Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Henry hype

dubby

Tokyo_Raider said:
I can't wait for next year...

"Dobson must play"..."we need Dobson"...."Henry's holiding young players back"..... Week after bloody week.

And thus, the cycle continues.

henry will be OK, but I doubt he'll be as good a coach, at least initially, as Elliot.

You forgot to mention Zillman/Carney/Raston/Herbert/Tilse/Thurling...

SOULS 04

i do think theres alot of henry neil hype. :D

but hopefully it is justified... we'll see i guess.

thickos

IMO Henry's got the mother of all coaching jobs to get the Raiders firing in 2007. His most experienced player is Colin Best, he's lost 1200 games of NRL experience, has never coached an NRL game in his life and is expected to make big things happen with a side that hasn't gelled yet. So many new combos and new structures to learn. Add to that a brand new support staff at the Raiders...

.. I'm giving this guy half a season's grace before I say anything or even comment as to what I think of his style. He needs to be allowed to settle in.

Edwahu

Marc Herbert [CNTDN] said:
It would seem to me people are taking it as a given that he will be a far better coach than Elliott. Am I not supposed to question that??? Especially when these people are the ones who rate Stuart as the best in the game.

Some people are glad to see the back of Elliot but I dont think they have really been hyping up Henry that much. Most people have a wait and see attitude about Henry but are exctied about the players in the team.

Bay56

Edwahu said:
Some people are glad to see the back of Elliot but I dont think they have really been hyping up Henry that much. Most people have a wait and see attitude about Henry but are exctied about the players in the team.

* raises hand *

brenno

I'm not expecting big things next season. It will be a rebuilding year so i'm cutting neil and the coaching staff some slack next season.

Bay56

brenno said:
I'm not expecting big things next season. It will be a rebuilding year so i'm cutting neil and the coaching staff some slack next season.

Ditto ... but I will be expecting some young talented juniors to be finally given the chance to show their talents in FG irrespective of age.

canberra_raiders2k2

not many coaches actually play alot of juniors at once..look on every board...

WT "sheens keeps the young guys out"..

We will probably be forced to play the juniors since so many guys are on the way out though.

woodgers

thickos said:
IMO Henry's got the mother of all coaching jobs to get the Raiders firing in 2007. His most experienced player is Colin Best, he's lost 1200 games of NRL experience, has never coached an NRL game in his life and is expected to make big things happen with a side that hasn't gelled yet. So many new combos and new structures to learn. Add to that a brand new support staff at the Raiders...

.. I'm giving this guy half a season's grace before I say anything or even comment as to what I think of his style. He needs to be allowed to settle in.

Best comment yet. I'm just happy that we are finally changing things up.

woodgers

dubby said:

You forgot to mention Zillman/Carney/Raston/Herbert/Tilse/Thurling...

I hate these kind of comments. People are on a forum discussing matters related to the footy club and it is like it isn't allowed. Everyone has differing opinions on players and structures, some are more vocal than others, but whinging that others have been pushing their opinion or ideas forward is ridiculous. It is simple, if you don't like certain individuals calling for certain players/structures or anything else, debate the other side of the coin in a logical fashion and prove your point!

edabomb

We'll see if we're struggling midseason if everyone her is as civil as they are in foresight.......

SOULS 04

i dont think we'd be calling for henry's head that quickly. i mean if there are critisisms it will prolly be on legitimate issues.

dubby

woodgers said:
I hate these kind of comments. People are on a forum discussing matters related to the footy club and it is like it isn't allowed. Everyone has differing opinions on players and structures, some are more vocal than others, but whinging that others have been pushing their opinion or ideas forward is ridiculous. It is simple, if you don't like certain individuals calling for certain players/structures or anything else, debate the other side of the coin in a logical fashion and prove your point!

:roll:

Oh pull ya head in mate, it was a cheeky tongue in cheek comment. Its grumpy old turds like you that get so uppity over slight of hand comments and then get up the guy making it that make forums tense.

I have NEVER said people cannot make comments or discuss footy related matters. I appreciate different opinions.

What gets up my goat, and I'll put it into simple fashion so you understand it Woodgers, is that it gets a bit tiresome when you come in here every week, nearlly every day and read the same old crap over and over and over.

For years now I have read how Bay, R69 and a few others constantly carry on and make their "opinions" heard in relation to selections. Then you have guys like Jed , TR and myself who like to counter their opinions with our support of Elliot or whatever.

If you want to deny me the right to make a sarcastic or cheeky comment then you are being a hypocrite. I have the right to say what I bloody want mate, and if you don't like it, than take your own advice and bring forth a bloody solid argument rather than sook like a big baby.

Yes, I am sick of the worn out broken record: Elliot should pick;*insert comment here*

Yes I have the right to say so.

Yes you have the right to disagree.

Find a hill, get over it and call me when you grow up.

next season is going to be rough
it wouldnt matter who we had, next season is not going to be a fairy tale
ill be giving henry till at least 2008 before i start calling for his head if he is not up to code

Im confident under henry and with the talents of carney, TLL, weyman, TLL etc etc that if we have a reasonable season with injuries we will have a decent season of results
with 2008-09 being the money years so to speak

Frankly im not only excited about Henry's arrival, but estatic about Elliott departure, the Henry hype while reasonable is appearing large because everyone (or 90% of us) are dead keen on seeing the back of elliott

dubby said:
:roll:

Oh pull ya head in mate, it was a cheeky tongue in cheek comment. Its grumpy old turds like you that get so uppity over slight of hand comments and then get up the guy making it that make forums tense.

I have NEVER said people cannot make comments or discuss footy related matters. I appreciate different opinions.

What gets up my goat, and I'll put it into simple fashion so you understand it Woodgers, is that it gets a bit tiresome when you come in here every week, nearlly every day and read the same old crap over and over and over.

For years now I have read how Bay, R69 and a few others constantly carry on and make their "opinions" heard in relation to selections. Then you have guys like Jed , TR and myself who like to counter their opinions with our support of Elliot or whatever.

If you want to deny me the right to make a sarcastic or cheeky comment then you are being a hypocrite. I have the right to say what I bloody want mate, and if you don't like it, than take your own advice and bring forth a bloody solid argument rather than sook like a big baby.

Yes, I am sick of the worn out broken record: Elliot should pick;*insert comment here*

Yes I have the right to say so.

Yes you have the right to disagree.

Find a hill, get over it and call me when you grow up.

esentially you've just had a whinge about the same thing woodgers was saying... :lol:

greeneyed

I am stunned Marc is calling for Henry's head already, especially as Henry is Marc's best chance of being selected for first grade. Henry has said he will be going with the young talented players.

edabomb

I have no opinion on Henry. A few forum regulars have said they expect us to be a better team than this year in 2007 though, which I find a bit odd. Considering we are losing a heap of talent this must mean they believe the difference in a Henry coached side and an Elliott coached side will more than accout for this.

If Henry is so deadset keen on using youth why did he sign Dunneman??? I mean come on, he was average at best in his first stint in the NRL, how is going to be any better now he's 30?