Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The state of rugby league since restart

TheRam

Rugby League has officially gone soft. What we have now is basically touch footy. A slightly tougher version of touch anyhow.
I for one have now boycotted The NRL this year. Yes my team is an absolute rabble but I can’t work out how the referees are adjudicating the game anymore.

Surely I’m not the only one that is frustrated with what’s going on?

Yeah, nah, seems that you are.

TheRam

Why couldn’t they just say to the coaches that if they’re side wants to wrestle other then play Rugby League that they’ll be penalised accordingly?? Not this stupid set restart bullshit. Hence why I say the inconsistency with the dumb ass referees is going to be just as bad if not worse as the comp goes on

Since when has there ever been consistency in RL refereeing? It will never, ever happen. The game just needs to flow and let the players play. Errors will always happen no matter what the rules are. So stop looking for consistency and look for getting a feel for the game and referee accordingly.

The rest is all bullshit from dumb-arse commentators or journos and manipulating coaches.

BadnMean

I actually think he HAS stuffed up. He should of restarted the season 2 weeks earlier and added 2 more rounds to the season. This covid-19 death rate is nonsense. They are counting anyone with covid-19 that dies as a covid-19 death no mater what their original disease/affliction was.

That is unheard of in normal medical reporting. They don't do that for example for people that have cancer and catch the flu or pneumonia. What goes on the death certificate is death by what ever the cancer was and then secondary the flu or pneumonia. It makes a massive difference to the death rate if all the people that died with other conditions and had contacted covid-19 were taken out of the official statistics don't you think? That 102 deaths might actually be only down to around a handful or so instead.

Don't shoot the messenger.

You call out covid mortality reporting for not being scientifically sound & then compare a highly transmittable, systemic virus to cancer... But you're the expert I suppose. I mean all those people suddenly dead in Italy was probably just a big beat up. Those dramatic Italians! Or that death rates in New York were DOUBLE the usual monthly average. Gee the flue, pneumonia & cancer suddenly shot up in April!

TheRam

Some really good suggestions there, particularly the 2 x Captain's Challenges supplanting the Video Ref.
It should, conceivably, place more pressure on the Captains and release some from the Refs.
It may create an auxiliary strategic element onfield, as we saw with DCE the other night.
Love it.

The problem with giving the ball to the non scoring team though is that if the team that just scored is trying to come back from a large deficit and make a comeback with say 10-15 mins to go, then you all but stop their momentum and help cripple any comeback very quickly.

TheRam

You call out covid mortality reporting for not being scientifically sound & then compare a highly transmittable, systemic virus to cancer... But you're the expert I suppose. I mean all those people suddenly dead in Italy was probably just a big beat up. Those dramatic Italians! Or that death rates in New York were DOUBLE the usual monthly average. Gee the flue, pneumonia & cancer suddenly shot up in April!

What I stated has been reported on, but people with agendas don't like it, so it never gets traction. Like I said, don't shoot the messenger buddy. If you don 't like it, tough. It is what it is. The figures are being manipulated. Shock horror, is anyone surprised? Fake news reporting and pollies with agendas seeking more power.

But whatever champ, nothing to see here. As you were.

T-Boon

The problem with giving the ball to the non scoring team though is that if the team that just scored is trying to come back from a large deficit and make a comeback with say 10-15 mins to go, then you all but stop their momentum and help cripple any comeback very quickly.

they can try a short kick or they could have started their comeback sooner.

BadnMean

What I stated has been reported on, but people with agendas don't like it, so it never gets traction. Like I said, don't shoot the messenger buddy. If you don 't like it, tough. It is what it is. The figures are being manipulated. Shock horror, is anyone surprised? Fake news reporting and pollies with agendas seeking more power.

But whatever champ, nothing to see here. As you were.

Oh yeah, a conspiracy. I forgot.

Finally Russia, China, the USA are all co-operating! World peace! Or is it the lizard people? ANyway I hope Bolsonaro & yourself can lead us to freedom. Preach on.

Wizardman

I actually think he HAS stuffed up. He should of restarted the season 2 weeks earlier and added 2 more rounds to the season. This covid-19 death rate is nonsense. They are counting anyone with covid-19 that dies as a covid-19 death no mater what their original disease/affliction was.

That is unheard of in normal medical reporting. They don't do that for example for people that have cancer and catch the flu or pneumonia. What goes on the death certificate is death by what ever the cancer was and then secondary the flu or pneumonia. It makes a massive difference to the death rate if all the people that died with other conditions and had contacted covid-19 were taken out of the official statistics don't you think? That 102 deaths might actually be only down to around a handful or so instead.

Easy to say in hindsight though. V'Landys made the right decision for the uncertain times we found ourselves in at the time. The whole country shut down in one way or the other you armchair f**king critic. V'Landys has done a wonderful job.

Maybe this is the effects of covid, but rugby league since it restarted has been more entertaining than it has been for an extremely long time. The wrestle dominating the game is finally over and little playmakers are more effective than they have been in years. Great product!
Regardless of the scores, I am absolutely loving the brand of footy we’re seeing.

Billythekid

If you actually believe this and you’re not just trolling you’re a f**king idiot and a dangerous one at that. Educate yourself and stop spreading this absolute garbage.

That six again rule has changed the game for the good. Not many stoppages, no piggy back penalties, no captains coming up questioning the decision trying to halt play. Its free flowing stuff.

The other great thing I notice as the more games I watch, players are reacting well in the defence to the six again rule. They could tackle for 20 more if they have to.

Its brilliant.

magpie_man

Good point. Albeit, the team kicking off can always attempt the short kick-off to try to regain possession....

TheRam

Oh yeah, a conspiracy. I forgot.

Finally Russia, China, the USA are all co-operating! World peace! Or is it the lizard people? ANyway I hope Bolsonaro & yourself can lead us to freedom. Preach on.

There you go being ridiculous and calling someone a conspiracist. It's like calling someone out as a racist just to shut them down or try to discredit them. No one said that covid-19 doesn't exist mate. All that is being said here is that they are reporting every death that a person has tested positive to covid-19 as the cause of that death no matter what other issue that person was suffering with in the first place. That has never been the case before till now. Why?

Don't you think that that is strange? Why would they do that? Maybe to justify the shutting down of the whole world. If say only less then a 1% of people with covid-19 ACTUALLY died by it then they would look quite foolish don't you think and heads would roll. The WHO over reacted and the world leaders all followed on their recommendations of millions of deaths prediction. If there weren't the massive number of deaths then they would get slaughtered by the citizens for tanking their economies.

Well even with the inflated number counting that they are doing it isn't even close the the millions of deaths that were being touted and the WHO had to acknowledge that they got it wrong. Oh well no harm no foul. Sorry.

TheRam

If you actually believe this and you’re not just trolling you’re a f**king idiot and a dangerous one at that. Educate yourself and stop spreading this absolute garbage.

Look I have done all the right things during this lock-down and have self isolated as much as the next guy and only ventured out for groceries and such, I do this because I follow the rules and the law, but I don't believe what we are being told and don't believe that the virus is as deadly as they are making out it is. I state this because there are many conflicting reports that give me pause to think. The one that I stated earlier is one that does not make sense if you think about it.

Why change the way we document the death of a person on their death certificate now? It has never been done that way before. Anyway it is my opinion, no one else has to feel the same. I'm not forcing anyone to believe what I believe.

As for V'landys he has done a marvellous job and he is a breath of fresh air. I was only being slightly facetious when I said I wasn't happy with him. I know it would have been a bridge to far even for him to have brought it back earlier, BUT I think he could have and we would of been just fine.

gerg

I know I shouldn't engage but...

If for example somebody has had an underlying medical condition - let's say cancer and they've been treating it for two years. Then they get Covid and die. What should be put on the death certificate?