Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The root cause

DJDL

Anyway speed we don't have it, love to see Gabriel given a shot,

Agreed.
Concerns over his conditioning for first grade can maybe be put to bed by playing Sifa there for 20 minutes or so.
But I think Gabrael needs to be given a run.

and Stonestreet in for katoa

After 11 weeks of Stonestreet, I thought I'd never question Katoa again.
That only lasted about 3 weeks of Katoa returning.

Katoa is a habitual offender when it comes to almighty clangers.
Yes, he's capable of the odd bit of brilliance, but pharque me he can balls it up.
I've seen enough.
Stonestreet may not be the answer, but, after 122 games, I'm damn sure Katoa ain't either.

We haven't seen much of it this year, but Sam does have blistering speed.
It didn't get mentioned, as he never received the ball, but he showed great speed here to backup a Kennedy break against Manly. Watch from around 1:15 and see where he comes from.

Craigshark

The one thing we missed was Katoa’s kick returns and carries out of our own end, which would more often than not have us on the front foot. Stonestreet would get folded. Katoa hasn’t exactly been providing it, has been in a habit of running sideways and losing ground. Has lost a bit of his ability to bounce out of tackles it seems.

glenmoresharkie

Katoa has been a reflection of the whole team this season. Completely mediocre and doesn’t have a good enough coach to either give him a rocket or get him out of the form slump

That side of Hynes, Nikora, Ramien, Katoa have been out of sorts all year.

stonestreet when he played actually scored tries compared to Katoa.

Not one of the 4 have shown they should be picked each week
Stonestreet? Hmmm ok get the spreadsheet out.

what is the ratio of try’s scored to try’s conceded by his poor defence ?

carinashark

We are no better off, after 4 years of Fitz then before.
He came after we sacked Morris, so of course we missed finals in 2021, prior to that had not missed since 2014.
What has protected Fitz is that he comes over as a nice guy, we have the least amount of of field issues, the players do all the PR stuff well.
On top of that the Panthers just keep winning.
But now 4 years in everyone of these players he has signed off on, the majority have now played 100 games min, and have now peaked and quire a few on other side.
Unless major overhaul, we will become what happened to Parra, changes need at end of season, and they need to be substantial, not just having Uele potentially leave.
It worries me the club still are talking to Kennedy, they need to be brave and move him on
Morris copped heaps from posters on this forum, but he knew how to bring on juniors. Fitz is now two years behind in junior recruiting. Age has caught up with us. It will be a long time before we see the eight again. I think we should merge and move to Wollongong. Saints and Sharks need to build a South Coast brand. A new brand. Sydney is moving south so should we.

Craigshark

Morris copped heaps from posters on this forum, but he knew how to bring on juniors. Fitz is now two years behind in junior recruiting. Age has caught up with us. It will be a long time before we see the eight again. I think we should merge and move to Wollongong. Saints and Sharks need to build a South Coast brand. A new brand. Sydney is moving south so should we.

south? Every cent is spent on western Sydney. It’s all you ever hear about. Western f**ken Sydney.

Since 73

Seems AI hasent been watching the sharks as close as it thinks.
360 tonight.
From the 25 mins.
Anasta paints a picture that blows those stats out of the water.

He questions Riccio about lack of team changes and a team that has no SOO players and continually gets beaten through that period.

Riccio who lives to turn up some heat on other teams turns to dust when asked to comment on great mate Fitz.

Has Braith been reading the forums or is it that obvious.

Honeymoons over for the coach.
The heat is on.

roboshark

Seems AI hasent been watching the sharks as close as it thinks.
360 tonight.
From the 25 mins.
Anasta paints a picture that blows those stats out of the water.

He questions Riccio about lack of team changes and a team that has no SOO players and continually gets beaten through that period.

Riccio who lives to turn up some heat on other teams turns to dust when asked to comment on great mate Fitz.

Has Braith been reading the forums or is it that obvious.

Honeymoons over for the coach.
The heat is on.
What about that moron ginnane who knows nothing. Says sharks have had a very soft draw this year. They had the 5th hardest. Just another oxygen thief jumping on the bandwagon of something he knows nothing about

Craigshark

Braith was right, but he can be a bit of a dick sometimes. He says he has to remain independent blah blah, but his favouritism and loyalty to both the roosters and dogs is disgusting, to the point the whole show pretty much revolves around both those teams every f**ken night. Riccio had stated something earlier about the roosters he didn’t agree with, so he went hard for the sharks, and rightfully so and Riccio couldn’t gather himself. Just blamed it on the team taking the shit teams too lightly, which is a pathetic excuse.

The problem is, they’ll mention it for the one off 5 minute segment and then not come back to it until the sharks are bundled out, where they’ll dedicate another 3 minute segment to it before discussing how good ciraldo is for bringing in Galvin again for the 900th time.

Big Bloke

We've had the soft underbelly for years. 2016 was a blip on the radar.

Back in the early 90s I worked for an insurance company that hired some high profile footy players to boost sales. I worked with two of them Garry Jack and Paul Langmack. Larrikans both of them but I got on with them OK. They were pretty friendly and always happy to talk footy.

But when talk came of the Sharks, they were pretty condescending. Neither rated us as a team or a club. Garry Jack always referred to us as the Gummy Sharks. Said we were soft and knew when the Tigers played them they would just turn up the heat and we would crumble. Langmack would just laugh for ages whenever I wanted to talk them up.

I must admit in the early 90s we were a bit of a rabble. ET was still with us but we didn't make the finals I think for around 5 years in a row until 1995.