Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Ultimate Tribute

bubs

First post here in a while everybody. They have banned the forums at work and I have no net access on my computer.:x

Very sad day for the Sharks club and supporters of ALL clubs. An immortal if ever there was one. Still in shock.

First of all I really cannot see the Sharks change the name of the ground. Hundreds of thousands of dollars are paid to the club now to call it whatever the sponsors want. Money the Sharks need to survive.
However, the 'STEVE ROGERS FAMILY HILL' is an absolute MUST. Also I can see a tribute on the jerseys as well. If the NRL allow it, should also be done for this season.
1 St George/Sharks game played during the year being played for the 'Steve Rogers Cup' is also a fine idea, but I don't think I could handle those Queens holding up the cup at our home ground.
Also, I will be speaking to the club to hopefully organise a suitable rememberance for Sludge before kickoff vs Broncos in Round 2. Something that ALL supporters can remember him by.

In regards to renaming 'Shark Park' to 'Ground Sludge' or whatever then perhaps Shark is right... look towards a sponsor who wouldn't mind what ground naming rights there are... Here's a couple of suggestions...
A) John Hawkes... The only problem would be colors... Cerise, no thanks.
B) Gai Waterhouse... Could be a problem with her hubby and betting on us Sharkies
C) Beekershark!!!!.... Has the right racing colors and it'd be party time in the big house... Yeehar!!! How about it Beeks??? No 1 sponsor!!!!

beekershark

Don't know about that Pierre :) I'd be happy to lend my registered riding colours to any shark fan who wants to use them though for sure.

On the tribute discussion, see my post in the RETIRE NUMBER 3 JERSEY thread about an idea that the club has got about that, but also there was no talk of re-naming the ground yesterday, but a STATUE and possible re-naming the Main Bar of the club were talked about seriously as possibilities that will be discussed on Tuesdays Board meeting.

sharkadelic

Surely he has more right to the title now, than the immortals still living...

A statue would be fitting though for a man who has done so much for the club

The Popper said:
Election to the NRL Immortals, IMO. I'm half scratching my head why he's wasn't one already.

Popper,

Don't get me wrong here - when Steve was truely amazing us Sharkies and the rest of the league world, there were also a lot of other unbelievable League heroes running around.

I still remember the Pom crowds cheering the Roos in 82, the invincibles... headlines reading "why do they have to go home" Standing ovations as they trudged off pommy grounds. Steve was a part of that team..... and that team just oozed brilliance.

Its a big picture we have to look at. I will always bang his drum - brilliant.

But sh!t he had some good competition too. We can't forget all that too.

And I am not trying to spoil the memory.... I think those that know me know where I stand.

Nullajet

thats true quigs, but surely the older legends like Sludge should be in there ahead of modern day ones such as W.Lewis

Sludge did enuff for sure to earn his spot there ahead of wally (never played in the sydney league) Lewis

(Qlders.....please hold back any angst re that comment...i know how you all feel about him and he does deserve a spot....just not yet IMO)

I still reckon a statue...

No player could ever lie down with the greatest Shark looking down from somewhere at them!

Make for some great games and something for kids to aspire to....

Think about it.

Nullajet said:
thats true quigs, but surely the older legends like Sludge should be in there ahead of modern day ones such as W.Lewis

Sludge did enuff for sure to earn his spot there ahead of wally (never played in the sydney league) Lewis

(Qlders.....please hold back any angst re that comment...i know how you all feel about him and he does deserve a spot....just not yet IMO)

Wally did play in the Sydeny comp NJ. 2 years with the Broncs and 2 with the Gold Coast.

Who are the present Immortals anyway?

Bozo, The Little Master, Artie, Puff, Chook and The King? Is Chang an immortal now?

Chang is where Sludge should of slotted in IMO.

The Popper

Sheesh, Gents!
How do I rate the players. Well, backs:
Chook, Puff, The Little Master, Bozo, Sludge, Chang. All top class and could all dominate a game. Others like Crow, Sterlo, Bert, Baa, Mongo, Big Mal, etc, just a step behind IMO. Although he dominated SOO, I felt Wally only played 3 fair dinkum games a year whereas the others played about 30. I have not included Joey and Freddy who I feel should also be included at a later time. I believe Sludge has as much right to be there as do Bozo, Chang, Wally and Artie.

We can open a pandora's box here - who is better then who.

But you take into account the facts and Sludge might just have to wait his turn.

I agree with Frenzy - I think Chang, if he is not already one, then he should be in the queue before Steve. Maybe the fact that Chang was not always the perfect Saint off the field might have something to do with it.

Another example - Big mal four times a Roo tourist

Lets keep Sludges tributes local for the time being, that way we can control them.

coolumsharkie said:
I still reckon a statue...

No player could ever lie down with the greatest Shark looking down from somewhere at them!

Make for some great games and something for kids to aspire to....

Think about it.

Gidday Coolum...

"No player could ever lie down"

I can't comment on the future, but over the past few years I think Ive seen a few that could.

Shark

Chang became an immortal when Lewis was inducted didn't he?

I'm sure it's:

Churchill, Raper, Gasnier and Fulton as the original 4;

Then Langlands and Lewis as the 5th and 6th.

Sludge was on the shortlist for one of those two 'added' positions when they went through the process. Who were the 10 or so players on the short list?

Nullajet

Frenzy. said:
Wally did play in the Sydeny comp NJ. 2 years with the Broncs and 2 with the Gold Coast.

Who are the present Immortals anyway?

Bozo, The Little Master, Artie, Puff, Chook and The King? Is Chang an immortal now?

Chang is where Sludge should of slotted in IMO.

Yeah Frenz, I know he played for the broncs and seagulls but he was hardly in his prime and his efforts there were hardly super impressive compared to what Rogers acheived in his many seasons of sydney football. I just think Sludge and a number of other players deserved immortal status ahead of Lewis. But of course these sorts of point of contention will be argued forever....

chili pepper

I initially thought the naming of the ground after Sludge was a good idea but have been convinced by other here that maybe this is not appropriate.

I hardly think that naming a bar after Sludge (despite his love of a drink) barely does the guy justice. A new stand at the very least but while that that is no given at this stage, I think a statue should be commissioned very promptly. Then name the new stand after him when it does get approved.

I like the idea about an embroided jersey.

A memorial trophy would also be a fitting tribute, but I'm not sure about which club is best suited. I can't quite warm to the Saints as the oppostion for some reason. Given that he was raised on the Gold Coast, maybe we should be trying to arrange an annual pre-season clash with the Gold Coast from 2007. I'm sure they would jump at the opportunity and it may also be a good marketing strategy for our club.

As for the immortals induction - I think it would be a fitting tribute. Politics are clearly considered when players are inducted. Rogers and several other players deserve aspot ahead of Lewis but obviously another Qlder needed to be added. Well the time is now perfect to acknowledge one of the games true great players, gentlemen and a passionate administrator.