Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The TV rights thread

Who would you like to see get the rights providing the price is right?

• Seven

Votes: 57 20.5%
  • Nine

Votes: 49 17.6%
  • Ten

Votes: 110 39.6%
  • Rights split between FTA channels

Votes: 147 52.9%

docbrown

Unfortuately can't tell you that.

Well what this person is saying seems to clash with the new anti-siphoning agreement.

I can understand that 9 would want to use it as a bargaining tool - but - there's nowhere they can realistically force it to go.

Edit: I'll also add - if what you're saying is true and it can be proven (without implicating your source) there are avenues to put pressure back onto 9. I guess it depends on how serious you are about seeing the Storm on F2A and having your team grow.

Timbo

If the above intro is true it's Network Ten's strongest bargaining chip.

All they need to do is offer nationwide coverage - much easier for them to offer if there's a Perth team - and match Nine's coin. Should make the decisicion a hell of a lot easier.

docbrown

If the above intro is true it's Network Ten's strongest bargaining chip.

All they need to do is offer nationwide coverage - much easier for them to offer if there's a Perth team - and match Nine's coin. Should make the decisicion a hell of a lot easier.

I have heard a story about people at 10 reaching out to Mike Stephenson to gauge his interest.

MsStorm

Well what this person is saying seems to clash with the new anti-siphoning agreement.

I can understand that 9 would want to use it as a bargaining tool - but - there's nowhere they can realistically force it to go.

Edit: I'll also add - if what you're saying is true and it can be proven (without implicating your source) there are avenues to put pressure back onto 9. I guess it depends on how serious you are about seeing the Storm on F2A and having your team grow.

What sort of avenues?

Edwahu

Media response seems positive for the NRL so far. I would bet the 12 month downramp starts Sunday.

:thumb

Some inside info from a very reliable source at Ch.9 today, they will never show nrl games into Melb, Perth and Adelaide before midnight unless the NRL significantly drops their asking price for the rights and I mean SIGNIFICANTLY!!

And even then....you can guess the rest.

Not even with the changes to the anti syphoning list?! I find that very hard to believe.

There is little risk to 9 having to show the games on one of their secondary channels.

Raiderdave

We will match the AFL in every other area except Foxtel and we cant force Foxtel to take all games. IMO the most likely scenario is we will get 250 million from Foxtel and end up at about 800-900 million total. That would be a decent deal.

seriously are you kidding ?
250 Mill from Foxtel.... the same amount as now , & less then half they have committed to the AFL for a few extra games that are also being simulcast on FTA :crazy:

F that ...........

they doubled their commitment to the AFL .. it doesn't rate & its a guess that it ever will
they should double their commitment to the NRL that has a proven track record ....
otherwise
its all 9 games between the 3 FTA networks
& subscriptions being cancelled across the bredth & width of NSW & QLD as a result.

nrlnrl

Which station & department do they work in?

I remember you've mentioned a few times you have a contact at Ch9 in Melbourne, maybe these 2 sources know each other or they might be the same person. You should arrange a meeting & see if that's the case....

gaterooze

If the NRL had balls they would refuse to give any games to Foxtel for such a low amount. Sell them cheap to the ABC instead - then watch Foxtel start upping their offer as subscribers leave them in droves if they have no NRL...

Mong

Good idea, sell them for even less. The calls to walk away from fox are ridiculous. FTA ruin the game, always have, now some want them to have every game? How many will we see live compared to how many they comletely f*ck up with ads? the coverage on foxtel is far superior to anything we see on FTA.

ozjet1

so now, i'm can access live AFL footy on friday night, saturday arvo, saturday night, and sunday arvo each and every weekend, flexed for significant events such as the Anzac Day game, Queens Birthday game, etc. on FTA tele.

yet i'll only have access to 1 live friday night, 1 delayed friday night, and 1 delayed sunday arvo match of NRL.

what a joke of way this competition is run.

the AFL still even maintain a fixed schedule for the year so broadcasters have limited choice as to which match they get to broadcast in a specific time-slot each week (and supporters can plan their season and interstate trips way in advance)................yet they still pony up the moolah.

really says something about how each competition and administering body is perceived.

now we have nuffies on here shitting their pants and want a scramble for two extra teams asap. the AFL have been planning their expansion for several years and have a LT strategy to try an ensure the teams work and have accepted that they'll be bankrolling them for years to make them viable. That's a commitment the NRL need to make with Perth & Brisbane 2 and make sure they get all the details right. Plonking teams that arent ready and throwing good money after bad isnt the way to expand. I wouldve thought rugby league wouldve realised this by now.

btw, it's time for gallop to finally man-up and tell florimo that the bears have f**k all's chance of being an expansion team on the central coast. merkin's just been stringing the bear's bid along.

NRLMad

If foxtel doesn't match the AFL deal (or better it) i'd be suprised. I think we're all in for a positive shock next NRL deal time.. The important thing to note is that the AFL will reach a cap at some stage. We've got loads to gain. If we expand to add Brisbane, NZII, Perth, Adelaide we will grow by our ratings at least 10-20% ..

we have tests, origins, U20s ..

bobmar28

BS. If it was Perth and Adelaide, sure. But Brisbane has it's team, if we're going to expand in 2 foreign markets, sure, go for it. But if 1 team will be a heartland team the Bears are next in line.

Eyeballs on the Central coast and North Sydney are just as valuable as eyeballs in Brisbane.

And Sydney has its nine teams.

Raiderdave

so now, i'm can access live AFL footy on friday night, saturday arvo, saturday night, and sunday arvo each and every weekend, flexed for significant events such as the Anzac Day game, Queens Birthday game, etc. on FTA tele.

yet i'll only have access to 1 live friday night, 1 delayed friday night, and 1 delayed sunday arvo match of NRL.

what a joke of way this competition is run.

the AFL still even maintain a fixed schedule for the year so broadcasters have limited choice as to which match they get to broadcast in a specific time-slot each week (and supporters can plan their season and interstate trips way in advance)................yet they still pony up the moolah.

really says something about how each competition and administering body is perceived.

now we have nuffies on here shitting their pants and want a scramble for two extra teams asap. the AFL have been planning their expansion for several years and have a LT strategy to try an ensure the teams work and have accepted that they'll be bankrolling them for years to make them viable. That's a commitment the NRL need to make with Perth & Brisbane 2 and make sure they get all the details right. Plonking teams that arent ready and throwing good money after bad isnt the way to expand. I wouldve thought rugby league wouldve realised this by now.

btw, it's time for gallop to finally man-up and tell florimo that the bears have f**k all's chance of being an expansion team on the central coast. merkin's just been stringing the bear's bid along.

hmmmm
yeah that new Gold Coast side are certainly ready aren't they :sarcasm:
GWS will be a powerhouse when they come in :lol:

& neither will need a cent thrown after them will they :crazy::crazy:

yeah RL can learn plenty from this latest round of AFL expansion :roll:

We can learn something from it.

The AFL has plonked new clubs in areas that didn't even really want them. We have four or five places that are desperate for a franchise and we can't even give them one. What we can learn though is that the promise of new clubs and extra games helps push the TV dollars up. So the message to the NRL is to get their act together and announce a time line for expansion, including a bidding process, evaluation and announcement of the winning bids ASAP.

seanoff

If foxtel doesn't match the AFL deal (or better it) i'd be suprised. I think we're all in for a positive shock next NRL deal time.. The important thing to note is that the AFL will reach a cap at some stage. We've got loads to gain. If we expand to add Brisbane, NZII, Perth, Adelaide we will grow by our ratings at least 10-20% ..

we have tests, origins, U20s ..

if they don't get all the games live, prepared to be surprised!!

Raiderdave

if they don't get all the games live, prepared to be surprised!!

ah no
if they refuse to up their $$ to get the same deal as now
so thats 5 games live

then they'll be the ones surprised ... when they get nothing :shock:
9 .. 7 & 10 will take em all

MacDougall

I just want all the lower grade competitions televised on Fox tbh. I'm reasonably ok with how it is now, I just want to see more 20s.

applesauce

NRL faces massive challenge after TV rights coup by AFL
by Damien Stannard From: The Courier-Mail April 29, 201

THE NRL will not demand that their next television deal mirrors the blanket free-to-air coverage achieved by the AFL.

In a major coup for rugby league's rival, games in key timeslots will be telecast live on Seven's second free-to-air channel, while all premierships game will also be carried live on Foxtel and Austar.

It's the apparent answer to Queensland AFL prayers for the next five seasons under a monster TV and internet rights package worth $1.253 billion.

Friday night games will be shown live on 7Mate, a Seven digital channel.

All Brisbane Lions and Gold Coast Suns fixtures will be aired live on Channel 7 or another free-to-air network, with Seven looking to on-sell at least one timeslot to a free-to-air rival.

The NRL, who are negotiating over their rights from 2013 and also want a $1 billion bonanza, face a massive challenge to replicate the clean sweep being celebrated by AFL chairman Mike Fitzpatrick and chief executive Andrew Demetriou.

Rugby league, which currently has one game live on Channel 9 and two more on delay, has all but conceded it will not include live coverage of every game.

"But it's fair to say the NRL will push for as many live matches as possible," an NRL insider said.

Telstra has won the AFL online rights, with all games available live on mobile phones for the first time.

The commitment from free-to-air and subscription TV has been significantly increased from the 2007-11 contract that was worth $780 million and did not contain the same guarantee of live coverage.

"This is an important agreement for supporters across the country," Demetriou said. "More people now have more access to more games in more places and delivered by more media platforms than ever before.

"Also I am happy to say that this agreement will also deliver greater financial security to the football industry than ever before."

NRL boss David Gallop insisted Channel 7 and Foxtel's partnership with the AFL would not affect his code's plans.

"This underlines the values of sport when it comes to television rights and augurs well for rugby league," he said.

Nine will now concentrate on retaining the jewels of league telecasting, but paid big money for Olympic Games broadcast rights.

Seven's AFL splurge will not stop it from making a lucrative bid of many millions for the three annual State of Origin league games, which will drive upward league's income.

Seven chief executive David Leckie described the AFL rights saga as two years of "an all-in brawl" every day.

If Seven, Foxtel and Telstra were the victors, Channel 9 was AFL's hero. In the lengthy contract negotiations, Nine was the spanner in Seven's works, pushing to better its rival's every offer.

What a f**king joke!