Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Rumours Thread

Wolfgang90

Bang on mate.

The fact he is " playing well at the minute " means zero to me if he doesn't want to play where is best for the Club.

He won't get what he is on elsewhere. This is not prime Gasnier or Cooper FFS.
Nowhere near it.

There's many reasons we have languished as cellar dwellers over the past decade, and NOT creating and all in mentality is one. It's as if the wheels will fall off if Hunt or Lomax or ( insert anyone ), leaves. So I ask what wheels ? The ones that have us celebrating missing the spoon ?

We are going to struggle in the foreseeable future. Let Flanno mould his team without the media bullcrap of division.

But flanno has been openly talking with the media about players who he wants to recruit & current player contracts. It would mean he needs to zip it too. Would he be prepared to do it?

Talk the talk, walk the walk.

Auntie.Gerald

or is that Zac likes Zac
Blake likes Zac
and the rest of the squad?

he is a goer
but has trouble sticking to a game plan until parked on the wing.
Since then he has flourished and not a bad word said about his performances in the media.
Silent !
Does it take 7 years to stick to a game plan?
Or one smart coach who said you could be one of the best on the wing.
Lomax said............yeah nah.............im out !

Wolfgang90

or is that Zac likes Zac
Blake likes Zac
and the rest of the squad?

he is a goer
but has trouble sticking to a game plan until parked on the wing.
Since then he has flourished and not a bad word said about his performances in the media.
Silent !
Does it take 7 years to stick to a game plan?
Or one smart coach who said you could be one of the best on the wing.
Lomax said............yeah nah.............im out !

What game plan?

TruSaint

But flanno has been openly talking with the media about players who he wants to recruit & current player contracts. It would mean he needs to zip it too. Would he be prepared to do it?

I don't know what your points is. Should Flanno STFU and saying nothing about recruitment ? What i do know, as the whole NRL community does is that Zac wants out.

Hiding behind your player manager doesn't make you look anything more than a hypocrite.

redandwhite4evr

I think the risk Lomax is taking is inextricably linked to how much he wants to leave.

tearing up 2025 and 2026 is a big call by Lomax considering he was not allowed to negotiate re 2025 until yesterday post the media release
Bottom line, no coach worth his contract is going to offer guarantees to a player- Brad Arthur would be a fool to guarantee Lomax a centre position when form and team needs have to come first- just as Flanno is saying.

Lomax and (more likely his manager) know that. So I subscribe to the theory that Lomax's decision to leave has been brewing for some time and he's found an excuse to trigger it. The real objective is to play with a stronger club- however the Dragons have a new coach and Flanagan may get us to the 8 or close to it in his first year than many people think.

Lomax is gambling a likely $100K a year in lost contract earnings on the assumption that Parramatta (or a similar club) will make the 8. However, without Moses last weekend, they were pretty ordinary. This is a close competition with no unbeaten teams after only 4 rounds.

Lomax nightmare may be that he escapes the Dragons but signs for less money to a currently good team on the slide (Parramatta) - it doesn't make the 8, he's playing centre but not setting the world on fire and Madge ignores him for Origin.

Lose, Lose, Lose, Lose

Wolfgang90

I don't know what your points is. Should Flanno STFU and saying nothing about recruitment ? What i do know, as the whole NRL community does is that Zac wants out.

Hiding behind your player manager doesn't make you look anything more than a hypocrite.

Flanno has been vocal about recruitment then when the dragons got rejected by players, he said he should've stayed a bit more quiet...

Player manager roles are to represent their clients not the club. Players pay good money to have their services, so they don't need to deal with the club solely.

justadragon

Not quite the same mate, I dont think Flanno or the Dragons approached any player under contract unless their club gave the ok. Clearly Lomax was approached by another club stirring things up. The in was Lomax saying he was unhappy playing on the wing, that gave whoever a foot in the door.

justadragon

Flanno has been vocal about recruitment then when the dragons got rejected by players, he said he should've stayed a bit more quiet...

Player manager roles are to represent their clients not the club. Players pay good money to have their services, so they don't need to deal with the club solely.
The representation here was that Lomax was still under contract for 2.5 years. Lomax instructed his manager to ask the Dragons for a release. Its as simple as that. The reason why ? well there would be multiple answers and we will never know the truth. Anyway see the season out, you are on good coin, you dont want to be a Dragon anymore. goodbye and good luck !!!

Rocket Rod

Any contract that he has with the club would be for remuneration with certain clauses regarding cap increases and maybe rep upgrades
Specific position in the team would be non inclusive
Such a lame excuse just goes to show how shallow he is
Just say I want to leave I need a change of scenery life is too short and careers
Be honest and the fans who pay your wage would be more sympathetic
Long term contracts don’t work, very few exceptions eg Buddy Franklin
Imo all contracts should be 3 years max

Crush

I might be on my own here but I see absolutely no reason why we should let Lomax go.

He's playing some of the best footy of his career,

At no point has he come out and had a go at the club / coach / other players in public or to the press.

So he doesn't get on with everyone. Who cares?

He's asked Flanagan for a release. Flanagan has said no, and he's reiterated that after the agreement to delay a conversation until round 4. Same answer.

We should just keep getting behind him at the games like we have and he'll keep producing the goods. Next conversation will be at the end of the season.

As for the potential swap deal with Asofa-Solomona, we should still have money in the kitty to sign a quality front rower so if Flanagan thinks this bloke is the one, then go after him for next year. But don't let Lomax go., we don't have enough high quality players to just let them leave.
Because Flanno ain’t a fan of Zac. He’s by all reports a bit of a dickhead.

Unfortunately Zac thinks Zac is a better, more valuable player than Zac is.

As a centre he is not remotely close to Cooper or Gasnier.

Flanno found his best position, but the chosen one doesn’t want to play on the wing.

Fact is he doesn’t want to play for our club.

No one player is bigger than the red V.

Thank you for your services Zac.

SnowDragon

Still surprised by this, and saddened. Genuinely wouldn’t have believed it. if it was only a rumour still. Still, I believe we are on the rise, and I’m hoping the coin can be used more effectively.

TruSaint

Not quite the same mate, I dont think Flanno or the Dragons approached any player under contract unless their club gave the ok. Clearly Lomax was approached by another club stirring things up. The in was Lomax saying he was unhappy playing on the wing, that gave whoever a foot in the door.

Answered for me. Spot on.

Crush

would love to see saints try to get tristan sailor back into the red v biggest problem being his old man, but he would solve our 5/8 and backup fullback problem.

Jak, when you say solve our 5/8 problem, are you saying KF is a problem? Or thinking KF will move to 7 next year and Hunt leave therefore we need a 5/8?