Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Thoughts on 2017/2018

I agree that we have to play a power game. We need big outside backs and forwards who are going to smash it up hard. Hopefully at some point and with a good team around them our spine can get it together.

super_coach

We need a fit Liddle ASAP, he could provide the spark we seem to lack. Looks like he is about round 4 starter at best and will probably start off in reggies for a week or two. On a positive note he will miss the horrid first four weeks

Clifferd

We need a fit Liddle ASAP, he could provide the spark we seem to lack. Looks like he is about round 4 starter at best and will probably start off in reggies for a week or two. On a positive note he will miss the horrid first four weeks

Jacob Liddle seems to be the forgotten man but looking at his insta pics he looks extremely fit and packed on a bit of size. Provided he stays injury free I have much more faith in him than Macca and Godinet

Liddles a gun, I’ve also been surprised at how well he’s handled the defence as he has a fairly slight frame.

I’m confident that if he stays injury free he’ll be one of the best 5 hookers in the Comp within 2 years

stryker

Even though he somehow won rookie of the year last season for the club, I really didnt see much in Liddle to say I cant wait till he comes back. Good luck to him but I have a feeling Taylor or Reynolds will be no.9 by about round 14.

Clifferd

Even though he somehow won rookie of the year last season for the club, I really didnt see much in Liddle to say I cant wait till he comes back. Good luck to him but I have a feeling Taylor or Reynolds will be no.9 by about round 14.

Brailey and Liddle used to go toe to toe all through the juniors, Liddle always came up trumps and Brailey has shown he can handle first grade quite well after just 1 season. So not foolish to think if he can stay injury free he’ll be great for us

I reckon Liddle will come good for us. I think he showed enough last year to think he is going to be a quality dummy half.

I think at the moment though we need ET to fill that spot. His defence is great and his service is generally top class. His running game I think though isn't good enough long term in that role.

McIlwrick can do the job defensively but his service has been poor in the trials. It makes it a lot harder to judge Brooks and Reynolds who to me have looked pretty poor as well.

Trollhammaren

Gonna have a punt at our Round 1 team. Our (fit) hookers suck, so Taylor jumps in there for the time being. Marsters/Milne kicking goals.

1. Thompson
2. Nofoaluma
3. Marsters
4. Milne
5. MWZ
6. Reynolds
7. Brooks
8. Packer
9. Taylor
10. Matulino
11. Aloiai
12. Lawrence
13. Eisenhuth

14. Twal
15. Felise
16. McQueen
17. Marshall

18. Rochow
19. Naiqama
20. Sue
21. Grant

^^^
Good team. I'd have Fonua instead of MWZ. It's hard to pick the best forward pack we have. Grant and Rochow have been good in the trials. Sue is basically an impact player who is suited off the bench.

TigerCast

Gonna have a punt at our Round 1 team. Our (fit) hookers suck, so Taylor jumps in there for the time being. Marsters/Milne kicking goals.

1. Thompson
2. Nofoaluma
3. Marsters
4. Milne
5. MWZ
6. Reynolds
7. Brooks
8. Packer
9. Taylor
10. Matulino
11. Aloiai
12. Lawrence
13. Eisenhuth

14. Twal
15. Felise
16. McQueen
17. Marshall

18. Rochow
19. Naiqama
20. Sue
21. Grant

i like that team however based off Ivans selections and comments this is what we'll see:

1. Thompson
2. Nofoaluma
3. Marsters
4. Naquima
5. MWZ
6. Reynolds
7. Brooks
8. Packer
9. Godinet/McIllwrick (Godinet got more minutes against the sharks then MM, i think he'll keep it warm til Liddles fit)
10. Matulino
11. Rochow (Cleary has wrapped him after every trial)
12. Lawrence
13. Eisenhuth

14. Grant
15. Aloiai
16. Taylor
17. Marshall

I dont know where Twal's fitness is but I can't imagine IC throwing him in over the guys who have played 2 trials. All indications are that Benji will come off the bench to give them 9 a rest with Reynolds going in there

Perth Tiger

i like that team however based off Ivans selections and comments this is what we'll see:

1. Thompson
2. Nofoaluma
3. Marsters
4. Naquima
5. MWZ
6. Reynolds
7. Brooks
8. Packer
9. Godinet/McIllwrick (Godinet got more minutes against the sharks then MM, i think he'll keep it warm til Liddles fit)
10. Matulino
12. Lawrence
13. Eisenhuth

14. Grant
15. Aloiai
16. Taylor
17. Marshall

I dont know where Twal's fitness is but I can't imagine IC throwing him in over the guys who have played 2 trials. All indications are that Benji will come off the bench to give them 9 a rest with Reynolds going in there
that is the team I expect to see aswell. Not what I would pick but I am not there everyday seeing what they are putting in

Clifferd

1. Thompson
2. Nofoaluma
3. Marsters
4. Naquima
5. MWZ
6. Reynolds
7. Brooks
8. Packer
10. Matulino
12. Lawrence
13. Eisenhuth

14. Grant
15. Aloiai
16. Taylor
17. Marshall

This will most likely be the side, except I reckon Taylor will replace the huth. Not a huge fan of the team but if Clearys selections are anything to go by this will be it

Twal, Sue will probably be given 1-2 weeks in nsw cup to regain match fitness

Vozzy

I wouldnt mind lolahea on the bench either he can cover the most spots in the Backline if injury and would be good late in each half.

We really need to have a team that plays together for awhile so can get combinations going and to gel. If we are being fair dinkum this is a rebuilding year and we need to judge on performance it's probably a good start to the draw in terms of having 8 weeks of hard footy so they learn lessons then the second half of the season things start to click then add a few more players for next year and build on that.

If we come 8th this year then Ivan should be coach of the year. Let's hope they win more games then last year at least that will show us the team is going in the right direction.

It's a bit like the Titans first in the competition kinda feel to me.

Clifferd

yeah we’ll probably start the season off slow (to be expected with the tough draw) but I can see us improving immensely as the season progresses. We did so last year so no reason why we can’t this year with a superior squad

If we can manage to fall into the 8 off the back of a very strong 2nd half of the season (which is when I expect to start seeing our teams proper potential) then IC has every right to be contender for coach of the year because let’s face it we’ve been a shambles for years

If we can jag a couple wins in the early rounds as other teams are finding their feet it would be an added bonus. But I think as long as they’re competitive and not getting flogged that will probably be ok

gordsy

With Nofo Kevie Mwz and Brooks In the team our tackling coach will be worked Into exhaustion or an alcoholic come seasons end

Clifferd

Brooks can actually defend quite well these days surprisingly. It’s just his positional defense that gets caught out but I’ve seen him nail blokes 1 on 1

Naiquama and mwz though...serial shirt grabbers

Ron's_Mate

MWZ let in 3 tries by Uate v Manly at LO right in front of me. Same thing each time, Uate down the sideline and MWZ wouldn't commit to putting him over it. I hope he has made a massive improvement over the break.

BrotherJim05

I hoping that Naiqama gets a wing spot over centre. His defence at centre has been woeful but his attack on the wing has been fantastic. We don't have much pace out wide but Naiqama is very quick.

How did Miline go in the trials?

I hoping that Naiqama gets a wing spot over centre. His defence at centre has been woeful but his attack on the wing has been fantastic. We don't have much pace out wide but Naiqama is very quick.

How did Miline go in the trials?

Played the second 40 in both. Didn’t do much but didn’t get much of a chance. I thought he looked a bit underdone.

I don’t doubt that our best back line is:

1. Lolohea
2. Nofoaluma
3. Marsters
4. Milne
5. Fonua

However the likes of Lolohea, Milne and Fonua didn’t impress in trials and all looked out of shape. There was an article last week saying coaches aren’t happy with how guys from the island World Cup teams came back, they don’t reckon the training was up to standard. Hopefully after a few weeks back to what they need to be and can jump into the side.