Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The root cause

Since 73

It’s a team game, we have a top eight side not a top 4 side.

That’s the cold hard facts. They should be world beaters, but lack starch across the team in areas.

The root cause is the coach.

Four years into his tenure, with iis squad playing his game plan, it’s hard to argue.

But you all knew I’d say something like that.
Common opinion is saying when Fotz arrived this squad was top 4 but couldn't get to a Prelim.
He was brought in with the remit to make us tougher, mentally and physically to go the next step.

In reality he has taken us the other way.
Out of the 4.

And softer, mentally and physically.

Peach & Apricot

Can we give Hynes paternity leave to have kids with his pert bird so we can then select someone else at #7 without officially dropping him

We are no better off, after 4 years of Fitz then before.
He came after we sacked Morris, so of course we missed finals in 2021, prior to that had not missed since 2014.
What has protected Fitz is that he comes over as a nice guy, we have the least amount of of field issues, the players do all the PR stuff well.
On top of that the Panthers just keep winning.
But now 4 years in everyone of these players he has signed off on, the majority have now played 100 games min, and have now peaked and quire a few on other side.
Unless major overhaul, we will become what happened to Parra, changes need at end of season, and they need to be substantial, not just having Uele potentially leave.
It worries me the club still are talking to Kennedy, they need to be brave and move him on

Since 73

2 of the most cliched comments failing clubs like to throw around are 'need a cleanout"...and...''rebuilding phase'.

We've always been spared that conversation.

However, we may be arriving at it soon...

shadowboxer

Top 4 side under Morris? Yeah nah.
Anyone who stood on the hill at Brookvale for that semi final that we couldn’t lose would beg to differ. Had to be up there with one of the most insipid performances I’ve witnessed. Shaun Johnson performance was embarrassing. No pressure, no worries.
The fact he came back to shark park and handed us a serve on 2 separate occasions, spoke volumes of what Morris tenure meant.
Yes, they currently are way below par and are stale, but Morris was not the answer then and not now.

Fitz hasn't improved the team, we are still in the same spot.
Fitz has had the team 4 years 100 games, that's basically for a lot of our players close to 3/4 or more of there career

They play a certain way, in his time the biggest adjustment he made was removing the sweeping play we used to do in his first 2 seasons that was more to do with Moylan going I believe.
In 4 years only one change in the spine Trindall for Moylan that's it

Since 73

Kennedy NEVER runs the sweep play he perfected. Katoa and Ronnie would have a ball on the back of it - and compete every year for top try scorer, both 20+
Neither winger would feature in an opponents tip sheet pre-game now.

Ramien has lost his game totally. Troubles nobody.

Trindall doesn't know his role. Hes not the 7 and he doesnt run any more so he cant play 6. He's still learning the role apparently. He's a slow learner because after 100 games hes gone backwards.

The 7 was never, and will never, be a halfback. What he fails to bring from that key position is the catalyst for the team sliding backwards.

Nikora (see Ramien)

Mcplod is a coach favourite but would not start nor be captain at any other club.

Brayley is the one player who hasn't gone backwards (Iro and AFB haven't had enough exposure to fitzs coaching yet) but has shown he has enough game that he should be further along for his age and 100 games (see Galvin for reference).

The forwards have become a crew of inconsistent performers who dont own anybody week after week.
Wilton excepted (future captain).

JC and Burns would be busting down doors at the rorters.
See how guys like Billy Smith and victor come into first grade and demand a starting role and are ready to go from their first go.

That side of Hynes, Nikora, Ramien, Katoa have been out of sorts all year.

stonestreet when he played actually scored tries compared to Katoa.

Not one of the 4 have shown they should be picked each week

Bookie

Kennedy NEVER runs the sweep play he perfected. Katoa and Ronnie would have a ball on the back of it - and compete every year for top try scorer, both 20+
Neither winger would feature in an opponents tip sheet pre-game now.

Ramien has lost his game totally. Troubles nobody.

Trindall doesn't know his role. Hes not the 7 and he doesnt run any more so he cant play 6. He's still learning the role apparently. He's a slow learner because after 100 games hes gone backwards.

The 7 was never, and will never, be a halfback. What he fails to bring from that key position is the catalyst for the team sliding backwards.

Nikora (see Ramien)

Mcplod is a coach favourite but would not start nor be captain at any other club.

Brayley is the one player who hasn't gone backwards (Iro and AFB haven't had enough exposure to fitzs coaching yet) but has shown he has enough game that he should be further along for his age and 100 games (see Galvin for reference).

The forwards have become a crew of inconsistent performers who dont own anybody week after week.
Wilton excepted (future captain).

JC and Burns would be busting down doors at the rorters.
See how guys like Billy Smith and victor come into first grade and demand a starting role and are ready to go from their first go.
Billy smith is a head taller than Ramien Nikora and Katoa. We just need big fellas.

I actually don't think we have many players with footy smarts, being able to decide during the game what to do without instruction.

I am not talking the inexperienced players but those over 100 games

Surely

Stonestreet scored tries because he positioned himself to run into the pass at speed.

Anyway speed we don't have it, love to see Gabriel given a shot, and Stonestreet in for katoa