Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

'There's a bit of fresh air around the place...'

hutch

+2000

Its just been blah blah since 2005.
One premiership doesnt define great.

2011 was probably his best year and he was nowhere near as bad as you people made him out to be this year. Some short memories in here.

Yeh hes been shitting me for a while all yap yap no action 'cept throwing it to member #347770 in row F

I'll get off his back when he starts earning his f**kin coin

Previous story was clearly BS.....lets swallow this one.

Funny youre prepared to cop BS from footy players.....but infer ALL cops are crooked

f**kin hypocrite

BrotherJim05

From what I'm hearing of Potter he seems like the perfect coach for our club.
What we needed:
- Fresh eyes
- Someone who values the talent in your young players
- Someone who wouldn't come at a ridiculous cost and be expected to win us a premiership straight off the bat
- A hard, "no nonsense" bastard who will crack skulls if they give him any lip or whinge about not being able to reserve tables at the RSL.
- Someone Robbie and Benji will respect

I think Potter ticks all these boxes.

BrotherJim05

6 months ago he said hes been playing halfback for three years even though hes wearing # 6, it makes no difference...now hes inferring 5/8 is somewhat different to #7...or what IS he saying?

Sheens - there was no one better....now hes looking forward to learning from Potter, a bloke who until he was shown a photo of...wouldnt have caused him a 2nd glance.

I thought post #2 explained my point....you missed that obviously

I think YOU have OBVIOUSLY, missed the fact that Benji never liked playing at Halfback.

Unlike you, he kept a positive attitude throughout the season and did as he was told by his coach. Saying that he was playing Halfback for three years was just him trying his hardest to rationalize Sheen's decision but my money is on that he didn't believe it one bit.

I remember an interview with him where he was saying that Halfback was his strongest position and he was happy with this. His mouth said this, his eyes did not and I think he made his expressions glaringly obvious that he hated playing halfback. He's the f**king Vice Captain for f**ks sake he can't just come out and say to the media "oh, I actually think my coach is a genius and I hate all the decisions he is making".

Yeh all the BS makes me sick....I know diplomacy, tact, telling the mugs what they wanna hear....can cop it when what theyre crapping on about is actually working.....

But Bro jiminy......are you sure he's fair dinkum this time....it may be bile all over again?
I mean, shit is shit even when sprinkled with choc powder

super_coach

Football clubs are notorious for their backflips and media fluff bits and the tigers are better than most. At times they make the Telecrap look credible!!!

You know one week Benji is loving the challenge of the seven role, than a few months latter Benji discovers his free wheeling passion for the six role. Its all about keeping the headlines rolling, last year we came 10th and had more press than probably any other team and most of it was fluff. It may drop off now Sheenius has gone as he loved a camera

Front-Rower

Yeh all the BS makes me sick....I know diplomacy, tact, telling the mugs what they wanna hear....can cop it when what theyre crapping on about is actually working.....

But Bro jiminy......are you sure he's fair dinkum this time....it may be bile all over again?

I always think, deep down, Marshall wanted to play 6. I really do believe every time he talked about playing in the 7 he didn't feel comfortable and spoke to keep the peace with Sheens.

If Potter can work a number 7, a proper number 7, in with him we will see a happy Benji and that means winning football games.

....he was nowhere near as bad as you people made him out to be this year. Some short memories in here....some people are in denial too how else can you explain his defence ?

Front-Rower

....he was nowhere near as bad as you people made him out to be this year. Some short memories in here....some people are in denial too how else can you explain his defence ?

He had a good year, not a great one. Off the top of my head wasn't be in the top 5 or 6 when it came to try assists and line breaks/assists?

His defence let him down for sure but being forced to play out of position made him looked frustrated and lacking confidence at times. Hopefully if Potter can get Miller or whoever plays 7 to help with the organising and allow Marshall and Farah to play their natural games we will see better results.

BrotherJim05

Mate, I think you are looking at this the wrong way. I don't judge a player based on what he says in the media or what is said about him. I judge him on his performance. Marshall:
2010: ripped it at 5/8
2011: ripped it even harder at 5/8
2012: scraped by at halfback

When he said that he likes playing halfback back earlier in the year he was doing something that a lot of people do on a daily basis. It's called talking shit. It doesn't change how good you are at football one bit.

I think all this proves is that Benji always did and said whatever Sheens told him to.

Sheens decides to move Benji to halfback and tells Benji he'd be good at it, so then Benji tells the media he's looking forward to playing at 7 because he thinks he'd be good at it.

It's good to hear Benji wants some stability in his preferred position. It's only taken a decade.

Mate, I think you are looking at this the wrong way. I don't judge a player based on what he says in the media or what is said about him. I judge him on his performance. Marshall:
2010: ripped it at 5/8
2011: ripped it even harder at 5/8
2012: scraped by at halfback

When he said that he likes playing halfback back earlier in the year he was doing something that a lot of people do on a daily basis. It's called talking shit. It doesn't change how good you are at football one bit.

IF he performs he can crap on all he likes....its when hes playin like shit the BS is harder to cop

Yes, weve all seen his past and know what he's capable of...thats why its harder to cop when he doesnt perform, and then piles on BS on top of that.

How do you know hes not talkin shit now? Thats the thing with liars and BS...remember the boy who cried "wolf"?
After a while no one listens to them.

Pistol_Pete

Benji is on 9 news tonight
I wonder what we're gonna do, show the fans, apologise, etc etc
JUST f**kING DO IT

BrotherJim05

IF he performs he can crap on all he likes....its when hes playin like shit the BS is harder to cop

Yes, weve all seen his past and know what he's capable of...thats why its harder to cop when he doesnt perform, and then piles on BS on top of that.

How do you know hes not talkin shit now? Thats the thing with liars and BS...remember the boy who cried "wolf"?
After a while no one listens to them.

Dude, who gives a flying f**k what probably-out-of-context statements he makes. If he went on the News and did a speech about how he is not a gay fish, he is a man, doesn't have gills and is engaged to a mad hot chick so therefore is not gay and henceforth couldn't be a gay fish, I wouldn't give two shits.

All i care about is Potter decision where to play him and how he is going to add that X factor to the Tigers attack. I believe he can do this at 5/8.

Dude, who gives a flying f**k what probably-out-of-context statements he makes. If he went on the News and did a speech about how he is not a gay fish, he is a man, doesn't have gills and is engaged to a mad hot chick so therefore is not gay and henceforth couldn't be a gay fish, I wouldn't give two shits.

All i care about is Potter decision where to play him and how he is going to add that X factor to the Tigers attack. I believe he can do this at 5/8.

Woooh...good for you

I feel different about it.

Is that OK with you?