Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Rumours Thread

Texmex

Sorry but we have gone nowhere with Hunt in his time of 6 years at this club
He has been demanding on who the coach should be ,what position he wants to play and has never really been the champion player who takes a game by the scruff of the neck and leads the side to victory.
We lost so many close games this year,where was his championship qaulities to lead the side to victory?
Sorry but its time for the club and Hunt to move in a different direction.
Sorry sm, can’t agree with you. I believe up to 2-3 years ago he was not worth the $ and I was vocal about it, but over the last couple of years he has been the stand out player for SGI. Without him we would have already won a couple of spoons.

Illusion

Sorry sm, can’t agree with you. I believe up to 2-3 years ago he was not worth the $ and I was vocal about it, but over the last couple of years he has been the stand out player for SGI. Without him we would have already won a couple of spoons.
Sorry mate agree with saintmar , yes he has been good the last couple of years as a player but not as a 7 ...... how many of those winnable close games has he closed out for us , by pinning the opposition in their own half and getting repeated sets ...... ? Hunt is a competitor , for sure but not as a Reynolds , Gleary type player .......... There is no right or wrong here just your opinions ...........

Slippery Morris

Like Tallis said Hunt is the best No.9 in the comp and the best No.7 at Saints. He looks so good in Origin and is the stand out player in Qld for me because he is playing hooker. DCE and Munster are the halves because they simply know how to close down a game or win a game from the back foot. I find it disrespectful if true (which I doubt) that Hunt refuses to play hooker if the new coach comes in and is happy to play hooker for Slater and Qld. It is stating that a the club is not good enough for him to play hooker as well as the coach. I cannot see Hunt being that way though it is just the media planting a seed and selling papers. If he plays hooker there is no reason why he cannot play another 4 years like Cam Smith did till he turned 37 instead of 2 more years.

Texmex

Like Tallis said Hunt is the best No.9 in the comp and the best No.7 at Saints. He looks so good in Origin and is the stand out player in Qld for me because he is playing hooker. DCE and Munster are the halves because they simply know how to close down a game or win a game from the back foot. I find it disrespectful if true (which I doubt) that Hunt refuses to play hooker if the new coach comes in and is happy to play hooker for Slater and Qld. It is stating that a the club is not good enough for him to play hooker as well as the coach. I cannot see Hunt being that way though it is just the media planting a seed and selling papers. If he plays hooker there is no reason why he cannot play another 4 years like Cam Smith did till he turned 37 instead of 2 more years

Texmex

Hunt delivers on that stage because around him are a team of players. I don’t see that cohesion and the same effort across the park with the Dragons. Mind you, it could be because players are uncertain of their collective futures. That type of uncertainty can cripple the best of teams. It’s even worse for a team with a weaker roster.

Illusion

Hunt delivers on that stage because around him are a team of players. I don’t see that cohesion and the same effort across the park with the Dragons. Mind you, it could be because players are uncertain of their collective futures. That type of uncertainty can cripple the best of teams. It’s even worse for a team with a weaker roster.
Time will tell mate , its all going to come to a head soon ...... It cant keep going the way it is , whether we agree on things or not , this all comes back to the Board and their incompetence over a decade now .......

Texmex

That I do agree with. I have hope the mighty red V will rise again - but we need action. A Jewish saying is that “the fish rots from the head”.
50 plus years as a dragons supporter and it saddens me that my sons are asking me, ‘will we ever make the 8’, rather than ‘when will we win our next premiership’!!!

Mojo

Ummm... folks ... hasn't Hunt just recently played a couple of games for the Dragons at hooker? The discussion about his 'demands' is nuts. It's just a media beat-up, as usual.
He's a very good attacking footballer. Full stop.
IMO, he's not even our best hooker or, in terms of specialist potential, our best half. Liddle is a better 9 and Sullivan is a better 7.
I reckon Hunt would be a great 6.

BLM01

Oh the media. So why ask Bennett for what is right for our club now. Nothing to do with him nor would he have our best interests at heart.
Of course he would endorse BH & DY, they played under him in a winning premiership team. They have a special bond.
Is that so our BOD will listen and go Wayne said we need a rookie younger coach.. OK sorry Flanno or Des.
Fed dinkum

Oh the media. So why ask Bennett for what is right for our club now. Nothing to do with him nor would he have our best interests at heart.
Of course he would endorse BH & DY, they played under him in a winning premiership team. They have a special bond.
Is that so our BOD will listen and go Wayne said we need a rookie younger coach.. OK sorry Flanno or Des.
Fed dinkum
What is even more relevant, Bennett did not choose either Hornby our Young as his assistants at the Dolphins. To me that says it all.