Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Rumours Thread

AFL.. International.. saying this as if it's a given proves your argument has officially lost all credibility
AFL get 100k to a club game on Anzac Day so no need to be international

The test series v England used to draw a crowd of 55k at the SCG these days they play it in a country location

AFL is truly national with strong grass roots support in all states and territories and makes a mockery of the term NRL

Slippery Morris

Nothing wrong with being truly National. Look at the NFL in the States. They seem to do ok. I bet the Union would love to be bigger Nationally but they are nowhere to be seen, but international wise kill both NRL and AFL. Personally I would rather be bigger nationally and not like the Union.

This fascination of Rugby League trying to be big internationally is beyond me. They are huge in Fiji, PNG, Samoa and Tongo but unfortunately not big powerful rich nations. Work on building them up and make league the No.1 sport in those countries is more important I feel. Who cares about going to the US.

Victoire

At present, the AFL is kicking the ARL's arse by >10 x <1 at the AUS local level and if the trend will continue once AFL expands internationally then Ruby League dies a very slow death at the hands of the current gamoto malaka greek pusti and the dopey lebo Hiaar Kus.
laughing-hysterically.gif

Slippery Morris

Losing Latrell and Turbo has been Freddy's downfall. When they both missed most of the origin series playing together, the team has lost and is not the same. Those 2 playing at there best is second to none.

Maybe next year under Flanno, Lomax has a blinder and gets a NSW jersey. He is capable of being great and I feel he is an Origin type player with passion. Him and Campbell Graham would be great. Both played together in the Aussie rep teams. That is if Latrell and Turbo are out injured again.

Mojo

Rugby league is tribal, grass-roots, suburban contest. Keeping it that way will make it an international phenomenon - rather than changing the game to such an extent that it kills it at the roots.

Draginzaaar

"and hunt has just told john gibbs on abc that he will be playing friday night"

I reckon his whole circus act has mystified the whole NRL world and he has realized his actions over the last 5 days or so have backfired severely on him and his Missmanger.

But if it gets rid of Harran and Doust and another Sticky board member then Ben....job well done!

I suspect that he only plays approx 30 mins in SOO2 as a direct response to his actions, leadership, character, and leadership at the club level. I think he needs to buy a bigger shovel or excavator to dig his own grave sooner than later if the above is not his goal with Flanno.

I'm not a betting man, but I reckon 1 of the 2, possibly 3.

1. He swallows his own shit and owns his massive mistake and carries forward with Flanno to rid the shit hierarchy

2. Saints hold firm (ala Shrek Tallis) and make him sit out with NRL for the next 2.5 years if he is being a sook

3. Take a massive transfer fee from Super League heavyweights for 24 & 25, which by then his $1M may be worth a peanut or 2 or 3.

Player swaps and compensation are not plausible because like-for-like candidates are not available at an under-mand 13-team comp.

The gamoto malaka greek pusti and the dopey lebo Himaar Kus are running this once-great sport in the constantly corrupt facade of a once professional sport.

THIS GAME IS DEAD at all levels and sooner than later we will be battling England/Lebanon/Scotland/USA/ PAcific Nations etc... for a win in the future

At present, the AFL is kicking the ARL's arse by >10 x <1 at the AUS local level and if the trend will continue once AFL expands internationally then Ruby League dies a very slow death at the hands of the current gamoto malaka greek pusti and the dopey lebo Hiaar Kus.

Moving forward the spectacle of NRL will become part-time akin of Sunday morning spectacle or Mario Milano v's Killer Kowalski.

It's heading this way day by day...NRL is a dying sport mark my words
Yeah Nah.

blacksafake

hewi

Warmer there than Wollongong and the board and or owners are showing they are hungry for success unlike the morons running our club. He and Hunt can share the truck with all their possessions to get there.

Victoire

Thats how business should be done behind closed doors instead of being played out in the medai like our clowns did....
Very impressive stuff by the Titans (despite having the advantage of being a little "out of sight, out of mind"). Very tidy work to wrap it up efficiently like that.

However I do notice this on their press release:

"The Gold Coast Titans and head coach Justin Holbrook have today agreed to part ways, effective immediately.

Holbrook has made a strong contribution since joining the club in 2020, however as the club works towards the 2030 strategy of bringing success, the decision has been made to move in a new direction. "

2030! Someone better warn Benny Hunt about the rebuild

offiah

Very impressive stuff by the Titans (despite having the advantage of being a little "out of sight, out of mind"). Very tidy work to wrap it up efficiently like that.

However I do notice this on their press release:

"The Gold Coast Titans and head coach Justin Holbrook have today agreed to part ways, effective immediately.

Holbrook has made a strong contribution since joining the club in 2020, however as the club works towards the 2030 strategy of bringing success, the decision has been made to move in a new direction. "

2030! Someone better warn Benny Hunt about the rebuild
At least they have a strategy. Has the club ever mentioned a strategy and working towards it?

Slippery Morris

Holbrook was notified today at 9:30pm apparently so may not have even seen it coming. He did not even get 6-10 games to prove himself or was told to re-apply for the head coaching role.

Take note Saints. If you want to media to not be on your case for months when you are looking to sack your coach just follow the Titan's lead. Get the new coach lined up then call in the coach and tell him to pack his bags. Do it all in 1 go not delay the media circus.

Made sense why Dessie was not in the picture for Saints. Also how the Titans all of a sudden found room in the cap for Hunt and made Hunt act this way, similar to Saab. Dessie is a specialist when it comes to getting his man.

Ben would be silly not to go to the Titans and go to the Dogs or Tigers now. Titans all of a sudden look much more likely for a finals birth than those 2.

Ghostrider22

One thing Hunt has said is that when he resigned he was promised things would change including recruiting some quality players...hahaha...noone of note has been signed because of that incompetent Haran
You’re absolutely right twinkletoes, he is the dumpster fire at the Dragons, the whole footy club will be so much better him gone. Let’s hope Shane f@@ks him off.