Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The last straw for Channel Nein

I Bleed Maroon

http://www.couriermail.com.au/sport...ames-live-to-air/story-e6frep5x-1226332102550

CHANNEL 9 will refuse to switch this weekend's representative games to their digital networks - virtually ending any chance of watching Friday night's Test match between Australia and New Zealand without knowing the result. "Fair dinkum, it's not good enough," said Garry Jack, who played 20 Tests for Australia.
Footy fans will need to ignore mobile phones, text messages, websites, Twitter and Facebook if they want to watch the Test from Eden Park unaware of the winner.
Blog with Dog: What do you think of Nine's decision to show both games on delay? Have your say from 12:30pm Thursday.
Nine yesterday confirmed the station would telecast both games on delay rather than live coverage on Go! or Gem.
The Test kicks off at 6.15pm Australian time but will not be shown until 7.30pm, with the match all but over by the time it reaches our screens.

Nine will show its News at 6pm, ACA at 6.30pm and The Block at 7pm.
On Sunday, the City-Country game kicks-off in Mudgee at 3pm but won't be telecast until 4pm.
It will be half-time when the coverage begins.
Seriously, putting a major sporting event like the Test second to a piece of shit show like The Block whose last season bombed at the last hurdle. Seriously, what the hell is wrong with them? Does GEM and Go even have a point to exist apart from repeats?

Normal programming.

Its stupid starting a test on Friday Night at 8.15 if you are worried about overseas live coverage. The ARL/NRL f*cked up this weekend by having the stupid suspended weekend of boredom. Hardly 9's fault if they have such stupid scheduling.

How hard is it to ignore an overseas footy score for a couple of hours anyway?

Evil Homer

But it isnt done correctly!

Two lousy games! Pathetic!
That doesn't mean the idea is wrong. Super League booked a similar free weekend for England to play their stupid Exiles match, and France, Wales and Ireland have all taken advantage and organized fixtures too. Hopefully the Southern Hemisphere will catch on soon enough.

Bretto

It's not a matter of if its Channel 9's fault or not, the fact is Channel 9 have 3 channels they could show this game on live to Australia. The list of shows they have chosen to show to Australians over the live test match are: A Current Affair, The Block, Friends (repeat), The Zoo, The Adventures of Shark Boy and Lava Girl.

If anyone at Channel 9 can justify this, I will fair dinkum eat a live turtle, shell and all.

_snafu_

341313-nine-kangaroos-tv.jpg

IanG

And they don't have anti siphoning laws to hide behind anymore either cause they've been give the ok to show it on digital channels.

They'll probably claim the time difference and it's probably the same reason they'll probably never take an Origin game to NZ

carlosthedwarf

I can't see how this is 9's fault, for one the AFL now has a free weekend to broadcast nation wide. The ARLC/NRL have knocked on here.

From Nine's point of view they only lose 1 game (second Friday night). There's no reason they couldn't start it from 7pm.

Springs

I'm all for the testbeing shown live but saying this:

Footy fans will need to ignore mobile phones, text messages, websites, Twitter and Facebook if they want to watch the Test from Eden Park unaware of the winner.

is a bit silly. Does everyone send their mates spoilers in texts now? How hard is it really to ignore these things for an hour?

ozenzud

Having a standalone weekend for the Anzac test is absolutely right. International RL should be given this sort of status. If they did this, and stuck to it, the tradition would evolve and get better and better.

NZRL/ARL stuffed up by not making it a Saturday 7.30 kick off in NZ, so live at 5.30 on a Sat in Oz. Dunno why they didn't. Maybe Eden Park was booked out for the Auckland Blues?

A little off point, but relevant is that I know I am in the minority in that I think SOO is good footy, but state v state, mate v mate? Whatever. Beside being full of rednecks, I really couldn't care less whether Queensland or NSW wins. Internationals should stir much more passion than a provincial border. Tests should be given more focus that state footy.

Origin was invented because NSW used to thrash Queensland by heaps. Interstate RL had lost is appeal.

SOO should only be a trial for the Australian teams. Its ridiculous that a player gets picked for Australia so he can play for NSW....rather than NZ. Thats geniused.

For that matter, City v Country should be a trial for NSW. Otherwise it is meaningless!

jbl31649

I say this again. Has anyone sent a nasty email to NRl yet. Get everyone you know to do this.

Sh#t broadcast it across facebook, tell your friends come on people power!

ozenzud

Nothing to do with the NRL. Its the RL commission that makes these decisions now. The NRL answers and should answer to the commission which looks after the RL itself. Not the interest of 16 franchises.

is a bit silly. Does everyone send their mates spoilers in texts now? How hard is it really to ignore these things for an hour?
it's three hours as you have take into account the two hours of game time as well as the hour delay

some11

It's not a matter of if its Channel 9's fault or not, the fact is Channel 9 have 3 channels they could show this game on live to Australia. The list of shows they have chosen to show to Australians over the live test match are: A Current Affair, The Block, Friends (repeat), The Zoo, The Adventures of Shark Boy and Lava Girl.

If anyone at Channel 9 can justify this, I will fair dinkum eat a live turtle, shell and all.

This, we shouldn't have to put up with delayed shit when they can show it live on digital channels!

The fact that they refuse to just shows they don't give a f**k about the game.

The anti syphoning law doesn't allow them to show it on their digital only channels. After the full digital switchover, whenever that happens, life will be much easier.