Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The TV rights thread part II

Providing the price is right which is your preferred FTA broadcast option?

• All games on Seven

Votes: 11 4.2%
  • All games on Nine

Votes: 17 6.5%
  • All games on Ten

Votes: 59 22.6%
  • Seven/Nine split

Votes: 10 3.8%
  • Seven/Ten split

Votes: 109 41.8%
  • Nine/Ten split

Votes: 55 21.1%

Reading the courier mail comments by the punters for this article makes me believe that the average person in QLD is a f**king moron.

There, I said it.

Michael of Brisbane Posted at 10:42 PM March 02, 2012

jeez ..glad i dont watch league

Comment 1 of 32
Sporting Sport Opinions of Bundy Posted at 10:53 PM March 02, 2012

Got to be kidding. Ch9 already make a meal of ads during coverage. This is a station that misses action because of ads and replays. Please don't give them an excuse to show more ads. Add to that the pathetic coverage commentators on nine give to TV shows during their calls.

Comment 2 of 32
Dan Rowden of Sanity Posted at 10:56 PM March 02, 2012

Um, more ads? I wonder how long it will be before we have no "free to air" TV.

Comment 3 of 32
Thomarse of Sunshine Coast Posted at 10:58 PM March 02, 2012

Death of the game....

Comment 4 of 32
bob m Posted at 11:14 PM March 02, 2012

Yeah that's what the game needs more ads... Stadium has ads, on screen ads, player clothing ads cutting from the game to have more ads. AS you can see one thing that really needs more ads, Market update $9.10 that people think that locky should zip it $1.01 that we get more ads.. Remember too bet smart... Also it will no doubt be repeat advertising (same product/ads over and over) which are the most pointless. Here is a idea. Sell subscription ad free online viewing with no session limits. Id rather pay to watch it ad free then to watch it with cuts every few, Market update... Darn ads interrupting my typing. Most of last season I had the live scoreboard refreshing on my computer just because of the amount of annoying commentators and pointless advertising.

Comment 5 of 32
League fan of Brisbane Posted at 11:21 PM March 02, 2012

Despite the need for advertising in the game, stupid ideas like this wreck the game. Lockyer obviously has no idea when it comes to the viewpoint of a fan. No wonder fans are sick of channel 9 owning the game. You were a great player Darren, but stay away from the game if this is the drivel you are going to come up with.

Comment 6 of 32
FootySupporter of Gold Coast Posted at 11:49 PM March 02, 2012

People watch so that they can enjoy the game, not advertising. If NRL goes the way of the NFL then I won't be watching.

Comment 7 of 32
Adrain R Posted at 12:11 AM Today

Just scrap League and start playing/watching American Football and be done with it.

Comment 8 of 32
julian of dublin Posted at 12:27 AM Today

turn the game into 20 mins quarters

Comment 9 of 32
Allen of Bray Park Posted at 1:24 AM Today

Oh God!!! No...

Comment 10 of 32
zorb of Kangaroo Point Posted at 1:37 AM Today

Wrong, wrong, wrong , wrong! Darren , you were a great player but, unfortunately, your 'thought processes' in saying this shows that they are limited to the actual game . Is everything in this world solely around money and nothing else? Let's have a vote and see how it appeals to footy fans. The NRL gets enough money already so why disrespect the fans who keep the code at the top?

Comment 11 of 32
mac of Brisbane Posted at 1:41 AM Today

Incredible, there are already way way way too many ads on a rl broadcast, just goes to show why people are turning off in droves. What absolute idiots. Great way to send an already minor sport to the sporting graveyard.

Comment 12 of 32
Jason 4006 of Brisbane Posted at 1:57 AM Today

Although not a sport lover, do we really need more silly ad's?

Comment 13 of 32
appkw of Brisbane Posted at 2:05 AM Today

I heard something like this was being talked about. No thank you, Darren.

Comment 14 of 32
HowardG of I Exile in France Posted at 2:17 AM Today

What a lot of garbage. In europe there is no advertising during the match at all, only during the major breaks. We need to realise that the game is being played for the spectators and not for multi million payouts to players.

Comment 15 of 32
Matt of Brisbane of Brisbane Posted at 4:41 AM Today

Make the most out of the money you can get from TV adverts as it is about to go. People are now recording shows which start at say 7:30pm, then starting to watch them at 7:50pm, so that they can skip the adverts and still finish watching the show at the normal time. Biggest loser and MKR are two which the wife and I love, but can not stand the adverts and so record and skip the adverts. This will be the norm for most soon I think and the advert people will move to paying to have their names on things during the game.

Comment 16 of 32
Realist of Northern suburbs Posted at 4:47 AM Today

Yep daz...that's exactly what we need ...more ads in an already over advertised market......I thought better of you before....not so sure of your motives these days...greed comes to mind

Comment 17 of 32
Rod of Qld Posted at 4:54 AM Today

Haha ... that's funny. I turned off rugby league years ago when it became a business. Showing more advertising during a game will turn off more people. I think Lockyer has been beaten around the head too much to think more ads will sell the game. As it is now, the whole NRL thing isn't about the game, it's about making money.

Comment 18 of 32
Emmy of Qld Posted at 5:11 AM Today

Well now, whose payroll would Lockyer be on in retirement

Comment 19 of 32
vdv Posted at 5:13 AM Today

i am starting to not like you darren and thats coming from a loyal fan of yours

Comment 20 of 32
HFR Posted at 5:28 AM Today

Many people don't watch the footy now because of all the interruptions.

Comment 21 of 32
Mark of sunnybank hills Posted at 5:32 AM Today

May as well fill it up with adds the nrl,s got,a do something to liven up the dull a boring game thev'e created.

Comment 22 of 32
Go the Broncs 2012 Posted at 5:36 AM Today

More ads breaks....no thanks. The stop start of grid iron is annoying please don't do that to our game. Just continue to put those little ads at the bottom of the screen so we can keep watching the game.

Comment 23 of 32
Ian Coffey of Townsville Posted at 5:53 AM Today

The match review committee have a lot to answer for! How many games have they watched now and yet they haven't picked up where channel 9 and in particular Ray Warren and Phil Gould have brought the game into disrepute. If the viewers are going to have to put up with more ads then surely the broadcaster should provide a decent product. Hopefully the independent commission could make this a proviso when they auction off the broadcasting rights.

Comment 24 of 32
Frank Posted at 5:56 AM Today

This is league we are talking about isn't it? Sell the scrum? What scrum???

Comment 25 of 32
Bob Raftopoulos of Brisbane Posted at 6:12 AM Today

Lockyer, in his exclusive column for today's Courier-Mail, says footy fans watching from their lounge rooms will have to prepare for a few sacrifices for the good of the game. I don't think so Locky, just more corporate and player greed, that will ultimately wreck the viewing experience.

Comment 26 of 32
phil Posted at 6:14 AM Today

get real..too many ads now. So they want to bombard the viewers with more ads..the player get a breather. And what for? So the players get paid more. I reckon blokes getting 400k plus are rather well paid as it is. Any more ads and I won't watch League at all.

Comment 27 of 32
Bob of Brisbane Posted at 6:32 AM Today

Has Lockyer been packing into scrums without his headgear? I do not watch football on TV to see more ads.

Comment 28 of 32
No more ads Posted at 6:43 AM Today

Please don't. There is already enough ads on tv ruining shows. Don't let it ruin the footy too!!!!

Comment 29 of 32
afairgo of Childers Qld Posted at 6:49 AM Today

I think Locky may have retired at the right time to many knock's to the head I tgink . The appeal of the NRL is it's intensity and it's flow imagine the Knights- Dragons game with a break 2 minute's out Locky retire with dignity mate . Sounds like your already talking for your new employer channel 9

Comment 30 of 32
For the good of the game of Brisbane Posted at 6:50 AM Today

Pretty soon Lockyer will be advocating that we should be paying a toll to drive on Darren Lockyer Way as a means of funding his retirement and that more existing roads should be named after footballers and subject to a toll on the basis that players don't receive enough payment in their short illustrious careers and that it would be an incentive to encourage more players to stay in the game. It would all be for the good of the game after all.

Comment 31 of 32
Brax Posted at 6:57 AM Today

That's a great idea, push the viewers further from the game. Locky may have been a great player but I'd suggest he's had one too many head knocks if he thinks this is a good idea. I can hardly bear to watch a game as it is, with rubbish commentators too many ad breaks & predictable game plans, do this & you've one less punter watching at all! I'm sure I won't be alone. But that's ok, I'll still have the Rugby to watch.

Comment 32 of 32
http://www.couriermail.com.au/news/...rom-tv-rights/comments-e6freoof-1226287816020

nqboy

Well I hope there is no next contract with Channel 9. Piss them off. It's almost an insult that they are suddently getting off their arse to promote the game now that they are into contract negotiations. What a co-incidence! How about the previous 5 years? Too little, too late Channel 9. Piss off and bye-bye!
And the fifteen before that?

docbrown

http://www.smh.com.au/sport/riding-a-wave-of-popularity--benji-going-global-20120303-1u9kg.html

HEAD of Nine Entertainment David Gyngell says Thursday night football has a real future and he would like the NRL to consider playing at least three or four games a year on Thursdays. The Knights-Dragons season-opener was a ratings hit, peaking at 576,000 in Sydney. Wayne Bennett and Steve Price threw their support behind the concept and were complimentary about the media coverage of the game and the broadcaster's support. "I think it's got to work for the teams first of all," Gyngell said. "I realise it may give them a shorter turnaround but that can be worked out. Thursdays should be used for special events, like the Women In League round and it could kick off a great four days of football. I think the league should aim to play more Thursday nights this year.'' Meanwhile, the noises coming out of the Network Ten are strong when it comes to its bid for rugby league. But it's worth watching the network's financial status. I keep hearing things will swing in Nine's favour in coming weeks. Ten got plenty of mileage from the appearance of its high-profile board member Lachlan Murdoch at the NRL launch. As we reported last week, Gyngell was not at the launch - and neither was Channel 7 kingpin Kerry Stokes. But the rights holder was represented by Nine managing director Jeff Browne and head of sport Steve Crawley. There is talk Ten has already sounded out the likes of Petero Civoniceva and Braith Anasta to be commentators.
Not surprising re: the Thursday call and it probably will happen. The more put on the table the more appeal.

Wouldn't surprise me if they even tried getting the NRL to put Origin on Thursdays to capitalise on it and get 7 Thursdays a year, about 1 a month including the Opener and Easter. Not that I necessarily agree with that though.

The other stuff about 9/10 sounds like speculation except for the Anasta bit.

bobmar28

Michael of Brisbane Posted at 10:42 PM March 02, 2012

jeez ..glad i dont watch league

Comment 1 of 32
Sporting Sport Opinions of Bundy Posted at 10:53 PM March 02, 2012

Got to be kidding. Ch9 already make a meal of ads during coverage. This is a station that misses action because of ads and replays. Please don't give them an excuse to show more ads. Add to that the pathetic coverage commentators on nine give to TV shows during their calls.

Comment 2 of 32
Dan Rowden of Sanity Posted at 10:56 PM March 02, 2012

Um, more ads? I wonder how long it will be before we have no "free to air" TV.

Comment 3 of 32
Thomarse of Sunshine Coast Posted at 10:58 PM March 02, 2012

Death of the game....

Comment 4 of 32
bob m Posted at 11:14 PM March 02, 2012

Yeah that's what the game needs more ads... Stadium has ads, on screen ads, player clothing ads cutting from the game to have more ads. AS you can see one thing that really needs more ads, Market update $9.10 that people think that locky should zip it $1.01 that we get more ads.. Remember too bet smart... Also it will no doubt be repeat advertising (same product/ads over and over) which are the most pointless. Here is a idea. Sell subscription ad free online viewing with no session limits. Id rather pay to watch it ad free then to watch it with cuts every few, Market update... Darn ads interrupting my typing. Most of last season I had the live scoreboard refreshing on my computer just because of the amount of annoying commentators and pointless advertising.

Comment 5 of 32
League fan of Brisbane Posted at 11:21 PM March 02, 2012

Despite the need for advertising in the game, stupid ideas like this wreck the game. Lockyer obviously has no idea when it comes to the viewpoint of a fan. No wonder fans are sick of channel 9 owning the game. You were a great player Darren, but stay away from the game if this is the drivel you are going to come up with.

Comment 6 of 32
FootySupporter of Gold Coast Posted at 11:49 PM March 02, 2012

People watch so that they can enjoy the game, not advertising. If NRL goes the way of the NFL then I won't be watching.

Comment 7 of 32
Adrain R Posted at 12:11 AM Today

Just scrap League and start playing/watching American Football and be done with it.

Comment 8 of 32
julian of dublin Posted at 12:27 AM Today

turn the game into 20 mins quarters

Comment 9 of 32
Allen of Bray Park Posted at 1:24 AM Today

Oh God!!! No...

Comment 10 of 32
zorb of Kangaroo Point Posted at 1:37 AM Today

Wrong, wrong, wrong , wrong! Darren , you were a great player but, unfortunately, your 'thought processes' in saying this shows that they are limited to the actual game . Is everything in this world solely around money and nothing else? Let's have a vote and see how it appeals to footy fans. The NRL gets enough money already so why disrespect the fans who keep the code at the top?

Comment 11 of 32
mac of Brisbane Posted at 1:41 AM Today

Incredible, there are already way way way too many ads on a rl broadcast, just goes to show why people are turning off in droves. What absolute idiots. Great way to send an already minor sport to the sporting graveyard.

Comment 12 of 32
Jason 4006 of Brisbane Posted at 1:57 AM Today

Although not a sport lover, do we really need more silly ad's?

Comment 13 of 32
appkw of Brisbane Posted at 2:05 AM Today

I heard something like this was being talked about. No thank you, Darren.

Comment 14 of 32
HowardG of I Exile in France Posted at 2:17 AM Today

What a lot of garbage. In europe there is no advertising during the match at all, only during the major breaks. We need to realise that the game is being played for the spectators and not for multi million payouts to players.

Comment 15 of 32
Matt of Brisbane of Brisbane Posted at 4:41 AM Today

Make the most out of the money you can get from TV adverts as it is about to go. People are now recording shows which start at say 7:30pm, then starting to watch them at 7:50pm, so that they can skip the adverts and still finish watching the show at the normal time. Biggest loser and MKR are two which the wife and I love, but can not stand the adverts and so record and skip the adverts. This will be the norm for most soon I think and the advert people will move to paying to have their names on things during the game.

Comment 16 of 32
Realist of Northern suburbs Posted at 4:47 AM Today

Yep daz...that's exactly what we need ...more ads in an already over advertised market......I thought better of you before....not so sure of your motives these days...greed comes to mind

Comment 17 of 32
Rod of Qld Posted at 4:54 AM Today

Haha ... that's funny. I turned off rugby league years ago when it became a business. Showing more advertising during a game will turn off more people. I think Lockyer has been beaten around the head too much to think more ads will sell the game. As it is now, the whole NRL thing isn't about the game, it's about making money.

Comment 18 of 32
Emmy of Qld Posted at 5:11 AM Today

Well now, whose payroll would Lockyer be on in retirement

Comment 19 of 32
vdv Posted at 5:13 AM Today

i am starting to not like you darren and thats coming from a loyal fan of yours

Comment 20 of 32
HFR Posted at 5:28 AM Today

Many people don't watch the footy now because of all the interruptions.

Comment 21 of 32
Mark of sunnybank hills Posted at 5:32 AM Today

May as well fill it up with adds the nrl,s got,a do something to liven up the dull a boring game thev'e created.

Comment 22 of 32
Go the Broncs 2012 Posted at 5:36 AM Today

More ads breaks....no thanks. The stop start of grid iron is annoying please don't do that to our game. Just continue to put those little ads at the bottom of the screen so we can keep watching the game.

Comment 23 of 32
Ian Coffey of Townsville Posted at 5:53 AM Today

The match review committee have a lot to answer for! How many games have they watched now and yet they haven't picked up where channel 9 and in particular Ray Warren and Phil Gould have brought the game into disrepute. If the viewers are going to have to put up with more ads then surely the broadcaster should provide a decent product. Hopefully the independent commission could make this a proviso when they auction off the broadcasting rights.

Comment 24 of 32
Frank Posted at 5:56 AM Today

This is league we are talking about isn't it? Sell the scrum? What scrum???

Comment 25 of 32
Bob Raftopoulos of Brisbane Posted at 6:12 AM Today

Lockyer, in his exclusive column for today's Courier-Mail, says footy fans watching from their lounge rooms will have to prepare for a few sacrifices for the good of the game. I don't think so Locky, just more corporate and player greed, that will ultimately wreck the viewing experience.

Comment 26 of 32
phil Posted at 6:14 AM Today

get real..too many ads now. So they want to bombard the viewers with more ads..the player get a breather. And what for? So the players get paid more. I reckon blokes getting 400k plus are rather well paid as it is. Any more ads and I won't watch League at all.

Comment 27 of 32
Bob of Brisbane Posted at 6:32 AM Today

Has Lockyer been packing into scrums without his headgear? I do not watch football on TV to see more ads.

Comment 28 of 32
No more ads Posted at 6:43 AM Today

Please don't. There is already enough ads on tv ruining shows. Don't let it ruin the footy too!!!!

Comment 29 of 32
afairgo of Childers Qld Posted at 6:49 AM Today

I think Locky may have retired at the right time to many knock's to the head I tgink . The appeal of the NRL is it's intensity and it's flow imagine the Knights- Dragons game with a break 2 minute's out Locky retire with dignity mate . Sounds like your already talking for your new employer channel 9

Comment 30 of 32
For the good of the game of Brisbane Posted at 6:50 AM Today

Pretty soon Lockyer will be advocating that we should be paying a toll to drive on Darren Lockyer Way as a means of funding his retirement and that more existing roads should be named after footballers and subject to a toll on the basis that players don't receive enough payment in their short illustrious careers and that it would be an incentive to encourage more players to stay in the game. It would all be for the good of the game after all.

Comment 31 of 32
Brax Posted at 6:57 AM Today

That's a great idea, push the viewers further from the game. Locky may have been a great player but I'd suggest he's had one too many head knocks if he thinks this is a good idea. I can hardly bear to watch a game as it is, with rubbish commentators too many ad breaks & predictable game plans, do this & you've one less punter watching at all! I'm sure I won't be alone. But that's ok, I'll still have the Rugby to watch.

Comment 32 of 32
http://www.couriermail.com.au/news/...rom-tv-rights/comments-e6freoof-1226287816020

Some of these comments are from AFL tards who are hoping we fail to get the magic billion. No genuine fan of league will switch off due to an ad break after a try. I certainly won't.

Look, there has to be a line drawn somewhere.
More ads can't interfere with the spirit of the game.
An NFL style '2 Minute Warning' for example, would be completely over the top.

As for mandatory 30 second stoppages on scrums and drop-outs, it could work.

But then you think of a game in the balance, one team is mounting a rapid comeback with not long left, they want to pack the scrum as quickly as possible to keep the pressure on... manadatory stoppage.

The clock stops so they don't lose any time, but the flow of the game is absolutely interrupted and the defence settles.

I'm undecided - opinions?

Noa

Game should go for 10 more minutes if were going to look for more breaks so as not to decrease the fatigue factor

In-goal

The commission need to be oh so careful here, the risk of alienating people just after plenty have only just returned after super league is high.

A coverage that is spoilt by adds is hard to watch at the best of times, some of my favorite shows are unwatchable due to adds. Hence I just wait for the DVD or do the other dodgy and download.

But in all seriousness, by altering the structure of a sport for television, is aching to changing the game for who ever had enough money.

docbrown

what do you mean exactly?

Attract viewers.
Attract sponsors.
Pay for better programming.
Attract more viewers.
More viewers sit through more programs.
Attract even more sponsors.

Where do the viewers and sponsors come from? Another network.

As you attract viewers they -

Lose viewers.
Lose sponsors.
Put on worse programming.
Lose more viewers.
Less viewers sit through less programs.
Lose even more sponsors.

So the benefit is not just in the ratings for the material itself but for the overall ongoing halo pull from one network to another.

This is what I mean when I say the whole thing is a tactic to not only boost Channel 10 but to make Channel 9 the third channel.

j5o6hn

Hope fully make channel9 the 4th or 5th channel,I think its called Rugby League big get square after years of being treated like crap by 9

Game should go for 10 more minutes if were going to look for more breaks so as not to decrease the fatigue factor

How about stopping the clock on any stoppage of play? That will increase the duration of any game in real terms without needing make the game longer than 80 minutes.

It will also add clock management as a tactical factor, which is exciting in itself in those sports that use it.

applesauce

Look, there has to be a line drawn somewhere.
More ads can't interfere with the spirit of the game.
An NFL style '2 Minute Warning' for example, would be completely over the top.

As for mandatory 30 second stoppages on scrums and drop-outs, it could work.

But then you think of a game in the balance, one team is mounting a rapid comeback with not long left, they want to pack the scrum as quickly as possible to keep the pressure on... manadatory stoppage.

The clock stops so they don't lose any time, but the flow of the game is absolutely interrupted and the defence settles.

I'm undecided - opinions?

Would no mandatory breaks in the final 10mins work?

nqboy

I'm surprised Nein are only raising this now. I've thought for years that sharp directorial control would allow ads most times the ball went dead and, given that it makes money, I can't believe Nein haven't thought of this before.

In-goal

I can't see 10 overtaking 9, for a number of reasons.

The older generation don't like change
Rugby league is only on, on the weekend
10 still has crap throughout the entire week
10 are and will still be viewed as a youth network
9 still maintains top line programs like 60 minutes

10 in Melbourne didn't overtake 7 when they had the rights to the AFL, so I think there is a big void to cross if they ever hope to be number 2.

docbrown

Would no mandatory breaks in the final 10mins work?

That would be a logical approach and easily workable.

I'm surprised Nein are only raising this now. I've thought for years that sharp directorial control would allow ads most times the ball went dead and, given that it makes money, I can't believe Nein haven't thought of this before.

They believe themselves to be forcing the issue when the tactic was actually created by LEK and the NRL.

Nine can't force the NRL to show more ads during its first bid - but - the NRL can offer it to other networks to muddy the waters.

nqboy

They believe themselves to be forcing the issue when the tactic was actually created by LEK and the NRL.

Nine can't force the NRL to show more ads during its first bid - but - the NRL can offer it to other networks to muddy the waters.
What's stiopped them doing it in the past?

One thing they should do is get better technology so the ref can slow down the restart if the ad is stil on. Watching FTA for the first time in years today a number of times after the goal was kicked it went to an ad and by the time the game came back on they had kicked off and were into the first or second tackle. Seeing players take a ko and thunder back at the opposition is great fun to watch yet TV seems happy to let us miss it.