Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The I was wrong thread

Crush

I never professed I new a lot about wine I simply told you what I like.

You in fact turned into the wine snob.

I am well aware that not all years are good years for wines so I have always been somewhat selective in what I choose other than straight out quaffers.

Re Chardonnay ii might be the variety of choice for you but just because it isn’t for others doesn’t mean they know nothing about wine they simply like what they like.

Re the foreign wines you list I simply advise that in my humble world I have simply supported the Australian wine industry over > 40 years and have on most occasions always been able to find something in the price range and taste requirements to suit my lifestyle.

Re the Terra Ross’s I simply said region for the fact that to the very best of my knowledge that soil type is not prevalent in all of the Coonawarra region thus why some wine makers make a point of saying grown on the Terra Rosa.

Last but not least wine is no different to footy players some people like them others don’t and some seasons they play better than they do in others so just like wine in the end our opinions, likes and preferences of them can change.
Hahahah!!!
All this started because you had a go at me for drinking Chardonnay!!!!
Now you’re lecturing me on “let people enjoy what they enjoy”
Lol, I love it OT, you never disappoint.

Hahahah!!!
All this started because you had a go at me for drinking Chardonnay!!!!
Now you’re lecturing me on “let people enjoy what they enjoy”
Lol, I love it OT, you never disappoint.
Crush (is wine crush the logic behind it)
I wasn’t actually having a real go at Chardonnay I was more taken aback and expecting a real dyed in the wool St George “big red v” type bloke to say “spat out my Penfolds Bin 128” (note I am giving you the accolade of at least a Bin Wine not just any old red)

Now from a Rooster or a Shark I would fully expect Chardonnay

Crush

Crush (is wine crush the logic behind it)
I wasn’t actually having a real go at Chardonnay I was more taken aback and expecting a real dyed in the wool St George “big red v” type bloke to say “spat out my Penfolds Bin 128” (note I am giving you the accolade of at least a Bin Wine not just any old red)

Now from a Rooster or a Shark I would fully expect Chardonnay
Yes OT, Crush is my name for its wine reference, well spotted.
And the reason I am a Dragons supporter actually is because my father was a senior wine maker for Penfolds.
I grew up drinking BIN wines and dad still breaks out something special from time to time (I pretend to enjoy them but would prefer a good Chardonnay)

ALSGI

Always get a few 1litre bottles of shiraz from Costco when we’re there and thoroughly enjoy them.

Bit more fussy when it comes to Gin though.

ALSGI

And the reason I am a Dragons supporter actually is because my father was a senior wine maker for Penfolds.
I grew up drinking BIN wines and dad still breaks out something special from time to time (I pretend to enjoy them but would prefer a good Chardonnay)
So wine Crush eh, always wondered.
I’ve had the pleasure of using my feet as a kid with both red and white grapes. Dad made his own for a while - by all reports all quiet shit - he couldn’t even give the stuff away but good memories crushing.

And absolutely nothing wrong with any of that.

If you can’t find an Australian wine to suit your average needs then there is something fundamentally wrong with you.

I am sure our wives looked upon as “The Grange Hermitage” of its day whilst other women thought us to be nothing more than Chateau de Cardboard
When I owned my business about 6 years ago now since I retired, I used to travel the world on a regular basis. Australian wines and Fosters Larga were readily available and held in high regard by the locals.

Crush

Now we’re talking my language.

Australia is making some excellent gin at the moment. As well as importing some great international ones.

I keep going back to four pillars. But the last couple of years have been a great ride.
Have you been to their distillery mate?
I went last year, they do it well.

SBD82

Have you been to their distillery mate?
I went last year, they do it well.
I haven’t. But I’ve got an old mate with a holiday house in Healesville so I reckon I’ll be doing the trip at some stage.bit jealous you’ve been there.

Scarily, I’ve just discovered that the Four Pillars laboratory in Surry Hills is only a couple of doors down from where I train. This could get dangerous.

ECDA899F-580D-40F7-9CDF-144B74EA8C2D.jpeg

Yuk ! None of you blokes have any taste , now the Coolabah was a real man’s wine - had a sort of tangy taste to it though , the cardboard perhaps ?

Crush

View attachment 47073

Yuk ! None of you blokes have any taste , now the Coolabah was a real man’s wine - had a sort of tangy taste to it though , the cardboard perhaps ?
I’m no expert on cask wine Gareth but I think you will find that there is a bladder inside the cardboard and therefore the wine doesn’t actually come in contact with the cardboard therefore debunking your theory that the “tangy taste” comes from the cardboard?
I can’t be sure though.....

TruSaint

r8RbPZ2.gif

If you don’t want to pretend anymore just PM dad’s details I am sure I could takeover for you