Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Shire

LOL BF is Two and a Half Men's number one fan and he is shitting on a TV show?

If there should be any reality TV show in the Shire it should be based in Menai.

Fire

Pffft, who watches TV anyway, besides footy. I grew up in St. George but live in Cronulla and it's heaps good. Nice restaurants, heaps of nice spots to go chill and have a picnic with your girlfriend, hardly any crime and the crime that does happen you can take care of yourself and not need to call in the NSW detectives to sort things out. One day I'll get that house on the water in Gunnamatta Bay...

undertaker

Comedy Inc was awesome. lol I LOVED the Sunrise sketches:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NrQsaNFjhGI

This one used to take the cake - Ernest the Engine and friends. A parody of Thomas the tank engine, and one tank "Stevie" used to always stutter at the worst times making out as if he was talking dirty :lol: :lol:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r_jt7V-De5Y

HAHAHA! Yeah, Ernest the Engine is hilarious

The only sketch show that has come close to emulating Full Frontal was Comedy Inc. I agree that the Sunrise sketches were hilarious. If only the real Sunrise was like that, I'd muster the energy to wake up at 6am in the morning to watch it instead of Kochie and Mel. Both of them are so fake!

Anyways, Paul McCarthy, alongside Shaun Micallef and Eric Bana, is a very versatile actor. His impersonations of Kevin Rudd (YouTube the ones he did on Comedy Inc and Double Take), John Howard and Kochie were his best. Also on Comedy Inc, the "Father and Son" sketches were very well written. This was one of my favourites:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kDwQUK5j_HA

Finally, the "Extreme Prejudice" game show segment. Imagine if a tv station replaced Deal or No Deal with this :lol:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Vrknlrz8WI
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3IQC7P9hT_A

undertaker

Big Brother is going to bomb out again. Have the forgotten why it was cancelled? Even PM John Howard called for it's cancellation, and why people can be so interested in bogans doing useless shit is beyond me!

To me, those would be the same people (mostly girls, as BB's target audience was predominantly high school girls/young adult women) who try to dress all....you know what.... or like those people at skateboarding/Vans events, spend all their money going from one musical festival to another (e.g. Big Day Out), and at school talk about nothing other than how pissed they got or how many drugs they took at whatever party they went to the previous Friday/Saturday night. Basically, it sounded like the parents don't give a stuff about what they do.

That's a very apt description of the ppl I knew who watched BB religiously 10 yrs ago.

P.S. Absolutely no surprise that of all tv networks, Ch9 will be the one broadcasting BB. The very station that brought you shows like A Current Affair, and very ironic that they're reviving BB after all the headlines and number of times they paid out on the controversies of the show when Ch10 had the rights.

Bulldog Force

If there should be any reality TV show in the Shire it should be based in Menai.
I hate Two and a Half Men... I thought I made that perfectly clear.
Pffft, who watches TV anyway, besides footy. I grew up in St. George but live in Cronulla and it's heaps good. Nice restaurants, heaps of nice spots to go chill and have a picnic with your girlfriend, hardly any crime and the crime that does happen you can take care of yourself and not need to call in the NSW detectives to sort things out. One day I'll get that house on the water in Gunnamatta Bay...

I have absolutely NOTHING against people who live in the shire. I'll even go as far as to say that Cronulla is probably one of the nicest beaches ever with it's green hills, palm beach, sand & surf among many other things. However this show that's trying to stereotype the Shire (and the 'real' Australia) is just a giant bomb out waiting to happen.

undertaker

Was pissing myself laughing when I saw this post on the Channel Nine website regarding Big Brother:

The best. Can't waitPosted by: Jannie, Surfers paradise, on 15/06/2012 5:23:06 PM I can't wait for it to come back on. I am a big fan and have been in the audience in every big brother. I was sad it finished. So glad it's back. Thank you channel nine.
Can't believe she was in the audience of every show. Seriously, get a life girl! Shows how successful the tv networks have been in dumbing down their audiences.

Other noticable posts:

big brotherPosted by: ilovebigbrother<3, melbone , on 4/06/2012 12:05:18 PM OMG! i can not wait for the big show to come back on my kids are so happy they keep on naging me about it all day long can some one please tell me when it is coming back on so i can tell my kids. i love big brother im like a little 5 year old thats a big fan of justin bieber but im 34 and im a BIG fan of BIG BROTHER im a flat out mother that works all day does every thing for my kids and ill make all the time in the world to watch this show
AuditionsPosted by: Jake Mysterio, Victoria, on 9/04/2012 11:51:25 PM I hope that all of the auditions that take place actually look past the "oh well we're the new age group" kind of crew in their early 20's and look to involve some older people in it too...I'm 40 this year and have watched it every year it was on.. When they had the older guy and gal in there it made it rather good. The younger ones had someone of life experience they could talk to and learn something from. I'm going to try out this year i think. Who knows.. Maybe they'll watch me?
Yeah...experiences on how to be a jerk (anyone remember that infamous "turkey slapping" incident, and how the two men involved then tried to cry foul on ACA/TT since they couldn't get any employment after that were immediately kicked out because of it? No one wanted to touch either of them with a fifty foot pole and understandably so. Think before you behave in a lewd manner)

Fire

I have absolutely NOTHING against people who live in the shire. I'll even go as far as to say that Cronulla is probably one of the nicest beaches ever with it's green hills, palm beach, sand & surf among many other things. However this show that's trying to stereotype the Shire (and the 'real' Australia) is just a giant bomb out waiting to happen.

Mate don't let it get to you, it's not worth sweating over. Just switch the TV off and ignore it.

Bulldog Force

HAHAHA! Yeah, Ernest the Engine is hilarious

The only sketch show that has come close to emulating Full Frontal was Comedy Inc. I agree that the Sunrise sketches were hilarious. If only the real Sunrise was like that, I'd muster the energy to wake up at 6am in the morning to watch it instead of Kochie and Mel. Both of them are so fake!

Anyways, Paul McCarthy, alongside Shaun Micallef and Eric Bana, is a very versatile actor. His impersonations of Kevin Rudd (YouTube the ones he did on Comedy Inc and Double Take), John Howard and Kochie were his best. Also on Comedy Inc, the "Father and Son" sketches were very well written. This was one of my favourites:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kDwQUK5j_HA

Finally, the "Extreme Prejudice" game show segment. Imagine if a tv station replaced Deal or No Deal with this :lol:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Vrknlrz8WI
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3IQC7P9hT_A
LOL mate I love all of them. That father and son segment was one of the best. I love how he always finishes by saying "Would I lie to you mate?" - and then for this particular how he added "It's dreamtime" LMAOOOOO. Good one :D

Extreme prejudice... that was hilarious, especially the second one. Has a bit of Sale of the Century feel to it, only better :)

Oh, and Bulldog Force, this Sunrise sketch is for you:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m83xaglArYI
Mate that was HELLA funny LMAOOOOO :lol: :lol: :lol:

undertaker

Oh, don't get me started on Two and a Half Men...

On the topic of 'dumbing down', from my experience with most Americans I've had dealings with in the past, any show that doesn't have (regular) canned laughter throughout the show (to disguise the fact that most American "comedy" isn't funny) is not "comedy". So, when they watched a lot of older Australian/British comedy shows, they had a hard time deciphering whether or not the show was comedy as the shows didn't use canned laughter. For example, The Late Show from the early 90s was filmed infront of a live studio audience so the laughter was from the audience and wasn't canned. On the other hand, shows like CNNNN and The Chaser Decides that had no canned laughter and weren't filmed infront of an audience

There was a guy in one of the classes in the last year of undergraduate degree 2 yrs ago who was an absolute deadspit of Charlie Sheen's brother (looked and spoke nearly identically to the character) on the show. My friends and I sooooo bagged the crap out of him and tried not to burst out laughing everytime he spoke and asked the tutor questions:lol::lol::lol:

Karl

The Shite looks like they have grabbed Big Brother Rejects and played up their stupidity.

If there was a barrel at the bottom of the barrel Big Brother scrape, and you scraped its bottom, you'd get the Shite.

bileduct

On the topic of 'dumbing down', from my experience with most Americans I've had dealings with in the past, any show that doesn't have (regular) canned laughter throughout the show (to disguise the fact that most American "comedy" isn't funny) is not "comedy".
Sad, isn't it. I've noticed The Daily Show and The Colbert Report make extensive use of canned laughter even though they have studio audiences.

I always used to think that Real Time with Bill Maher mixed in canned laughter, but having sat in the audience of the show earlier in the year I found out that isn't the case. What some of the shows do is whip up the audience with a comedian beforehand, and they program the audience to clap whenever they hear a joke instead of laughing. And everyone does it. As soon as they recognise the punchline of a joke they just start clapping regardless of how funny it is. If it actually is funny they'll laugh as well as clap along with all of the other programmed robots.

Bulldog Force

Looks like this show hit the spot for 10. Every person on facebook is updating their status' on how shit this show is. If 10 wanted the ratings and didn't give a rats arse about peoples opinions... then bravo!

Fire

Didn't watch it but apparently two of the dumb chicks on it are actually from Burwood.

RedVDave

I did'nt watch it (I was busy washing my hair) but seriously every man and his dog were talking about it at work today and the funny thing is the same people who were pissin and moaning about the show saying how bad it was today, I guarantee they will watch it next week then piss and moan about it then as well.

IanG

Lucky I didn't watch it. Sounds like it would be a case of 1 hour of my life I'll never get back.

I'd rather watch a test pattern