Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Tosh Factor

Kearney is one of the buys of the year for us. (After Thompson)

(Have we resigned him again for next year?)

I thought he went well at fullback and I think he'll get the job done this week.

But his best suited to us in the halves or hooker.

Oh and Reefy, your horse pulled up lame!

Dragon Slayer said:

I thought he went well at fullback and I think he'll get the job done this week.

But his best suited to us in the halves or hooker.

Oh and Reefy, your horse pulled up lame!

leve the footy talk alone DS, your out of your league on this forum.

millersnose

beekershark said:
We've lost as many games with Simmo out as we have with Noddy/dykes in the halves.........

one could say its the halves not combining, or one could say we are missing our fullback :)

post a spreadsheet

that is usually accepted here as conclusive proof of a theory :-0 ...

carinashark

Kearney can play anywere so put him at prop and watch him take the ball up !!!! He would aim himself at Steve Simpson all night. Run right over the big log. Easy as.

spider

Dragon Slayer said:

He is contracted to the end of 2007. They would hopefully trying to extend his contract now.

beekershark

millersnose said:
post a spreadsheet

that is usually accepted here as conclusive proof of a theory :-0 ...

:) true mate, although the best way to judge the truth of a theory is how those who don't like what it points out let it go thru to the keeper :)

spider

beekershark said:
:) true mate, although the best way to judge the truth of a theory is how those who don't like what it points out let it go thru to the keeper :)

Bowling Shane..........sorry Beeks. helping out the point. ;-)

I'm sure someone will correct me if I'm wrong..

But wasn't it Johns who terrorised Simmo, Millers? I can't remember which game exactly.. but I remember him dropping one ball early on off a sky scraper and then hanging his head like a sook for the rest of the game.

Kearny's advantage at fullback is he plays like a second five-eigth.. If Simmo doesn't catch the ball in a Thompson created half-break.. he adds nothing. My concern is it's easier to teach Kearney to sniff around the ruck than it is to teach Simmo how and when to pass.

And I'm certainly no Simmophobe but I honestly believe he is more suited to fullback than wing. We need some big boppers on the wing.. Covell is the only one who sticks his head through the first line of defence and makes it easier for the dummy-half and/or first forward off the rank to get a roll on. With Simmo and Albert, all we're doing is eating up a tackle and being slowed down.

So, like Macca.. I'm a fan of Kearney in front of Simmo; and not simply because he has played one game at full back there - because he has the right to have the highest confidence out of any of our players at the moment.

Well said Gregos. I agree.

I think Simmo has a future but Kearney seems to be ahead of him at the moment.