Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Value Of a Big Willie

What value do you put on Willie Mason?

• $350,000.00 per year

Votes: 30 42.9%
  • $400,000.00 per year

Votes: 23 32.9%
  • $450,000.00 per year

Votes: 11 15.7%
  • $500,000.00 per year

Votes: 6 8.6%

lolesi

400, i wouldnt be upset if we threw 450 at him.

He is a match winner, and thats how much they cost.

Willy be captain?

Willy win us a premiership?

Willy be a great buy for the Sharks?

Willy play off the bench?

Willy f**k up?

Willy get injured?

Willy make us wear wigs?

Willy make us get corn rows?

Willy sign on the dotted line ?

Willy make me eat my words?

carinashark

We should pay Willie what he wants . If we are to go forward we need this guy. He wont turn fans away. Im shure the more contaversial he is the more people will want to see him at the Sharks. We have to get used to the idea of getting the best.
Carinashark

blacktip-reefy said:
How much would Wigan pay Willie?
In Aussie pesos.

Do you want someone to come to our club just for the peso's?

At least Vagana said when asked about Ando leaving he replied " I signed for the Sharks thats where I'm playing" and " I'm looking forward to playing"...ect ect

Mr Sharkie

Quint said:
I have some female friends that could say the same about Peachy too mate

So what's the argument? If we've got one might as well have the whole set?

Tamazoid said:
Mason is a quality player, though one does have to wonder whether Jason Cayless is worth more money. And since we need a prop more than a backrower Jason King might be the more astute buy.

This has to be one of the most intelligent comments on this thread. We could get King for less money and he would cover a position where we are much more exposed. Even if he had to settle for Cayless it wouldn't be so bad as we are going to be spread a lot thinner on props than we are on backrowers.

carinashark said:
We should pay Willie what he wants . If we are to go forward we need this guy. He wont turn fans away. Im shure the more contaversial he is the more people will want to see him at the Sharks. We have to get used to the idea of getting the best.
Carinashark

I don't care if he's controversial, in fact I couldn't care less if he 's the mack daddy of Cronulla and builds himself a harem...

I can't see the premiership value of paying him what he wants...

I'm sorry to go on and on but I can't get my head around a club if they stand on the backfoot in hope of some "mega-star's" sig!! Especially when there is so many things to weigh up...

350k a year for three years plus incentives is a good buy..

Next..

black_dot

Cayless is off the market , that's my information, 85% chance he'll be playing in the UKSL next season and beyond.,

black_dot said:
Cayless is off the market , that's my information, 85% chance he'll be playing in the UKSL next season and beyond.,

Mine too. St Helens the peas for Cayless now. Sharks offer withdrawn over a week ago.

Jason King re signed with Manly till the end of 2008

Next.....

carinashark said:
Carinashark

Agree

The guy was practically given hero status already in Round 4 when we played the 'Dogs.

When he and O'Meley walked the perimeter inside the ground the place went OFF.

Whether that be through love or hate he got the place going.

Beer Hill had a Willie chant going and he didn't carry on like a good sort he just smiled and waved and I reckon within 10 metres he had won the Hill over.

That's the drawing power of the guy.

It was actually the loudest I have ever heard the Hill & the first & only time I have ever heard other parts of the ground from the Hill.

Mr Sharkie

Captain Jack Sparrow said:
Mine too. St Helens the peas for Cayless now. Sharks offer withdrawn over a week ago.

Jason King re signed with Manly till the end of 2008

Next.....

Looks like we're running out of non-Willy options fast!

Mr Sharkie

blacktip-reefy said:
It was actually the loudest I have ever heard the Hill & the first & only time I have ever heard other parts of the ground from the Hill.

When he came upto the Peter Burns Stand in the first half it was the loudest Boo I have heard since they boo-ed off a previously unwanted signing who was then replaced by Preston Campbell.

Crowd was wrong that day. Who knows what the future will hold?

Mr Sharkie said:
When he came upto the Peter Burns Stand in the first half it was the loudest Boo I have heard since they boo-ed off a previously unwanted signing who was then replaced by Preston Campbell.

Crowd was wrong that day. Who knows what the future will hold?

We, as Sharks fans are pretty fickle to be honest. Your Kimmorley example is perhaps the best.

Willie would be LOVED if we got him, I have no doubt. He should be made to grow the afro back so we can have a Willie Wigs day!

Snoop Shark

He would be a great asset to have at the club. He would bring a bit of mongrel I reckon and other great qualities.

Chondricthyes

1. Willie is worth what the market is willing to pay for him- Economics 101

2. Tama is spot on - maybe the question is - do we spend on a backrower when we may need a forward more.

3. If we develop Galloway(same size- position, younger, less grunt(so far- he is young)) and we have Bailey- SOO , plays his best footy at backrow by far, do we need him,

or

don't we need Bailey(I think he's SH!TE in the centers) or Galloway who has only improvement ahead of him, in all areas- grunt included.

Galloway on one side and Willie on the other-- GGGEESSSSUSSS their long arms make the edge of the ruck a lot bigger in the middle and a tiring forward pack,1/2, 5/8 vulnerable.

Bails - where does it leave him?
Easy answer is the centers but I just don't think he plays well there. Maybe with these two he would adapt. He has played alot there and hasn't impressed me AT ALL. Always better in the back row.

How much would Bails free up if we had these two and not him?

Just a question.

As to injury -ppppfffftttt -I thought more of our esteemed members had played. It simply doesn't come into the equation. You Plan for healthy and build for depth.