Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Rumours Thread

dungay dragon

I cop heaps for suggesting this but it’s been the vision since day dot. All the BS that he was brought to the club to play 14 is spin. Shane knew exactly what the pathway was for Kyle to be a starting half. Pinning hopes on Amone, please, everyone knew he was going to be found guilty.
Now it isn’t complete nepotism IMO, Shane actually believes that Kyle can be a great half, he’s giving him time to show it. I reckon if his form is ordinary he may drop him but he’ll give him time, for 2025 he’s one of the halves, see how he goes, big test.
Might be in the minority and disregarding his surname , i actually thought that Kyles best in 2024 was better than our departing Leader
The sides attack looked much smoother and organised in comparison to the Under 8 Footy BH was responsible for
The poor options he took when setting up his supports were tenfold
The Halves are there to Steer the ship , set up supports and good kicking game
We will have a much better Captain in 2025 which will also take more pressure off the Seven
Just watch Cleary , Hughes & DCE
They are the yard stick

TruSaint

Dogs at home.

GciX8aLagAAEnde

Unsainty79

Hunt is the domino.

I know they're loaded for experience and in the cap, but it has shocked me that Souths haven't been linked to Hunt. With the age of Walker & Wighton, their premiership window, if it all, is next season in my opinion.

Of all the options for 25, none are ideal, which speaks volumes of the desperation to allow Hunt to leave. Hopefully 2026 is a bit more promising.

Ilias was a 6 coming through the grade if I recall, and JD tried to manufacture him into a half-back. He is a decent player. I think KF will likely play 7, while he wasn't the dominant half with Hunt, he looked a lot better at first receiver than he did second receiver - which wasn't often because they played left and right mostly. The biggest issue is the kicking game. You'd think Cook will be doing a fair bit of early kicking this season.

Dragon David

Hunt is the domino.

I know they're loaded for experience and in the cap, but it has shocked me that Souths haven't been linked to Hunt. With the age of Walker & Wighton, their premiership window, if it all, is next season in my opinion.

Of all the options for 25, none are ideal, which speaks volumes of the desperation to allow Hunt to leave. Hopefully 2026 is a bit more promising.

Ilias was a 6 coming through the grade if I recall, and JD tried to manufacture him into a half-back. He is a decent player. I think KF will likely play 7, while he wasn't the dominant half with Hunt, he looked a lot better at first receiver than he did second receiver - which wasn't often because they played left and right mostly. The biggest issue is the kicking game. You'd think Cook will be doing a fair bit of early kicking this season.
We need a great kicker in general play, much like Burton who is a one off I know but someone near his skill. Kicks that can be high enough to allow our players to get to the player catching it or even us catching it before them. If the word on the street is that we could land Townsend, he has a good kicking game.

BigRedVee

Might be in the minority and disregarding his surname , i actually thought that Kyles best in 2024 was better than our departing Leader
The sides attack looked much smoother and organised in comparison to the Under 8 Footy BH was responsible for
We will have a much better Captain in 2025 which will also take more pressure off the Seven
They are the yard stick
I agree that Kyle was more than solid, if you watch our attack is much better in the Broncos game without Hunt because we attack both sides of the ball rather than always going to Hunt which makes us easy to defend against.

With Luc/Val on one side and Sua and Suli the other and Gutho roaming, the halves just need to distribute where they are short on numbers.

Gutho has had as many try assists as Hunt since 2020 so we are losing one strike player and adding another. We will be a much more balanced team without Hunt.

BLM01

Hunt is the domino.

Souths signed one of the best young halves from England Lewis Dodd

BLM01

Then you’ll be happy cause that is the word on the street
Not sure what street that is but why would Roosters let Townsend go before he plays a game for them. They bought him for a reason as a back up.
They have not enough halves as it is with Sanders to face court but he will still play I think and wont miss time.
Roosters wont take Hunt as a starting 6 or 7. If he goes there but (a big IF as I reckon 50-1 chance) he will play the same role he does at rep.
The only team Hunt could will start in the halves is Dolphins or Broncos till Mam gets back.

Jubilee

I agree that Kyle was more than solid, if you watch our attack is much better in the Broncos game without Hunt because we attack both sides of the ball rather than always going to Hunt which makes us easy to defend against.

With Luc/Val on one side and Sua and Suli the other and Gutho roaming, the halves just need to distribute where they are short on numbers.

Gutho has had as many try assists as Hunt since 2020 so we are losing one strike player and adding another. We will be a much more balanced team without Hunt.
You're right. With Gutho and Cook in the mix, we should still have plenty of active link play.

maestro1

We need a great kicker in general play, much like Burton who is a one off I know but someone near his skill. Kicks that can be high enough to allow our players to get to the player catching it or even us catching it before them. If the word on the street is that we could land Townsend, he has a good kicking game.
I'm pretty sure Val Holmes has a big boot on him and can kick the 40 metre Field goals like Lomax. I'm sure Val can be taught to do the Burton type kicks

Hunt will never be in a Bennett coached side again
Good lawd ! I completely forgot that it was ‘butterfingers’
Hunt who dropped the pill in the Grand Final against the Cowboys .

No bloody wonder the little whiner’s attacking game was reduced to moving pieces on a checker board whilst he was with the Dragons . 😳

You are undoubtedly correct that Bennett would not want him again , more so after signing the gun English half .

Phantom V

I hear wha
C'mon NRL please release the 2024 3rd party total payments by team.
We know its not a level playing field - let all supporters know how uneven it is.
I realize some teams bypass 3rd party payments via brown paper bags and discounted asset purchases but this information is important for supporters of the game to know if the NRL want to maintain integrity.
In an ideal world we would have a level playing field but it seems some clubs are more creative than others in this regard. If they can do it then why can’t we?
The onus is on the club and management if they’re serious about winning a comp to start thinking outside the square in relation to TPA’s.

Phantom V

All
They are the yard stick
All in hindsight now but I would have been happy with Marshke and Flanno Jr for this year until a decent half was available. They went allright in the games they played together and our backs seemed to get early ball under them.

Finally some common sense
Gutho Here to play FB
Cookie Here to play Hooker/Dummy Half
Holmes ...Here to play Centre
Gutho may occasionally float about similar to Teddy and Tom
Cookie ...As variety , may fall into an occasional first receiver role But wont be playing 6
Holmes To partner Suli in Centres ,,Again if injuries play a part maybe be moved to One
Hopefully Flanno has earmarked a Half but is being Coy .
Starting to think it will be Illias but is sweating on Atkinson or Wishart , as the Storm are struggling to hold onto Paps .
Constant bickering/in fighting at the Tiges still give s us a chance at nabbing May
Everyone sitting back and waiting patiently for dominos to fall
All makes sense excepting no-one here sitting and waiting patiently
FarrrrrrK!

That includes be despite constantly telling myself to trust Flanno!

He will surprise us again!

I suggested an off contract half for a team that is desperate for one, and is realistically Buckleys of getting a good one, in an open forum. I’m not the biggest fan of weaver but since you like to shoot suggestions down I presented some arguments for. Who’s your choice of half? Must be a relative too since you’d like to see them at the club
I shall wholeheartedly promote my son for the position,

The bloodlines are wonderful, a distant relative of Johnny King, and his grandson Max, along with Yeo, though even more distant..
Only 22 yrs old.

Doesn't play but, like Weaver, would be very adept accepting a top 30 contract, to continue not playing.

Fully qualified for that and god knows we could do with the cash

Sorry, just my patience wearing thin :p

I shall wholeheartedly promote my son for the position,

The bloodlines are wonderful, a distant relative of Johnny King, and his grandson Max, along with Yeo, though even more distant..
Only 22 yrs old.

Doesn't play but, like Weaver, would be very adept accepting a top 30 contract, to continue not playing.

Fully qualified for that and god knows we could do with the cash

Sorry, just my patience wearing thin :p
Sounds like your son is the man for the job, Dracula. I would stipulate that he live close to Wollongong, so travelling long distances to training isn’t an issue ala Jason Saab and our illustrious ex Captain. If he is willing to do that then he’s in.