Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Official Dylan Brown thread

T-Boon

He is good for a 20 year old playing his first few games as a half. I think he has some things up his sleeve as far as running game goes. Seems a bit obsessed with putting Lane into his line. As said needs to be heads up at running a bit more. I like him.

He just needs to take the pressure and predictability of the ball going to Moses, as teams know it is going to Moses they are in his face by the time he gets the ball, every time!
Yep that’s my point. Need to do more tackle 5 kicks from our own half.

Salmon looks to me like he's fairly reluctant to get tackled with the ball and attempt one on one tackles.

He ran the ball 9 times and was tackled on 6 times. And once or twice he took a tackle when our timing messed up, rather than force it.

For comparison both our centres ran less and were tackled on as many (Taka) or fewer (Jenko) occasions.

Moses (3 runs) and Mahoney (6 runs) combined for the same number of runs as Salmon. I didn't reckon he had much of a worry about running the ball or being tackled tbh

Happy MEel

He ran the ball 9 times and was tackled on 6 times. And once or twice he took a tackle when our timing messed up, rather than force it.

For comparison both our centres ran less and were tackled on as many (Taka) or fewer (Jenko) occasions.

Moses (3 runs) and Mahoney (6 runs) combined for the same number of runs as Salmon. I didn't reckon he had much of a worry about running the ball or being tackled tbh
Agreed. His running game is his strength and he should focus on that. He could do a lot worse than watch how Foran played at Manly to model his game on, partuclarly whilst he’s in the halves.

Captain BF

Fair enough mate.

The problem is he isnt really "running" with it. He more just gets caught with it and gets tackled, often just surrendering. He rarely looks like taking the line on and trying to have a go. He did actually try and take the line on once today. He should do it more

Well he made more metres than Peni Terepo, and three of his runs were recorded as hitups. So he must have had some intent.

The trick is to get him more space I reckon

Djay

Salmon doesn't over play his hand and kicked actually quite well today forcing 2 line drop outs.

I just think with him at 6, we are extremely predictable and it puts a lot of pressure on Moses with our attack.

That's no blight on Salmon because he has done an admirable job and we are still winning, but Brown has been a massive loss. He took pressure off Moses and we were able to attack from both sides of the field and be unpredictable.

Just our luck that our boom rookie could be out all year.

I know that Salmon is playing that link man role. Is calm under pressure and a good defender, but I wish he would take the line on and play a bit of eyes up footy. Also, when will he get his kicking licence? We need Dylan Brown back ASAP.

W.Smith is an option if we want some spark.
Brown most likely wont play this season. To young and fragile to risk imo.

He just needs to take the pressure and predictability of the ball going to Moses, as teams know it is going to Moses they are in his face by the time he gets the ball, every time!

I dont think he offers anything in halves. Just fills a spot in the line.

emjaycee

He is good for a 20 year old playing his first few games as a half. I think he has some things up his sleeve as far as running game goes. Seems a bit obsessed with putting Lane into his line. As said needs to be heads up at running a bit more. I like him.
Given that every time someone asks him, BA makes it clear Salmon is doing his job, I would suggest his job is to get the ball to Lane as much as possible. Lane has been and can be destructive and we are better served having Salmon get the ball to him and then follow for the possible offload.

I heard he was due back in round 7 but BA hired someone to break the arm again just to make sure he wasn't available for selection in any grade.... So it's now round 14.... unless he meets with some more "misfortune".....

LOL. Stephen King's "Misery" all over again.

c11e3dc5c2af1249d842c48f0061f0a4

yy_cheng

Are with the salmon should run more suggestions especially modelling after foran.

I reckon they should get taka more involved in the kicking. There should be times where it goes from moses to taka for a kick. Taka can be at fullback for a big punt or out wide in the centres for the kick. Taka has kicked b4. Canberra does a play whereby the centres kick and I think it is quite successful. Moses is always under pressure for each kick

I know that Salmon is playing that link man role. Is calm under pressure and a good defender, but I wish he would take the line on and play a bit of eyes up footy. Also, when will he get his kicking licence? We need Dylan Brown back ASAP.
Give him time. He seems to be improving slightly, week to week.

Gazzamatta

Are with the salmon should run more suggestions especially modelling after foran.

I reckon they should get taka more involved in the kicking. There should be times where it goes from moses to taka for a kick. Taka can be at fullback for a big punt or out wide in the centres for the kick. Taka has kicked b4. Canberra does a play whereby the centres kick and I think it is quite successful. Moses is always under pressure for each kick
Gutho can kick. He does the drop outs dosent he?