Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

This will be the only time this year that the Doggies

MEE

Will play in front of a crowd that generates atmosphere.

Bulldog army, dragon army, Chook pen etc... :oops: :oops: :oops:

Go Leeds.

ibeme

The atmosphere at pommy matches has always impressed me (on telly), however, I was a volunteer during the Olympics and I got to see a fair bit of the boxing. There were some pommy supporters in their one day, singing all of their songs, and the rest of the crowd were getting peeved with them. They had to be asked to keep it down. It would have been good if they weren't so relentless. Probably a bit different in a big stadium though.

Nook

The atmosphere in the Ashes and Trinations games in the last few years looked and must have felt absolutely unreal. It'd be a treat to play infront of such demonstrably passionate crowds on a regular basis.

Matt M

ibeme said:
The atmosphere at pommy matches has always impressed me (on telly), however, I was a volunteer during the Olympics and I got to see a fair bit of the boxing. There were some pommy supporters in their one day, singing all of their songs, and the rest of the crowd were getting peeved with them. They had to be asked to keep it down. It would have been good if they weren't so relentless. Probably a bit different in a big stadium though.

Yeah I hate it when you only have a few people trying to do it, or those loser australian fanatics people trying to sing the songs, they're just embarrassing. But I've heard atmosphere at any English sports ground is amazing.

ByRd

The dogs matches have good atmospheres, our crowd is one of the best along with dragons & souths in chanting & making noise throughout the game. Its just that we have a good stadium that is WAYYYYY to big & the less said of the showground the better but i agree that the crowds in england in big games are very good.

ouwet

dog4life said:
The dogs matches have good atmospheres, our crowd is one of the best along with dragons & souths in chanting & making noise throughout the game. Its just that we have a good stadium that is WAYYYYY to big & the less said of the showground the better but i agree that the crowds in england in big games are very good.

Yeah i agree except for the little idiots who play the Lebanese Drums for the whole game almost and they don't know how too play them... It's embarrassing and annouying...

westie

The Dogs army really need to get some songs happening... Doggies! Doggies! Doggies...

woodgers

Of course the crowds didn't like it. People in this country seem to think that paying your $20 is more than good enough. I am Australian however I am constantly disappointed with the lack of crowd participation in this country. People seem to be embarassed to show passion for their side and either resort to the boring Aussie, Aussie, Aussie, Oi, Oi, Oi or try to pick fights with other fans who are trying to show passion. I guarentee the best atmosphere you get in this country is when the ashes is on and the English show us how it should be done or Australia has a soccer qualifier for the world cup. Besides that, it is all pretty pathetic. 20 000 poms will make twice the noise 100 000 aussies will. The first part of Supporter is 'support'. By sitting in your seat like a plastic army man, what exactly are they doing to 'support' their team?

Yeah I hate it when you only have a few people trying to do it, or those loser australian fanatics people trying to sing the songs, they're just embarrassing. But I've heard atmosphere at any English sports ground is amazing.

You are right, it is out of this world. It brings tears to your eyes to see proper passion. Why are the fanatics embarassing? I have never sat with them but they seem to be trying to generate atmosphere. They sounded fantastic for Lleyton Hewitt at the Aus open. These type of guys are the pioneers of proper support in this country and should be praised. Go to the cricket for the Ashes. While England fans are singing songs like 'we own you' and 'god save your queen' and various other convict songs, these handfull are at least standing their ground and giving some back. I have been singing at Raiders games all over the country for about a decade. Sometimes I have 50 blokes with me, other times there might be 5 but I will still try and give my all for my side. Why? Because I want to do something to make the experience better than sitting in my lounge room at home watching tele, I want to urge my lads on. People often look at me like a freak but it doesn't concern me. I am confident enough to do what I want, the people watching wish they had to guts to do something like that or are too afraid to ruin their 'cool' image.

I could go on forever on this topic. For the record, League has a few groups however most aren't unorganised and not much chop. AFL fans are heaps more passionate than our game's, and that is coming from someone who will watch Souths vs West Tigers before a top AFL match.

ibeme

I think NRL crowds tend to be a bit more spontaneous in their cheering. I know that when I go, I get absorbed by the game, and ride the highs and lows. I cheer and wince involuntarily. Any singing I did would have to be when my interest in the game wanes, which is rarely.

woodgers

Perhaps. But what if your side was trailing and had the momuntum and you wanted to urge them on? What if your side was out on its feet and you wanted to let them know that you were supporting them as they cling to a lead? The world over people sing at sporting matches, as I do, however it doesn't mean that you are not concentrating on the action or less attentive to what is going on in the middle. The idea of singing is to give your side a lift in some way, otherwise no one would bother.

supermario

This is one of the rare times that i will agree with you woodgers.

Unfortunatly the supporters mentality in australia is "i paid $20 for my ticket, $5 for me beer and i'llbe stuffed if i have some pommy wannabe stand and sing infront of me and block my view !!!!"

What people don;t get, if you sing and cheer at the games you actually get more involved.

Lifting your side when they are down, giving support in a close contest !!!

Coaches know this, thats why in the 2003 WCC ricky stuart told the roosters "do not give the St Helens fans something to cheer about, your not only playing against 13 players, but the rest of the stadium. Keep their fans quiet and you will win !"

People underestimate the value of support from the crowd, and think that the plaers don;t notice or don't hear.

They do ! trust ME !!

strong_latte

ibeme said:

It's just a different mentality... In melbourne they are way more passionate about their AFL than poms are about RL, but that doesn't mean I wanna go watch AFL...

ozzy_ozman

When I went to watch a soccer game between Liverpool and Tottenham Hotspurs at Anfield a few years ago... the kopites were as loud as a jumbo jet flying over your head and you cant hear the word your mate is trying to say to you when the Kopites were singing You Will Never Walk Alone.

These fans sung it with passion and pride and you could see a few the supporters having tears coming out their eyes just to see how passionate they are about their team.

When I am at the Bulldogs game and sitting with the army, either at telstra, aussie or at the showground, we try to be as loud as we can and show some support but i just wish they sing a song like the kopites do to get the players and fans to show that we are in it togather.

Nuke

I remember the good old days of the Western Reds games. Nothing I have experienced unites a crowd like the classic "Buuulllllshhiiiiiiittt, buuulllllshhiiiiiiittt, buuulllllshhiiiiiiittt" when a decision is made that the crowd don't agree with.

Actually, one classic Aussie call that may top that is "______'s a wanker!"
I heard it the other day on the telecast of the cricket from Melbourne, and I sat there grinning!

Foz

ozzy_ozman said:
When I went to watch a soccer game between Liverpool and Tottenham Hotspurs at Anfield a few years ago... the kopites were as loud as a jumbo jet flying over your head and you cant hear the word your mate is trying to say to you when the Kopites were singing You Will Never Walk Alone.

These fans sung it with passion and pride and you could see a few the supporters having tears coming out their eyes just to see how passionate they are about their team.

When I am at the Bulldogs game and sitting with the army, either at telstra, aussie or at the showground, we try to be as loud as we can and show some support but i just wish they sing a song like the kopites do to get the players and fans to show that we are in it togather.

Why would your mate want to talk during YNWA?
Lucky he wasn't thrown out.
Is he an Everton fan?

Misty Bee

How the f**k would a player know whose fans are singing YNWA? I love the atmosphere of Pommy sport - it's what makes Premier League IMHO. But it seems like people go to the ground to sing and make noise rather than watch the game.

No problem with that, except if you are belting out a tune you are not concentrating on the game. I've tried at games - the more rowdier I get, the less I absorb the game. I used to try and watch telly during gigs- same deal, can't do it!

Aussie crowds usually do it by influencing the ref at crucial points of the match. We would rather participate by helping the ref police the 10 (Get 'em onside), the speed of the play the ball (get off 'im!), and other rules like knock ons, forward passes head high tackles. We even provide advice on judicial matters (send 'im off!).

Whilst doing all that, we are doing a service to the game, and getting involved. Wanna sing? Join a chior!

thickos

woodgers said:

Of course the crowds didn't like it. People in this country seem to think that paying your $20 is more than good enough. I am Australian however I am constantly disappointed with the lack of crowd participation in this country. People seem to be embarassed to show passion for their side and either resort to the boring Aussie, Aussie, Aussie, Oi, Oi, Oi or try to pick fights with other fans who are trying to show passion. I guarentee the best atmosphere you get in this country is when the ashes is on and the English show us how it should be done or Australia has a soccer qualifier for the world cup. Besides that, it is all pretty pathetic. 20 000 poms will make twice the noise 100 000 aussies will. The first part of Supporter is 'support'. By sitting in your seat like a plastic army man, what exactly are they doing to 'support' their team?

You are right, it is out of this world. It brings tears to your eyes to see proper passion. Why are the fanatics embarassing? I have never sat with them but they seem to be trying to generate atmosphere. They sounded fantastic for Lleyton Hewitt at the Aus open. These type of guys are the pioneers of proper support in this country and should be praised. Go to the cricket for the Ashes. While England fans are singing songs like 'we own you' and 'god save your queen' and various other convict songs, these handfull are at least standing their ground and giving some back. I have been singing at Raiders games all over the country for about a decade. Sometimes I have 50 blokes with me, other times there might be 5 but I will still try and give my all for my side. Why? Because I want to do something to make the experience better than sitting in my lounge room at home watching tele, I want to urge my lads on. People often look at me like a freak but it doesn't concern me. I am confident enough to do what I want, the people watching wish they had to guts to do something like that or are too afraid to ruin their 'cool' image.

I could go on forever on this topic. For the record, League has a few groups however most aren't unorganised and not much chop. AFL fans are heaps more passionate than our game's, and that is coming from someone who will watch Souths vs West Tigers before a top AFL match.

Fantastic post woodgers, you're spot on the mark.

Plenty of times those of us in the SGB or the Raiders Army get plenty of weird looks as we stand at the back of the hill with our banners and flags, singing our heart out. Maybe 'singing' isnt the right word, but chanting to a tune is a better description. It's designed to fire the team up and urge them on when things are going well, or things are getting tough. And as supermario said, it does affect them. Speak to any of the players after a match and they hear it, I assure you.

Sometimes the weird looks surprise me - it's like it seems foreign to them for people to be boisterous and make noise at the football. FFS it's not the opera! I didn't pay good money to be quiet - I'm gonna bust my gut to support the team! It's a shame that so many people take objection to it... the number of times we have been told to sit down or shut up is disappointing. I would love for the stadiums around Australia to be full of noise for the entire 80 minutes, as the sports psychologist in me suggests that the team is going to perform better when there is an atmosphere there - be it friendly OR hostile. It makes the big-game players rise to the occassion.

As for those who object to our singing and chanting... tough. It aint stopping any time soon. 8)