Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Smithometer

Where should Parramatta finish before Brian Smith should be retained for 2005

• Premiers

• Grand Finallists

• Preliminary Finallists

• Top 6

• Top 8

• 9th

• 10th

• 11th-12th

• 13th-14th

Colonel Eel said:
No it is actually the Leagues Club - the Football Club doesn't run the NRL side.

I'll sponsor anyone.....

Sorry, my mistake. So is the Leagues Club Board more powerful than the Football Club Board??

True EEL

and maybe a phone.....so that he could call some one who cares......

(about the referees, the "to good for us tonight", the "we didn't match it with them in certain areas of the game".....like heart.....and most importantly.....the "i was reasonably happy with most facets of the boys performance, but there are a couple of things to work on through the week, we'll just have to work harder")

True EEL

as i understand it.......the Football Club Board is effectively outranked and lacking power to do anything because Dennis owns the Leagues Club and is on the board

so Suity....to answer your question.....yes!!!!

again, the bigger problems at Parra, Dennis basically owns the club and holds the board to ransom......and he loves Brian????????

that graphic of of Crusher and Killer should have been of Dennis and Brian

Suitman said:
Colonel Eel said:
No it is actually the Leagues Club - the Football Club doesn't run the NRL side.

I'll sponsor anyone.....

Sorry, my mistake. So is the Leagues Club Board more powerful than the Football Club Board??

As I understand it yes. The Parramatta Leagues Group owns the club, the NRL side etc etc so to move Fitzy out as he is an employee of the Leagues Club you need to change that board.

Misty Bee said:
Australian's are not cross dressers either HJ. And Australians CERTAINLY don't settle for second best! Australians like to win!

a) Getting personal? Emotional responses are usually the province of people who choose not to think logically........

b) EVERYBODY loves to win. But you don't cut and run when things don't go your way. You hold strong, honour your word, and fight the fight until death or glory.

Suitman said:
I know it hasn't happened yet, but ......we signed a contract with Dykes as well.

I plan on broaching this subject as soon as possible with those involved.

Colonel Eel said:
I am not a Smith lover - f**k even HJ sometimes admits that Smith needs to go.....

That was a temporary mishap that was corrected within 48 hours. I am ashamed to have said it as it was very out of character. It's just a pity that it was put down in print. I am officially 100% behind Smith so long as he is honouring his part of the contract he signed with us.

True EEL said:
and Suity is right......real people can admit when they are wrong and step aside to let someone else have a go

Smith has offered to stand aside twice - once to the players and once to Denis. Both offers were rejected and full support was given from both parties.

Suitman said:
But maybe, we are building momentum. Hell's bell's, even HJ is wavering in his support for Smith.

As I said, a temporary lapse that these days serves only as an embarrassing memory.

Misty Bee

Colonel, for the billionth time, this poll is not to get Smith sacked. It's to guage public opinion - like any other poll.

Suity is right to suggest that the weight of public opinion counts. Denis is only an employee of the club to my knowledge, and therefore a vote may not happen re Fitzy. And everyone forgets the power of Proxy.

HJ, is there a clause in Smith's contract that says he must do his best?

And I do apologose about vetting 'personal'. Now that I know that you are wavering re Smith, I'll look after you when you join us, mate. Nudge nudge, wink win, know wha' I mean? ;-)

CrazyEel

Colonel Eel said:
As I understand it yes. The Parramatta Leagues Group owns the club, the NRL side etc etc so to move Fitzy out as he is an employee of the Leagues Club you need to change that board.
Yep, it is the leagues club board that must change to get rid of Fitz or Smith. The football club has 3 positions on the Leagues club board which you can't vote on but the rest are elected by the members, all bloody 20,000 of em. But most don't vote.

Misty Bee

And those non votes would automatically go to incumbent via proxy. So, unless 10001 turn up to vote 'no', there's no point.

External pressure is the key. And Prayer. [-o<

Misty Bee said:
External pressure is the key. And Prayer. [-o&lt, post: [/quote"]

External pressure yes - however the more pressure you can apply from the inside of something sometimes has a greater effect.

Misty Bee said:
Colonel, for the billionth time, this poll is not to get Smith sacked. It's to guage public opinion - like any other poll.

Suity is right to suggest that the weight of public opinion counts. Denis is only an employee of the club to my knowledge, and therefore a vote may not happen re Fitzy. And everyone forgets the power of Proxy.

That may be the case MB but if I could be bothered I reckon I could produce a list on who stands where in relation to Smith without the anonymity of a poll.....

I think we've had six similar polls this year and we've still got the end of season to come....... monotony is one thing.....

Misty Bee

I can't recall any other polls, bar one pre season, in which everyone backed Smith's sacking if we didn't make the 8, or higher. Even HJ. There is change, Colonel, even if you don't see it!

And if this is such a 'boring' thread, how come YOU have hung around it like a bad smell? What's boring is you trying to discredit this thread ever second post! Move on!

True EEL

Hollywood Jesus said:
True EEL said:
and Suity is right......real people can admit when they are wrong and step aside to let someone else have a go

Smith has offered to stand aside twice - once to the players and once to Denis. Both offers were rejected and full support was given from both parties.

you don't "offer" to stand down........you just do it!!!!!!

all he did was try and make it seem like he was doing the honourable thing when realistically he was waiting for someone to say "oh no Brian its right your a champion".....which unfortunately they did

Hollywood Jesus said:
Misty Bee said:
Colonel Eel said:
I am not a Smith lover - f**k even HJ sometimes admits that Smith needs to go.....

That was a temporary mishap that was corrected within 48 hours. I am ashamed to have said it as it was very out of character. It's just a pity that it was put down in print. I am officially 100% behind Smith so long as he is honouring his part of the contract he signed with us.

Suitman said:
But maybe, we are building momentum. Hell's bell's, even HJ is wavering in his support for Smith.

As I said, a temporary lapse that these days serves only as an embarrassing memory.

HJ,

Nobody knows you as anything other than a forthright, switched on person.
If that is what you were thinking, I have no doubt that is what you believed. The seeds of doubt have been sown.
How many more seasons will it take for you to confirm these thoughts?
Not many is my guess. ;-)

I think most people here are happy to be bottom half.

I would hazard a guess that the Colonel isn't one of those. ;-)

Misty Bee

Suitman said:
Nobody knows you as anything other than a forthright, switched on person.....

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

That'll do me Suity!!!!!

At the footy, people will see all the other people, some in club jumpers, some in club scarves, some in casual wear, some in suits, some in trakkydaks, some with faices painted, some with hair coloured.

And there will be one bearded frock wearer cheering every Eel knock on or muffed kick, dribbling his beer froth over the other hill inhabitants as he wobbles happily for 80 minutes trying to learn how to stand upright, whilst bemoaning ladders appearing in his stocking, or his stiletto heels collecting Big Leage mags as he walks.

And all the other fans in the crowd will look at him and think: "There's a forthright, switched on person"!!!!!!!!!!

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

CrazyEel

Misty Bee said:
And those non votes would automatically go to incumbent via proxy. So, unless 10001 turn up to vote 'no', there's no point. [-o&lt, post: [/quote"]
Not quite but not far off either. The non voters just don't count at all. If only 1500 vote then its the best of those 1500 votes. Fitzy does seem to know a lot of those that religously turn up though, after all he does come from a very large family :doubt: :-#