I did Physics in year 11 but hated it and gave it the flick in year 12. It was the best decision I ever made.

As long as your reasonably confident in the subjects that you keep doing, I wouldn't worry about doing 10 units. I did 11, but that was because I wasn't confident with my maths and in the end only one unit from it went towards my UAI.

SirShire

I plan on dropping Math Ext 1 down to Mathematics for year 12, as well as my least favoured subject out of economics, business studies or legal studies, and possibly picking up ext history. So a 11-12 unit work load for year 12 and a 14 unit workload for year 11.

Special K

I am dropping extension english. I end up with 12 units and I only need 10.

I suck total balls at maths so maybe keeping software would help fix that in regards to my UAI 8)

Software's a bitch. I only coped because we worked in groups on our major work and I managed to get in a really good group. :p

Special K

With Softies I go ok at it and I have been told by the teacher that the assesment is the same as the year 11 one. Just bigger.

I am not the best at VB but I can learn I guess.

Meh. Too much thinking me hurt.

mullet

Salmon said:
Thanks Mullet. I am also told that Legal Studies holds little advantages for students who wish to pursue law at Uni. And with regards to Aboriginals, everything revolves around it now. History, English, PDHPE, RE, Geography, Commerce to name a few. Boring. I am sick to death of it.

in yr 11 for one week every subject except for maths discussed aboriginals so..........

hulk if u wanna drop i so go ahead Garbo gave the best advice just make sure your confident in all

now my break is finished back to study :roll: bloody modules

SirShire

Maths is my weakest. Its not the work (well it is) but I just would kill for an extra 10-15 minutes to finish off those last couple of questions and the ones I left.

I am happy about getting rid of science, its like studying for a math and a commerce (ie numbers and equations, and definitions and theories etc.)

My advice to anyone picking their subjects... if you know how to bullshit for pages on end, just pick as much English and History as you possibly can. Easy marks await you!

The same goes for University. Heaps of my mates chose science based courses and are failing stuff all over the place - because in science you're either wrong or right. I'm doing arts and I haven't failed anything, but I'm putting in much less effort, because it's all about interpretation - and uni lecturers don't have the balls to fail your interpretation unless it just totally sucks and had no backup.

SirShire

El Garbo said:
My advice to anyone picking their subjects... if you know how to bullsh*t for pages on end, just pick as much English and History as you possibly can. Easy marks await you!

The same goes for University. Heaps of my mates chose science based courses and are failing stuff all over the place - because in science you're either wrong or right. I'm doing arts and I haven't failed anything, but I'm putting in much less effort, because it's all about interpretation - and uni lecturers don't have the balls to fail your interpretation unless it just totally sucks and had no backup.

Nice, I manage to draw out 2-3 page extended responses in exams for history/commerce etc. most essay based subjects, and its the same in assignments.

I also think interpretation is how you see something, not the lecturer, so of course, there is a shitload of possible responses, all with different meanings.

Thanks Garbo! Thats reassuring since I've picked essay-based subjects.

Thats reassuring since I've picked essay-based subjects.

Of course, there's a downside. In the HSC, if you want top marks, you need to expect to write about a page in ten minutes for an essay. In a three hour exam, that's a hefty 18 pages. I had 2 three hour exams on the one day, and after 36 pages of writing I was well and truly f**ked.

SirShire

I can take it and I'm 16!

I think he was referring to a program called Visual Basic Jimbo

36 pages? Ouch! It pays to practice writing essays though too!