Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Rumours Thread

Nutz

We are good friends Nutzster, but I want change yesterday.

Except in the most rare of circumstances, dying of heatstroke at training is one of the most preventable deaths I can think of.

I’m not having any of it my son.
I agree mate, it is avoidable and it is. There are thousands of professional and semi professionals training in the heat here and all over the world. How many times has this happened? I'm
just saying let's show some respect, wait for more details and see what happens.
That's all on this topic from me my trusted ol fury tiger you.
Come home :)

Auntie.Gerald

Love the passion Silver

but mate there are two truths re the hierarchy of prevention and a long line of diseases and acute situations we could prevent that stack way above !!!!

only 300 deaths a year occur from heat stroke in Oz and very very very very small amount are pro athletes.

We have incredibly smart health teams surrounding most of our top level athletes

minimum 42,700 aussies die of heart disease each year

World Heart Fed https://world-heart-federation.org/... of cardiovascular,and “knowing your numbers”.

An estimated 80% of cardiovascular disease, including heart disease and stroke, is preventable. The main elements of CVD prevention are healthy diet, physical activity, avoiding tobacco, and “knowing your numbers”.

TheRev

I recall the solar panel blokes spend a day on my roof on a blistering summer day in qld.. couldnt believe the conditions they worked all day in.. day after day.. no heart monitoring equipment.. I'd reckon tradies would make up a good amount of that 300 deaths..

I was just reading about that young Manly guy allegedly seems to have died from heatstroke.

So I’m getting a worried about training now and maybe it’s time we looked closely at air conditioned gyms until the outside temp is more moderate.

The modern player, a lot of it is mind over matter and they don’t know their limits and that puts their health at severe risk.

This is going to change the game I think.

It’s important something good arises from it. Terrible terrible thing.

And of course, legal implications.

The game has a long way to go on many fronts.
I suggest that training throughout summer should be held under lights of an evening with regular drink breaks.

Love the passion Silver

but mate there are two truths re the hierarchy of prevention and a long line of diseases and acute situations we could prevent that stack way above !!!!

only 300 deaths a year occur from heat stroke in Oz and very very very very small amount are pro athletes.

We have incredibly smart health teams surrounding most of our top level athletes

minimum 42,700 aussies die of heart disease each year

World Heart Fed https://world-heart-federation.org/what-we-do/prevention/#:~:text=An estimated 80% of cardiovascular,and “knowing your numbers”.

An estimated 80% of cardiovascular disease, including heart disease and stroke, is preventable. The main elements of CVD prevention are healthy diet, physical activity, avoiding tobacco, and “knowing your numbers”.
Yeah I must concede on every point from the statistical point of view.

But at the same time, a young man has passed away whilst at work and I want to know what steps (if any) weren’t taken to ensure his health and well being.

It was over 40 degrees out there.

source: http://www.bom.gov.au/climate/current/month/nsw/archive/202011.sydney.shtml#:~:text=Sydney (Observatory Hill) reached 40.8,26 and 27 January 1960.

It just doesn’t pass the pub test to run a training session in 40 degrees.

Why didn’t anyone suggest it should be called off? It’s their job isn’t it?

And where was the urgency in November for match fitness?

I might be a bit emotional about it.

Draginzaaar

I recall the solar panel blokes spend a day on my roof on a blistering summer day in qld.. couldnt believe the conditions they worked all day in.. day after day.. no heart monitoring equipment.. I'd reckon tradies would make up a good amount of that 300 deaths..
We had one bloke put up 19 solar panels in 2 hours. He said there is normally 2 blokes, but his mate called in sick. It was a hot day too in Maitland.

Why would they let him go?
Eyes for another half?

My ex nrl junior mate at work, played with him and rated him better than Nathan Cleary as a kid. Those days are long gone.

He had some personality issues back then when his dad abandoned him, but today he’s a changed man.

He’s nice to tigers fans because none of us wanted to see him go. He had unresolved issues with Bateman.

He’s no Ben Hunt.

We had one bloke put up 19 solar panels in 2 hours. He said there is normally 2 blokes, but his mate called in sick. It was a hot day too in Maitland.
Well that’s really dangerous, he really shouldn’t have.
Can anyone post the Buzz rumour story that we are interested in Jackson Hastings??

Something from the Uk:

Hes denying everything lol.

The main elements of CVD prevention
100% right Aunty G. Whatever happened to the 'Tragic accident"? In a perfect world many premature deaths are avoidable - But only with Hindsight.
So harsh, but so true. If I lost my boy that way, shit - I tear up just thinking about it.
My heart goes out to the family

On, a lighter note - Was happy to see that alcohol was not specifically listed as main elements of CVD prevention. Does that come under “knowing your numbers”?

I'm guessing you're a Red Wine girl?

Parko1310

Personally would really like the signing of Hastings if it did happen. Organising half, and a better one than Kyle at that. Straight away, massive upgrade in that position. Also think he's genuinely grown from his past mistakes. Speaks well and sounds like someone you'd want around the club, especially in a squad with so many young blokes who can learn off him

AyiosYiorgos

Yeah I must concede on every point from the statistical point of view.

But at the same time, a young man has passed away whilst at work and I want to know what steps (if any) weren’t taken to ensure his health and well being.

It was over 40 degrees out there.

source: http://www.bom.gov.au/climate/current/month/nsw/archive/202011.sydney.shtml#:~:text=Sydney (Observatory Hill) reached 40.8,26 and 27 January 1960.

It just doesn’t pass the pub test to run a training session in 40 degrees.

Why didn’t anyone suggest it should be called off? It’s their job isn’t it?

And where was the urgency in November for match fitness?

I might be a bit emotional about it.
You want to know, i'm sure the family does as well, how about we let it run its course and the family can get some sort of closure and see what gets adopted by the NRL from the outcome, we don't need to speculate for the next few weeks on who did what or didn't do..