Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Things We Miss

birdsteeth

Christmas Ape said:
Kicking duels.
Leather balls.
Mouse Trap moves.
Big, f**k OFF Sterling-esque shoulder pads.
Green and gold stripy electrical tape for your high top boots with 4-inch sprigs in 'em.
Top-and-bottom mouthguards that choked you whilst barking instructions.
45 degree backlines.
The delicate art of sandcastle building for kick offs and conversions.
Trainers wearing skin-tight velour tracksuits and tweed caps.
Tucked in collars.
5 minute sin binnings.
Commentating from the sideline card table.
Elastic garters to keep your socks up.
Vinyl kit bags.
Shin pads for hookers.
Photos of players in the sheds, holding metal cans of Tooheys Draught.
Junior Pearce's high-cut shorts.
Seiffert Oval.
Mud pits in the middle of the SCG.
Wooden goal posts.
Hurrying your old man up to finish his beer so you could add the can to your collection.

birdsteeth

Let's not forget:

Cliffy Lyons smoking on the sideline during a break
Stubbies brand jerseys
Oranges at half time
Taking an Esky full of piss to Seiffert Oval hill
5 foot tall hookers being lifted 2 feet off the ground by 6 foot 5 props

DeeGan

ABC Saturday afternoon footy with Warren Boland :D

Debbie Spillane and ... sorry, I am joking :lol:

Southernsaint

This is a great thread, so many hits and memories!!

* The "Fruit & Veg Rockettes" cheerleaders at Monday Night Football
* Having the whole in-goal area painted for Oring, Tests and Grand Finals
* The Grand Final being simulcast both on ABC & commercial TV

Red Bear

norths
fatty not being on tv (sure i wasnt actually watching footy then but gee it must have been good).

MEATWAD

forwards numbering;

8 lock
9 2nd row
10 2nd row
11 prop
12 hooker
13 prop

also 11 & 13 were I think loose head and tight head prop, but I can't remember which was which, me being a former three-quarters and all. oh yeah inside and outside centres. miss that a bit too.

also I want to +1 on the 'raking the ball at the ruck' sentiment.

The Preacher

Sleeping outside the SCG gates before big games.:sleeper:
Taxi catching competitions on Driver Avenue.:sarcasm:
Foot-long hotdogs and burgers from the Colonial Diner at Moore Park.:piggy: