Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Rumours Thread

kit66

keppie to titans

Keppies' best years are probably ahead of him but right now he's a definite plodder who's easily outshone by his forward team mates. Very average metres, average to poor at times in defence and not what you would call an enforcer or dominating in any way. I thought he would turn out a lot better than he did.
Luke Thompson's not much better, he hasn't exactly set the world on fire at a club where you'd think it wouldn't take much to outshine your team mates. He hasn't. We don't need more below average, sh*t team reject plodders.

Dragon David

Keppies' best years are probably ahead of him but right now he's a definite plodder who's easily outshone by his forward team mates. Very average metres, average to poor at times in defence and not what you would call an enforcer or dominating in any way. I thought he would turn out a lot better than he did.
Luke Thompson's not much better, he hasn't exactly set the world on fire at a club where you'd think it wouldn't take much to outshine your team mates. He hasn't. We don't need more below average, sh*t team reject plodders.
We sure don't Kit.

Dragon David

Most certainly would be Gardenia , makes one wonder why they didn’t do a big song and dance about it ?
Aaaah Gareth. Does the club do any song and dance about anything? They are too busy talking about their own selfish things other than football matters, you should know that. hahaha!

Ben Hunt is far from their minds and their ignorance knows no bounds. Why upset the bliss of an easy life and getting paid for it?

Not sure if anyone else has posted an update on Steve Morris.
Just read an online article by Buzz Rothfield reporting that Slippery needed to have emergency surgery during the week following the stroke to remove a blood clot on his brain.
Sounds like it was fairly touch and go for a while.
The good news is Slippery is recovering well in hospital, and is expected to make a full recovery.

Dragon David

Not sure if anyone else has posted an update on Steve Morris.
Just read an online article by Buzz Rothfield reporting that Slippery needed to have emergency surgery during the week following the stroke to remove a blood clot on his brain.
Sounds like it was fairly touch and go for a while.
The good news is Slippery is recovering well in hospital, and is expected to make a full recovery.
That's great, thanks Desperate for the update.

Aaaah Gareth. Does the club do any song and dance about anything? They are too busy talking about their own selfish things other than football matters, you should know that. hahaha!

Ben Hunt is far from their minds and their ignorance knows no bounds. Why upset the bliss of an easy life and getting paid for it?
Yes I am aware of their own self absorption , however to be fair I believe that initially they did indeed make a complaint to the NRL which at the time they did not respond to .

The Dragons simply were not one of the competition heavyweights that they , the NRL had to pander to . But it is good to see that they have finally done the correct thing by our club , finally .

denis preston

Geez you have to conclude from that , as well as getting more out of the current players there must be 3 ,4 or 5 good players coming? Either that or Flanagan is the NRL version of a used car salesman! Mind you I’d take that rather than nothing that we normally get from the club.

Rocket Rod

Geez you have to conclude from that , as well as getting more out of the current players there must be 3 ,4 or 5 good players coming? Either that or Flanagan is the NRL version of a used car salesman! Mind you I’d take that rather than nothing that we normally get from the club.
I’m not sure where the 3,4 or 5 good players are coming from . The way I interpret it is he is going to take the prima Donna attitude out of our so called class players in Hunt, Lomax, Bird, Suli etc and give the juniors a belief they belong there and try to install a culture that we have been missing since 2010
It’s doable and I reckon Flanno’s the man to do it

thebigredv

When we start hearing how great our current squad and juniors are it is usually cause for concern.

We don’t have even two thirds of a good squad and while a good coach can improve them they have proven year after year to be the most unreliable and unprofessional (not to mention overpaid) players to pull on the jersey. I would not want to coach them for all the money in the world.

Enough has been said about Hunt and while I don’t want us to just roll over and release him weakly, it’s only going to add to dysfunction with him as captain. Blind Freddy can see that.

Love that Shane is passionate and to the point, not some waffling conservative trying to protect himself. Deserves two years to start getting results. I don’t know how we sign/produce 3-5 elite players in that time but that’s what is required.

Dragon David

When we start hearing how great our current squad and juniors are it is usually cause for concern.

We don’t have even two thirds of a good squad and while a good coach can improve them they have proven year after year to be the most unreliable and unprofessional (not to mention overpaid) players to pull on the jersey. I would not want to coach them for all the money in the world.

Enough has been said about Hunt and while I don’t want us to just roll over and release him weakly, it’s only going to add to dysfunction with him as captain. Blind Freddy can see that.

Love that Shane is passionate and to the point, not some waffling conservative trying to protect himself. Deserves two years to start getting results. I don’t know how we sign/produce 3-5 elite players in that time but that’s what is required.
I cannot help but think that the same tune is being played but by a different maestro and I hope not. We had Hook and possibly Haran saying that they will have some better guys coming to help Hunt and now Flanagan indicating the same.

I can understand how Hunt is feeling and while I think he might feel in himself that he has been busting his guts to get the team winning, he isn't himself closing out games that he is getting paid a high sum to do.

I just hope that our recruitment and Flanagan don't do the same and just sign up several also rans like the previous guy because then Hunt would have every reason to want out.

The reality is that for next year there doesn't appear to be any above average player available to be signed but who knows, there might be a few that we don't know about and in saying this I hope the tune that Flanagan will play is the one from Ol' Blue Eyes himself - "The Best Is Yet To Come"

Murfy

Flanno wants Thompson and Suaalii for next year. If we get them two our team looks heaps better with the addition of Sele already. The majority of our squad has been underachieving the last few years. Many players have spoken about not actually being coached or learnt anything under Griffin. I think improvement across the board especially in the younger players will happen under Flanno. If he can add another quality forward for next year I think we can surprise a few next year

St Tangles

I'm waiting until I see some action.
We have heard alot of the same stuff over a few years.
One of our biggest problems have we have no players with footy smarts.
Not saying Sullivan was the answer but he looked to have a footy brain.
I have no doubt Flanagan can get Improvement out of the players we have but we are 5 to 6 solid top graders away from just moving out of the bottom 4.

Parko1310

Flanno wants Thompson and Suaalii for next year. If we get them two our team looks heaps better with the addition of Sele already. The majority of our squad has been underachieving the last few years. Many players have spoken about not actually being coached or learnt anything under Griffin. I think improvement across the board especially in the younger players will happen under Flanno. If he can add another quality forward for next year I think we can surprise a few next year
Don't mind those two signings. Thompson isn't generally as poor a defender as we saw in that Knights game. Good player, no world beater, but a good addition to our pack certainly. If we can get Fotuaika a year after for example, then the front row looks so much better than it does now. Sualii will be a good signing for a year, if we want to be competitive next year and attract some talent the year after, he will help us do this. The roosters need to ship someone in their backline off and Billy Smith has stated he's re-signed for next year, so Sualii is a good chance I would think. Plus, if he does come back to rugby league at some point, it puts us in the race for his services in the future. Hope both of these signings can come off.

Dragon David

Don't mind those two signings. Thompson isn't generally as poor a defender as we saw in that Knights game. Good player, no world beater, but a good addition to our pack certainly. If we can get Fotuaika a year after for example, then the front row looks so much better than it does now. Sualii will be a good signing for a year, if we want to be competitive next year and attract some talent the year after, he will help us do this. The roosters need to ship someone in their backline off and Billy Smith has stated he's re-signed for next year, so Sualii is a good chance I would think. Plus, if he does come back to rugby league at some point, it puts us in the race for his services in the future. Hope both of these signings can come off.
Sualii to fullback then?

TheRev

I think Sualli is our fullback, Lomax starting ctr, Sloan starts in nsw cup and if hes good enough he can force his way in and Suallii can move anywhere.. these are not bad options.. and as always.. 1 injury and its panic stations already.