Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

This may sound weird...

Clarkieel

there is no way I can read this and not contribute :) I of course think we need wags back but mainly cause he will do plenty of tackling and take some pressure off hindy in defence so he can perhaps do some running with the ball.

oh and I miss perving on him :)

I do agree.

He may not be an attacking dynamo, but he's generally very reliable in defence.

And as Colonel pointed out, he's really good at shutting down opposition key players - I remember a few seasons ago at Parramatta Stadium when we played the Chooks and Witty and Burty were termed the 'Bomb Squad', Wags was all over Mini like a rash. Consequently, he had a very quiet match.

ParraDude_Jay

Are you kidding me? Wagon offers alot less in attack than O'Dwyer and not much more in defence. If he's our answer to the problems we're having then I fear we're in for a very bad year.

And why is everyone keen on Peek all of a sudden? He's a fantastic defender, but he doesn't make metres and thats our biggest problem at the moment. Peek only plays well against weaker foward packs, he goes into his shell when he's up against good fowards and that's the last thing we need.

O'Dwyer is fine until Morrison is back, he hasn't been bad IMO, far from our worst. He looked good when playing five-eighth against the Broncos, maybe he should move back there, it couldn't hurt because Morris is WAY out of form.

Don't get me wrong, Jay - if it were up to me, Mateo would be our lock...But what are the odds of that happening?

coca-cola

wagon has never offered anything in attack and its not like brian smith has only just realised this. if his defense was up to scratch he would be in first grade, no question. but it seems wagon hasnt turned up to play footy this season. it would be great to have a dynamic defensive specialist in the forward pack, but right now wagon is not the answer.

PJ Marshal

<UPtheEELS> said:
I dont understand why we drop so much ball though??? If someone throws me a ball I catch it, why cant these blokes do the same.

i want you in the team UTE :lol:

Ron Jeremy

ParraDude_Jay said:
Are you kidding me? Wagon offers alot less in attack than O'Dwyer and not much more in defence. If he's our answer to the problems we're having then I fear we're in for a very bad year.

And why is everyone keen on Peek all of a sudden? He's a fantastic defender, but he doesn't make metres and thats our biggest problem at the moment. Peek only plays well against weaker foward packs, he goes into his shell when he's up against good fowards and that's the last thing we need.

O'Dwyer is fine until Morrison is back, he hasn't been bad IMO, far from our worst. He looked good when playing five-eighth against the Broncos, maybe he should move back there, it couldn't hurt because Morris is WAY out of form.

O'Dwyer offered a good 15 minutes against the Broncos and hasn't been seen in attack since. I'd give O'Dwyer a run at 5/8 if Mateo was unavaliable but the in the forwards he's been non effective, Wagon or Peek for that matter are reliable players whom both played large roles last year for us having a great year. Peeks game aganist Manly was brillant.

Sean7

Maroubra Eel said:
Wagon is a great defender. Hits pretty hard.

Wagon is a great tackler, not a great defender. And I've never seen a less effective attacking forward. He's much better in the outside backs.

Peek is a solid performer, but we need metres and he won't provide that.

One of the reasons our defence is so crap is because our attack is so awful. We are always defending in a bad position. If you keep giving the other team ball in wrong part of the field, it doesn't matter how good your defense is, you're going to concede points eventually.

lucablight

Ron Jeremy said:
O'Dwyer offered a good 15 minutes against the Broncos and hasn't been seen in attack since. I'd give O'Dwyer a run at 5/8 if Mateo was unavaliable but the in the forwards he's been non effective, Wagon or Peek for that matter are reliable players whom both played large roles last year for us having a great year. Peeks game aganist Manly was brillant.

The final against Manly was the only good game I've ever seen him play. He's been useless every other game.

eels_fan_01

Wagon last year was the suckiest suck that ever sucked.

He was the worst player in our side, i dont care what anyone says. He didnt beat one tackle in attack im sure of that. Hes defence was normal. Remember how he came up on bowen in the final series games and he scored, he did that alot in hes career and no one noticed.

Good bye Wags.

Ron Jeremy

eels_fan_01 said:
Wagon last year was the suckiest suck that ever sucked.

He was the worst player in our side, i dont care what anyone says. He didnt beat one tackle in attack im sure of that. Hes defence was normal. Remember how he came up on bowen in the final series games and he scored, he did that alot in hes career and no one noticed.

Good bye Wags.

Well if you wanna pin-point moments then according to your rationale Tim Smith should get dropped because he missed tackles last year & this year in important games & Hindmarsh was a big reason why we lost to NQ, apart from tackles he made he made a few mistakes which led to Cowboy trys........not that i want both players to be dropped.

Wagon does more then what he gets credit for, i'm not suggesting he's a great player just we be able to use him to help us at present.

btw

Peek played alot of good games for us last year, just his best was against Manly which he was brillant.

KevinArnold

Wagon has been sub-par for 5 years. His best season being 2001 where he was shutting down important players, game atfer game with big hits and stingy defence.

That has gone now and so shold D.Wagon. If he did return to that form, he'd be one of the first 3 players picked week in week out, but it aint gonna happen.

I seem to recall us winning (or getting back into the game at the very least) a match against the Cowboys at Parramatta Stadium a few years back because Peek busted the line and offloaded to a flying Brett Hodgson...No reason why he can't do it again.

Although I must say, I'd prefer to see Cordoba in the team.